We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,484)
Filter reviews
1,483 results
Traveler rating
850
335
159
81
58
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
850
335
159
81
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviews golf course cristal restaurant deluxe room afternoon tea four poster bed main building il posto beautiful building huge bathroom birthday treat grand suite relaxation room sauna and steam room loch lomond leisure facilities waiting staff from start to finish
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
323 - 328 of 1,483 reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2017

Just returned from an overnight stay at this beautiful Hotel, We had a brilliant surprise when we got the key to our room we had been upgraded to a junior suite and nobody had told us at check in so we were totally and pleasantly surprised The room was absolutely gorgeous. We stayed on a DBB basis and the food was All well presented and delicious, The Staff were all so attentive and couldn't do enough for youme with special thanks to Ciara/Kiara at reception for the additional information given to us on checkout. We also used the SPA and the same attention was given to us there. We had lunch and a glass of pink champagne as part of the Valentines offer we booked all very delicious. Will definitely be returning to this FAB Hotel & SPA in hopefully the not too distant future. Thank you Mar Hall for an AMAZING stay

Date of stay: February 2017
Thank sandsom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2017 via mobile

We were here for afternoon tea, I would recommend it as the sandwiches and cakes were so nice.
The staff were friendly and attentive to anything we requested.
We will be back again.
The grounds a nice for a stroll after lunch, and the views over the Clyde are stunning.

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank jimscott26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2017

This was our second visit to Mar Hall. The public areas are stunning, quite a wow factor. All staff we came into contact with were happy and friendly. Check in was at 4pm but we did have around a half an hour wait for our room to be ready. The room was lovely...view of the car park however we were not planning on looking out the window all day. The bed was large and comfortable, great night sleep (apart from banging outside, not sure where it was coming from, couldn't work it out) Had a relaxing bath with Arran Arromatics products, my favourite!
We used our robes and slippers on our way to the spa area. I had a relaxing Indian Head massage, therapist Shannon was friendly and very good. My partner used the gym and he thought it was well equipped. The pool area was clean and peaceful with a good sized pool and we made use of the sauna and steam room.
Breakfast was well run, lots of choice and delicious!
Will definitely return.

Date of stay: February 2017
1  Thank Pinkchocolatestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2017 via mobile

I visited Mar hall with my three teenage children on the recommendation of friends from Dubai.
We were so pleasantly surprised with the truly beautiful rooms, and fine dining experience (including a wonderful breakfast)
Finding an Aveda spa in the middle of the beautiful Scottish countryside was an added bonus.
The staff were friendly, efficient and unobtrusive
I look forward to visiting again in the future :-)

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Siog M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2017

We were given an Itison voucher for an overnight stay with breakfast, fizz and petit fours in room, use of leisure facilities, my son and daughter combined this with a meal also on another voucher.
Our room wasn't ready until just after 4pm so we went for a seat and drink.
As soon as our room was ready we were given the key and told us how to get to the room. A bit of a trek it was in the Leisure part of the hotel. The room was large and all we would need for an overnight stay. The bed was huge?super king size but very comfortable as were the pillows.
There was tea and coffee and kettle in the room, decaf tea, coffee, fruit teas and hot chocolate sachets along with some biscuits.
There were bathrobes and slippers in the wardrobe along with an ironing table and iron.
The bathroom was well equipped his and her sinks, bath with attachments and a standing shower. The shower was powerful which I find good. There were the usual toiletries also. The only thing missing was a hairdryer, that is a first for us in any hotel we have been in, and i can't understand why it isn't standard in a deluxe room.
Our room overlooked the golf course and the River Clyde, such a beautiful view.
The meal was booked for 6pm and when booked we were told to be no later than six. I now understand that it's because we had to chose from the lunch menu and not the dinner menu. Having said that the choice was good, soup, smoked salmon or chicken liver pate with oatcakes. The mains were steak with an £8 supplement, mushroom risotto or Chicken Supreme. Everything was cooked to perfection and I couldn't fault it. We chose a bottle of wine with our meal, there was a good choice and we chose a Chardonney. At £28 a bottle I thought it was a bit steep that was one of the cheapest.
We weren't rushed at the table at all. No dessert was included but it didn't matter we were both full and the portion sizes of fine dining were good.
We sat in the main hall for a while with our prosecco and petit fours and then went to the Spike Bar. We sat with more drinks but felt there was no atmosphere in the bar a TV with Sky news was on. We went back to our room as there was nothing to do. Breakfast in the morning was buffet style and plenty of choice plus fresh fruit juices and a smoothie. There are some breakfasts i.e. Kippers,Kedgeree and pancakes that require to be paid extra for.
Everyone of the staff were lovely particularly the two young waitresses in the dining room. Asking if we were planning to do anything and describing the lovely walks that were around if the weather was good. We did that before we left.
Overall we enjoyed our stay, most importantly we weren't judged by the vouchers we used as is the case in some places.
Mar Hall is beautiful and steeped in history, the ceilings so ornate and beautiful seating along with fireplaces.
We did notice a grand piano in the hall and it would have been nice to have it used in the evenings.
We felt it lacked atmosphere.( and a hairdryer)
We would definitely return.

Room tip: Leisure rooms face the golf course and River Clyde.
Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidaycritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews