We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“1 Year On”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Dornoch Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dornoch Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Dornoch
Highley
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“1 Year On”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We visited this hotel again this August, It still was in need of TLC. BUT what a difference in the attitude of the waiting staff and reception. Nothing was too much trouble for them, we were served on time no having to wait and the waiter (Stephen S) could speak English very well. All in all a very pleasant holiday nothing but praise for the hotel. If it had not been let down by the decor I would have given it a higher rating

Room Tip: Try to book a sea view room, you get a good view over Dornoch Firth
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesMoutrie, General Manager at Dornoch Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thank you for your kind review and we are pleased to see that we have improved on things year on year. All the staff work very hard to try and ensure everyone has a pleasant stay with us. Good news is that we are planning on doing some work to the hotel through the winter. We look forward to welcoming you back again to Dornoch soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    121
    87
    43
    20
See reviews for
39
213
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
DUNFERMLINE
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Had a great weekend here great scenery on the way up.
The hotel had nice views overlooking the golf course.
The staff were all very nice the food was good and our
room was clean and comfortable.The entertainment was
excellent the best we have seen.We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MARGARETDunfermline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesMoutrie, General Manager at Dornoch Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear Margaretdunfermline

Thank you for your review, we are so please to read that you have enjoyed your belated birthday weekend with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to Dornoch in the future. Its good to see that the entertainment is being enjoyed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Our second break at this Hotel, booked because of the included trip to Orkney, which was beautiful just wish we could have spent more time there. Our room at the hotel was just what we asked for. Parts of the hotel are in need of updating but it was clean and our room maid was very obliging. Meals were tasty and there was something for everyone to choose from the Menu, unless they were very pickey. Only down sound quite a few of our fellow travellers did not partake of the evening entertainment, there choice I know. but felt really sorry for the Guy on Friday night who by 10pm was playing to about 8 people, probably because of the early start on Saturday morning, would have been better to have swapped wednesday,just early evening bingo. with Friday. Value for money and well worth the long journey north. My husband was pleased that the Scottish Amateur Golf Championship was on whist we were there, golf course is right outside the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidaylovingnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesMoutrie, General Manager at Dornoch Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Dear Holidaylovingnan

Thank you for your kind review. We are pleased to see you have enjoyed your stay with us. We do have a rolling programme of refurbishment within the hotel. The room attendants work hard to ensure a high level of cleanliness throughout the hotel at all times and its good to read this is being achieved.
Your right that it is a shame sometimes people do not partake in the entertainment but I am glad you enjoyed it. We look forward to welcoming you back to Dornoch in the furure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erskine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Our room was very small and the double glazed window was in need of repair and therefore spoiled the view. We were on the third floor so the decor was a bit tired. All the public rooms were lovely. The staff were excellent, particularly Peter, our waiter. I think when we come back we shall upgrade and maybe get a better room.

Room Tip: Pay for an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth1096493
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesMoutrie, General Manager at Dornoch Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us and thank you for highlighting the issue with the window - the repair is now in hand. Peter is delighted you mentioned him specially - he works very hard at all times and its nice for this to be recognised. We hope to welcome you back soon to the Dornoch Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Just back after a 2 day break at the Bay Dornoch. For the money we paid I thought the hotel was fine. Sure it is a bit dated and needs a makeover, but the room was OK with a cracking view towards the sea and golf course. The food was also tasty enough with enough choice for everyone. I think some of the people on here are looking for 5 star luxury, which it certainly is not.

Only gripe, the windows in our room were filthy. I think this needs to be sorted out asap. Overall, a cheap break in a lovely area, with reasonable quality of food. With a bit more TLC it could be even better.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank scoobygolf71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesMoutrie, General Manager at Dornoch Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for your review of the hotel. We are glad you found it good value for money - this is one of our company values so its good to hear in the current ecomomic climate we are achieving this.
I thank you for your comment regards the windows and will be looking to sort this issue out as soon as possible - the seagulls this year have a lot to answer for!
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

This was my first visit to this hotel - what a gem!. Our room was a good size and was clean and inviting. The beds were comfortable and the tea and coffee facilities were welcome. The food was very well cooked, a good variety and well presented. The hotel is very well situated in the town and it is easy to reach the beach. However, what really makes this hotel special is the staff.They are all so welcoming, helpful, friendly and happy. Nothing is too much trouble for them and they will go out of their way to make your stay a memorable experience. You do not often get as good a service in 5 star hotels. Well worth a visit, we really enjoyed our week there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yorkshireman62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesMoutrie, General Manager at Dornoch Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you very much for your lovely review of the hotel. I am very lucky to have such a committed staff and we are all delighted you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to you visiting us again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

It was our first stay at the Bay Dornoch. We were really pleased with all aspects of our stay, from the accommodation to the Staff and Food. Well worth the long journey. The Hotel is so handy for the lovely town of Dornoch and also the surrounding countryside and towns.

Room Tip: Recommend room 232, with the view out to sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Derek L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesMoutrie, General Manager at Dornoch Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Thank you for you lovely review - we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I agree - Dornoch and the surrounding area is lovely and is well worth the visit. We hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dornoch
0.2 mi away
Dornoch Castle Hotel
Dornoch Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dornoch
731 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Eagle Hotel
The Eagle Hotel
#4 of 6 in Dornoch
176 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Golf Hotel
Royal Golf Hotel
#3 of 6 in Dornoch
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tain
179 reviews
4.7 mi away
Morangie House Hotel
5.2 mi away
Mansfield Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dornoch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dornoch Hotel

Property: Dornoch Hotel
Address: Grange Road, Dornoch IV25 3LF, Scotland (Formerly Bay Dornoch Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Dornoch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Dornoch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dornoch Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in its own grounds overlooking the Royal Dornoch Golf Course and the beautiful sandy beaches of the Dornoch Firth this is a truly grand and impressive building. The exterior of the hotel has recently undergone tasteful redecoration and on the inside you will be greeted by a fine sweeping staircase and a warm Highland welcome. From the relaxing Sun Lounge you can admire the superb views and watch the world go by or enjoy a drink in the wood-panelled Links Lounge Bar. For the more energetic, there is a (seasonal) pitch and putt golf course in the hotel grounds where you can enjoy a round to build up your appetite for dinner. The Four Seasons and Links Restaurants within the hotel offer great dining options. This is an excellent base to visit the remote scenery of the area and to explore the lochs, moorland terrain and charm of Scotland’s far north. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and LateRooms so you can book your Dornoch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dornoch Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing