We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Holiday in Northern Scotland” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dornoch Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dornoch Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Dornoch
Halifax
Level Contributor
106 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Holiday in Northern Scotland”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

My wife and I booked a 7 night holiday with Shearings staying at the Dornorch Hotel. We chose to pay a supplement for a sea-view and were not disapointed. We had a great view from our window to the garden area in front of the hotel and then the Championship Royal Dornoch golf course and beyond that the waters of the Firth of Dornoch. Good weather added to the view most of the week. The staff were very friendly, efficient and helpful and added to the holiday experience. Overall an excellent week, although it involved a lot of coach travel as you would expect to the see glorious mountains,lochs and interesting towns and villages in this part of the United Kingdom.

Room Tip: It is well worth paying for a sea view as the views from the the front of the hotel are worth the ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesMoutrie, General Manager at Dornoch Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear John H

Thank you so much for your lovely reveiw and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

I am extremely lucky to have such a hard working, friendly staff and it is great to see that this is recognised by the guests. I think Dornoch is well worth the journey and also the excursions available allow you to see this beautiful part of the country.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    119
    84
    40
    19
See reviews for
39
207
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Just back from long weekend at Dornoch Bay Hotel. Enjoyed our stay immensely. Views from hotel over Royal Dornoch golf course to sea are incredible. Staff very pleasant and professional. Big thanks to Donna and all the staff for making our stay most enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GlasgowDonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesMoutrie, General Manager at Dornoch Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear GlasgowDonald

Thank you so much for you kind review - we are delighted that you found your stay such good value for money. Donna is very pleased that she was able to assist is making your holiday so enjoyable.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

Just arrived back from the Dornoch Hotel, Had a great week Hotel is a bit tired but more than made up for it with the staff. The staff were great and very friendly. The service was great, big thank you to Barbara who was our waitress for the week she always had a smile on her face and was very helpful. The town is fabulous so peaceful and relaxing. Would go there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travellerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesMoutrie, General Manager at Dornoch Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Travellerlin

Thank you for your lovely review and a personal thanks from Barbara who is delighted to be mentioned individually. I agree Dornoch is such a lovely village and is great for a nice peaceful week - we are very lucky to live here. I hope we can welcome you back soon to the hotel

Regards

Jame
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed at this hotel on 6th May 2013 for four nights. It's in a lovely peaceful location, just a short walk away form a nice sandy beach. Sandwiched between the hotel and the beach is the local golf club, which was used by quite a few of the hotel guests. The town is only a short walk away from the hotel, and there are regular bus services from the town to local destinations as well as further afield if you don't wish to drive. In the town there are a few bars/pubs, as well as a good choice of eating establishments, if you fancy a change from the hotel fare. My wife and I had a nice hotel room with a fantastic view overlooking the golf course and beach. The room was clean and reasonably well maintained. The staff were very friendly, helpful and accommodating. The breakfasts were really good with a good choice on the menu. There was a good choice on the menu for the evening meal and the quality was reasonable, given the price paid. On the whole, a very nice hotel in a good location, and I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: There is a short cut from the hotel to the town, if you are in a hurry. Just ask at reception. You w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tony5998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesMoutrie, General Manager at Dornoch Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Tony5998

Thank you for your review of your stay with us. We are glad to see you enjoyed your visit to Dornoch and The Dornoch Hotel. Its great to see we are meeting one of our core values to provide value for money. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

Faded flowery curtains, postage stamp size beds, antiquated decor and bingo for entertainment, I could almost live with but add to that the dirty bathroom, cracked windows and grubby paintwork then I'm not happy.

We were supposed to stay for two nights but left after breakfast on day two as the food was horrendous. On arrival we had ordered champagne and got fizzy wine with no ice bucket in sight (when we asked we were told they were too messy)! For my evening meal I asked for no almonds with the trout but was told this could not be done. When the trout arrived a quick scoop of the fork got rid of all the almonds. My partner had sweet and sour 'hunt the pork', the cauliflower was grey and the mange tout were mange rien!!!

The white scrambled egg for breakfast was the final straw - especially as the waiter stated that's the way it's always made!!!

We won't be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jan41_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesMoutrie, General Manager at Dornoch Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Jan41_11

Thank you for taking time to post your review. We were very disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay. I have checked your booking at the celebration pack that was ordered was for sparkling wine and not for Champagne - which is a more expensive celebration pack. Many guests that have had the celebration packs did not want it on arrival – so we have stopped putting them in ice buckets. The bottle could of been chilled in fridges had you requested it or swapped for one already chilled in the bar.
For food safety reasons we use pasteurised eggs for guests safety.
I have passed on your comments to the relevant departments as we constantly strive to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dornoch hotels

washington tyne and wear
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Arrived on the 13 of May for a 4 night stay and did not expect a lot as we were using this as a base and traveling out each day,but we must say the staff were very friendly and always smiling and very polite, the dining room staff were always asking if everything was ok and did we need anything else. The receptionist was very good and recommended a local garage that's was also very good. Nice on an evening sitting in the bar with good views, food was good and the room was clean and tidy. we would stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: we had a room at the front great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank james_r_27wash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesMoutrie, General Manager at Dornoch Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear james_r_27wash

Thank you for your lovely review of your recent stay with us. We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I agree that its worth paying for a sea-view room - we are very lucky to have such a great outlook from the hotel.

We hope to welcome you back to Dornoch soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

Went to Scotland stayed at Dornoch 3 nights had standard room with Seaview very nice view.Only problem TV not digital and very small 12-14" if you watch 'soaps' you will miss them as you will be at Dinner and cannot catch up. Food and service good. Golf course 100 yards between hotel and sea lots of birds to watch gentle walk to sea across sand . Town interesting beautiful church/cathedral worth a visit. 78 miles from John a Groats not much there but only 12 miles further on Castle Mey Queen mothers home very interesting staff tell you all about life there. Castle Dunrobin &.Falls of Shin worth a visit or you can relax in the sun lounge. there was good entertainment each night. good value holiday. We moved to Sheerings Pitlochry 4 nights and Stirling, Blyth ,Skeeby travel lodges making 11 nights in all

Room Tip: if you want to watch TV upgrade as you will only have a small 14" TV set no digital sea view al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pamambrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesMoutrie, General Manager at Dornoch Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Pamambrose

Thank you for your great reveiw of your stay - we are currently reviewing the TV's in the hotel but thank you for your comments on this issue at this current time. It great to see that our customers are enjoying their stay and touring of the local area. Dornoch is very well placed for touring the North East Highlands. I hope we can welcome you back to Dornoch in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dornoch
0.2 mi away
Dornoch Castle Hotel
Dornoch Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dornoch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Eagle Hotel
The Eagle Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dornoch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Golf Hotel
Royal Golf Hotel
#3 of 6 in Dornoch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tain
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
5.2 mi away
Mansfield Castle Hotel
4.7 mi away
Morangie House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dornoch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dornoch Hotel

Property: Dornoch Hotel
Address: Grange Road, Dornoch IV25 3LF, Scotland (Formerly Bay Dornoch Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Dornoch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Dornoch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dornoch Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in its own grounds overlooking the Royal Dornoch Golf Course and the beautiful sandy beaches of the Dornoch Firth this is a truly grand and impressive building. The exterior of the hotel has recently undergone tasteful redecoration and on the inside you will be greeted by a fine sweeping staircase and a warm Highland welcome. From the relaxing Sun Lounge you can admire the superb views and watch the world go by or enjoy a drink in the wood-panelled Links Lounge Bar. For the more energetic, there is a (seasonal) pitch and putt golf course in the hotel grounds where you can enjoy a round to build up your appetite for dinner. The Four Seasons and Links Restaurants within the hotel offer great dining options. This is an excellent base to visit the remote scenery of the area and to explore the lochs, moorland terrain and charm of Scotland’s far north. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and LateRooms so you can book your Dornoch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dornoch Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing