We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shame about the windy conditions, enjoyed relaxing break though”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dornoch
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Parkdean - Grannie's Heilan' Hame Holiday Park
Reviewed April 29, 2013

A great journey up the A9 from Glasgow with scenery all around to die for, we arrived to this quaint little holiday park & were greeted at first by a dust storm from a nearby crop farmland. Reception check-in was very quick, my partner & I were given an 8 berth caravan No.89 right next to all the amenities.
On the top floor of the amenities centre was a bar/restaurant, bar/entertainment & the reception itself. The lower level consisted of Grocer/gift shop, takeaway, games room with slot machines, arcade games & mini tenpin bowling alley with 2 lanes. Also on the bottom level was the swimming pool with Jacuzzi with separate sauna & solarium. The swimming had to be booked in advance at the reception to avoid overcrowding. In the park there was a good size play area for the young kids & and an area set aside for dog walkers.
We only used the entertainment the once, it was ok but nothing brilliant. The usual bingo, quiz then singer with music at the end of the evening. Children are asked at end of the evening to stay seated with their parents, but not every parent took heed of this & it kind of spoilt my night as I like a wee dance at the end of the night but not with young children running around the floor. Think this should be more addressed as the kids get their time at the beginning of the evening.
0n to the park itself, it really is set in an awesome, quiet location a couple of miles outside Dornoch town. The scenery is fantastic with loads of different wildlife.
We pretty much used this as a base to explore further northeast to the villages & towns up the A9 right up to John O' Groats. I would recommend this beautiful part of Scotland, if only we could guarantee the good weather!!

Room Tip: Caravan looking on to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveTheJock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (438)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

354 - 360 of 438 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2013

Having booked a "dog friendly" van, I was very apprehensive about it having read previous reviews, however, I was very pleasantly surprised. We had a nice modern centrally heated van (much needed as the weather outside was freezing) with a first class view over the absolutely beautiful beach, and was very clean apart from a few stray dog hairs from previous occupants, but really nothing major.

The site has had quite a revamp since we were last there, and is very tidy and fresh, although the pool changing is still old fashioned, with no family changing available. A shame 'cos it is a nice, warm wee pool.

The beach is fabulous with very clean golden sand, and also lots or rock pools, and you can walk for miles. Great for walking dogs, and for the kids. It was absolutely freezing when we were there, but, dressed for the weather, we still enjoyed it.

Great kids playpark, large and catering from young to older children.

The evening entertainment consisted of live acts at the weekend, which were singers of decent standards, and a balloon act on the Tuesday, which was quite amusing (unexpectedly). At other times there was the resident singer who was OK. There was also kiddie entertainment which we did not go to. Husband not amused that they did not sell his favorite Belhaven brew, but it seems usual for these type of sites to sell limited brands.

Overall, a great week though. came home chilled.

Room Tip: ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elainew400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Just back from a long weekend at Grannies Heilan Hame. I have mixed opinions on this site so I will split by pros and cons....

Pros
Stayed in a brand new Pentland caravan number N26 The Views. It was a 3 bedroom with a central lounge 2 bedrooms toilet/shower at one end and the double bedroom and another toilet/shower at the other end. Flat screen tv with dvd player. Beautiful fancy fire with multi coloured back lighting. Washer dryrer in a separate room. An absolute gorgeous caravan and I would say the best I have ever been in.

Location right by the beach. Did not get to spend any time on it due to the weather however I would imagine this would be a very pretty beach in the summer time.

The staff were excellent in every department. From the reception to the friendly shop keeper - every one of the staff we came across actually. My son celebrated turning 4 whilst here and Zoe on reception kindly organised a reserved table for a night show with balloons. He was taken up on the stage by Sid and Lizzy and had Happy Birthday sung to him and was presented with his birthday cake. Was very pleased with this and my son was delighted.

Cons
Amusements/arcade was very dingy and had not a lot of things to do. A couple of the machines were faulty also - the ones where you try to win a cuddly toy (the hand grab type thing) had a mind of its own with you having no control over. You were never ever going to win!!!

The Munch Box takeaway - disgusting to be honest. Please dont waste your money here. Use the restaurant instead which was better.

Daytime entertainment for the kids was very very poor with not much going on.

To summarise I would not rule out a return to Grannies. It is in a beautiful part of Scotland and we visited areas nearby - Loch Ness Falls of Shin to name a few - so as a base it would be great. The site itself just needs a little bit more pizazz in my opinion.

Room Tip: Choose a Pentland caravan and you will not be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HappychickGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

After reading some previous reviews we weren't expecting too much but the caravan/location/service is great! After enduring blizzards and high winds on the four hour journey and with the wind almost blowing us into the sea on arrival, the staff on reception were bright and cheery with a warm welcome. The caravan itself with a fantastic sea view was spotless and had everything we needed, with the heating turned on for our arrival! It was big enough for 3 couples and a baby especially considering we didn't venture out much in that weather! When we requested a pizza tray for homemade pizzas and a frying pan, brand new ones were delivered within 20 minutes! We didnt use the bars or go to the entertainment so can't comment. The swimming pool is lovely and only downside was that although the main building has been renovated, the changing facilities are still split male/female which isn't ideal with a four month old baby. However, as we were the only ones swimming, the staff said we could go into one changing area, which was helpful. All in, great weekend and felt that the staff really went that extra mile to look after you.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WeeStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed at this site for 4 nights on a Sun £9-50 holiday as a base to tour the Highlands.When we arrived for check in after a 10 hr drive the rain was absolutely bouncing off the ground but the friendliness of the staff more than made up for that. For some reason we were automatically upgraded to a sea view caravan which surprised me as I heard other people asking for a sea view van and being told there were none available and it couldn't have been betteras we were virtually situated on the beach so were able to watch the sunsets from caravan window each night. The beach is lovely and we virtually had it to ourselves whilst walking along it each evening. The site itself is a little dated and the chips from the onsite chippy were not brilliant. The games area is also very dated and basic but the staff over the whole site were brilliant. We used this base to visit John O Groats, Bettyhill, Aberdeen, the Orkneys and several other places before leaving and heading over to Ullapool and down to Isle of Skye. Although the area around the caravan site is lovely we personally prefer the west side of Scotland and because of that we would not use this site again. That is nothing against the site as we would give it a 9 out of 10. We are a mature age group couple and had no children with us which maybe made a difference.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I have been going to Embo for over 25 years now. More when I was younger I must admit, but now I have a son I wanted him to go too. I love it there, but unfortunately it is getting to the point of needing some up-datng. The games room/arcade is not a pleasant place to be. It's dark, dingy and needing a good scrub to be honest. Un-boarding the windows would be a good start - letting natural light into a room always helps! The pool was great, clean and safe. Reception satff were fantastic. The static caravan we had was great, we had everything we needed. But the biggest bonus point? The beach. The beach is stunning. It has never changed.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We travelled for the first time with our 23 month old daughter to Grannies from the North East, after a long drive we were pleased to arrive at the caravan park. Although a little dated in reception the staff were welcoming and very pleasant.
Our caravan was ready at 4pm and as we had never experienced a caravan holiday before we were a little unsure what to expect. To our surprise the caravan was fantastic (No 59) clean, spacious, modern. Our daughter loved it too and found it great to explore. Although we arrived when the weather was taking a turn for the worse (we went the week of the floods at the end of sept) we spent Tuesday in the caravan all day and it was very warm and cosy.
The rest of the week was much better weather wise so we were able to explore the area. We didn't use the facilities on site much so cant comment too much on that, though my daughter loved the park there, and she loved the beach, which I have to stay is stunning even in stormy weather - it was fun to watch the waves (we were right on the beach front) and the sun rises were amazing when the sun came out towards the end of the week, we loved going exploring on the beach for shells etc.
The shop was well stocked in case you forgotten anything and we did go to the restaurant on the Thursday evening and the food was fine, not a huge menu, typical bar grub but was cooked well and tasted good. The staff in the restaurant were very good and accommodating especially with our toddler, especially when my daughter was playing peek-a-boo with one of the staff members!
We visited Falls of Shin - good fun, Dunrobin Castle - well worth a visit, Glenmorangie Distillary - we had wanted to take the tour but the lady organising the tour forgot to mention all the steps and was quite abrupt with us when we were about to start the tour so we told her we wouldn't bother and left.
All in all, a much enjoyed trip. We would definitely go back which I feel is a sign of a good holiday and we would try and go for longer than the 4 nights as there is so much to explore if you enjoy that.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view property where possible, the views are amazing and such a lovely sight to wake up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank x_leeloo_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dornoch hotels
2.3 mi away
Dornoch Castle Hotel
Dornoch Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dornoch
817 reviews
4 mi away
Strathview Lodge Bed and Breakfast
2.3 mi away
The Eagle Hotel
The Eagle Hotel
#4 of 6 in Dornoch
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Royal Golf Hotel
Royal Golf Hotel
#3 of 6 in Dornoch
234 reviews
2.3 mi away
2 Quail Guest House
2 Quail Guest House
#3 of 18 in Dornoch
81 reviews
2.2 mi away
at No 9
at No 9
#1 of 18 in Dornoch
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkdean - Grannie's Heilan' Hame Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkdean - Grannie's Heilan' Hame Holiday Park

Address: Embo Beach, Dornoch | Sutherland, Dornoch IV25 3QD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Dornoch
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Dornoch
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everyone loves to stay at Grannie's!And it's easy to see why. This Grannie's got a heated indoor pool and nine hole crazy golf, an adventure play park on the sand and direct access to legendary Embo beach. Lucky guests can spot bottlenose dolphins across the Dornoch Firth, and get out and about to explore castles, waterfalls and wildlife parks. Yes, there's plenty here for everyone and their granny!* Set by the famous white sands of Embo beach * A superb location for exploring The Highlands * Magnificent views of the Dornoch Firth * Heated indoor pool with spa bath and sauna * Fun for the kids with Sid & Lizzie ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grannie`s Heilan` Hame Hotel Dornoch
Parkdean - Grannie's Heilan' Hame Holiday Park Dornoch, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing