We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bank House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dornoch
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Bank House
Ranked #7 of 19 Dornoch B&B and Inns
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Eight of us, all golfers, stayed at The Bank House for three days recently. I offer nothing but raves. The rooms were spacious, the breakfasts delightful. Our hosts, Paul and Irene Hart, made the difference. They were quick with suggestions, which were spot on, and eager to help us make reservations. They would shuttle our clubs to and frm Royal Dornoch to help make the walk a bit easier for us. They were friendly and engaging hosts and couldn't do enough for us. The location is excellent. Go to Dornoch, by all means, golfers or not, and stay with at The Bank House if it fits your needs.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BGD1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    12
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
30
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Midwest
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

After arriving in England and spending time dashing around visiting family, we boarded the train from Kings Cross to Inverness ready for a relaxing break in the Highlands. We were not disappointed in any way. Irene and Paul Hart, owners of Bank House, were very welcoming and our room (number 20) was all we had hoped it would be. It was at the back of the house overlooking the garden and so we had no road noise (not that it was a busy street), and even though the house was fully booked we heard nothing from fellow guests. My husband was delighted that our bed had blankets and a bedspread as he gets far too hot under a continental quilt. We had a reclining chair, a sofa and a huge 6' bed as well as a large flat screened television. The bathroom was also large, with a jacuzzi tub and separate (very luxurious) shower. An electric kettle with tea and coffee sat on a refridgerator which was very useful for storing snacks etc. Inside the large closet was an iron and ironing board which was very useful as we had been packing and unpacking our cases a few times before we arrived and our clothes were rather wrinkled.
Bank House iteself was very well presented, clean and tidy with beautiful stripped pine woodwork throughout. Irene and Paul were very friendly but not overly so like so many hosts we have met in other establishments. Breakfast was really good with plenty to eat , and the fact that all guests sat around one table was better than I had expected, in fact it was most pleasant.
There is plenty to do in the area. I loved Dornoch itself, walking through the village with it's little shops, onto the golf course with the beach beyond. I particularly liked the shop called The Jail with its very good selection of giftware. And yes, it was once the old jail and some of their goods are displayed in the old cells. The Cathedral is very lovely also. Rosamunde Pilcher used to live above a bank behind the Cathedral, and it was through her books that I first heard of Dornoch. I am glad I did, because this place really grew on us and together with our stay in Bank House we felt we had had our batteries recharged. Thank you Paul and Irene!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 20 which was fabulous, but any room would be a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vintagetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

We arrived in Dornoch without having booked. We tried the Bank House and were lucky to have a room. The price was some £30 to £40 cheaper than we had been quoted at other establishments. The room was small but clean and perfectly acceptable for our needs. Breakfast in the morning was outstanding and we enjoyed chatting to the other guests, a party of american ladies on a golf tour. The owners were friendly and this was particularly helpful to us as we were on our way to Orkney from where the lady originated. Good value and a very enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NiallMacgregor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed here before ( a few years ago ) and it is superb ! Great central location, close to Royal Dornoch or Dornoch Cathedral.
The rooms are lovely with everything you could ask for ie shower, bath TV etc etc. We were asked what time we wanted breakfast in the morning and although we had an early Sunday morning tee time, nothing was a problem. Breakfast was great with toast / cereals / fresh fruit / cooked etc etc - and a friendly service was provided.
Overall I would say it was a great hotel and I would definitely use again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Well situated, easy car parking, friendly people, wireless internet, great tv channel choice, spotless huge bathroom... I could go on.

As for the breakfast - perfect, nice to chat to other friendly guests. To sum up - hard to see what more they can do, it was terrific and great value. We will return!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank killieman47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

Wow what a great find. Located in a lovely old town with a lot of character. The property inside and out is very well maintained and kept. The rooms are spacious and well furnished.

There is off street parking for your car but I would guess that the street would be fine.

The breakfast was good and well cooked. The hosts friendly but not overly and annoying.

On the whole a great place to stay, we would definitely return if going back to Dornoch.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

We arrived unannounced at 6pm on Hogmanay - no booking and a Border Collie as part of our party. Due to the other accommodation having fallen through we desperately needed a bed for the night. Paul was so welcoming and so relaxed. Nothing was too much of a hassle for him and he didn't even blink at the dog request. This even though he had a dinner party planned in under an hour. The rooms are exquisite of the highest quality without being cold and impersonal like a hotel. The bathrooms are incredible with a spa bath in each room which made for a perfect romantic night for us newly weds. Breakfast was delicious, we were graciously allowed to sleep late and I loved being served at the large table where we were able to chat to fellow guests and get ideas of where to go for the rest of the day. The roaring fire was simply the cherry on top. We'll certainly be back.

We stayed in the castle Hotel 2 years prior and I have to say that this B&B comes a very close 2nd but at half the price.

Room Tip: In this B&B all the rooms are exquisite and wonderfully quiet but there are pictures of each on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dornoch
0.1 mi away
Dornoch Castle Hotel
Dornoch Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dornoch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Eagle Hotel
The Eagle Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dornoch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dornoch Hotel
Dornoch Hotel
#4 of 6 in Dornoch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Royal Golf Hotel
Royal Golf Hotel
#3 of 6 in Dornoch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
4.6 mi away
Morangie House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Amalfi Bed & Breakfast
Amalfi Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 19 in Dornoch
5.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bank House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bank House

Property: The Bank House
Address: The Old Bank House Castle Street, Dornoch IV25 3SR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Dornoch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Dornoch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Listed building in town center close to restaurants, shops, golf course and beach. Personally run by the owners, all bedrooms are en suite. Well behaved dogs very welcome. Small private car park in garden grounds. Super-king size beds, whirlpool or Jacuzzi baths, affordable luxury. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Bank House Dornoch, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing