We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bishopton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 4, 2008

Stayed for one night at this truly wonderful hotel. Staff extremely friendly and very helpful. Check in was very swift and very organised. We stayed in a junior suite (room 7). Wonderful room, very clean and crisp sheets on the great 4 poster bed. Bathroom terrific with seperate shower and bath. The main areas of the hotel are traditionaly furnished to very high standard. Main hall has loads of lovely comfy sofas and chairs and is great place to sit and relax. Evening meal was very good, service again was faultless. Not a huge range of options on the menu and quite a few fish dishes, but our meals were all delicious. Spa was very good, massage was wonderful and worth paying extra money. Breakfast was buffet style, and again very good. All you could possibly ask for to set you up for the day. All in all a fantastic overnight stay and worth every penny. Go you will love it!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank greatscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,260)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,216 - 1,222 of 1,260 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2008

We stayed here for one night but felt like we'd had a far longer break. We arrived at 1 & were given access to our room straight away and a late check-out of 1pm the next day. The spa is pricey but well-worth it (the facial was amazing - I am sold on Aveda), and the pool is great - we had it to ourselves much of the time. We stayed in a room in the spa extension, so we padded about in robe and slippers for most of the day. The room was very comfy - only minor niggle that the king size bed was two singles pushed together, but otherwise it was great. We had dinner in the hotel - pricey (particularly for vegetarians) but good quality. Breakfast was more disappointing - unless it's part of your package give it a miss.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KEB71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2008

Stayed here for two nights for our wedding anniversary.

The property is beautiful and the location, whilst relatively close to Glasgow Airport and the Motorway, seems a million miles from anything urban.

Reception staff and porters were very helpful, and the room was great. Although the hotel was busy and with a wedding, the place seemed really quiet and the atmosphere was certainly one of relaxation.

The Spa and pool area seemed great. The restaurant was lovely, although my wife's meal was cold and had to be returned to the kitchen - apologies were not particularly forthcoming. We then had to chase someone to serve after dinner drinks and coffee. On the morning of our second stay we were awoken by window cleaners outside our window, jetwashing the place. This seemed like a fairly basic error for such a high calibre hotel, and although apologies were made, it seemed slightly half-heated.

I have to stress that these are very minor points in what was otherwise a very pleasant stay. If it hadn't been such a fabulous place we probably wouldn't have batted an eyelid about these.

Despite my minor moans, I would definitely stay here again without hesitation

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SW75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2008

We stayed at Mar Hall two days in June and really enjoyed ourselves. Our room was very clean and comfortable; bed and linens were great,....we enjoyed ourselves at the indoor pool and spa. But the best thing about Mar Hall are the people who work at the hotel....everyone, without exception could not be more helpful and friendly. We were so impressed. The only reason I didn't give this fabulous hotel 5 stars was the food in the dining room. It was very average,...a big disappointment actually. If they hire a really great chef, Mar Hall will probably be one of the best hotels anywhere!

Stayed: June 2008
Thank jeanannapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2008

We were attending a wedding and were part of a block booking of rooms.

When we arrived, the first thing we noticed was the age and character of the building (compared to Southern California where we live). It is a beautiful piece of architecture. Stunning.

The staff were friendly and helpful with the luggage and check-in (even though we were early), but in a discrete, non-pushy sort of way.

We were shown to our room which was in the lower level of the hotel and when we complained that it was rather too dark and had no cell phone signal, they moved us to a much nicer room with no quibble (even though I am sure the second room cost more).

My husband had to hold a telephone conference call and when they were unable to find us a speaker phone to use in the room, they willingly opened up a huge conference room for him to use. The waiter even followed behind him carrying his coffee on a tray. That's service!

We ate in the dining room in the evening and the food was very good. The staff were very friendly and were able to tell us about the history of the hotel. By breakfast of the second day, the staff seemed like extended family members!

On the last day when the bridal party were about to leave, some of my 'new friends' amongst the staff helped me to gather the prerequisite tin cans, and other paraphernalia, to decorate the couple's car!!

It really was a most pleasant stay.

I noticed that some of the other guest who weren't part of our wedding party had booked special packages which seemed extremely good value. Others came and enjoyed the afternoon tea.

Tip; If you are going to stay there, it is worth paying the extra for a better room/suite, particularly if you can get one in the old, main building with a view of the river.

I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank 92,075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2008

This hotel has to be one of the best I have ever had the pleasure of staying at. For everything you get (service, food, room etc) the price is very reasonable and I wouldn't hesitate staying again.

When my partner and I arrived we were greeted by the friendly receptionists who were genuine with their customer service and unlike some other 5 star hotels they were not 'fake'. We were directed to our room 48 in the spa area which was secluded and private, the room had both a shower and large bath and was well furnished with great views over the river and their was champagne waiting on ice for us when we arrived.

We ordered from the room service menu for dinner as we had a long day and what a delight the food was. If you try anything on the menu then try the ice cream it was made from organic ingrediants and homemade!

This hotel is is in a beautiful location and close to Glasgow, Paisley and about 30 miles from Luss. So you can shop, walk or take in the views.

I have nothing but praise for this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank sparksteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2008

Check in is officially 4 oclock. As we stay nearby and couldn't wait to start our 24hr chill out we arrived around 2 .
We thought we could get lunch and check in later. But we got shown our room straight away and got made very welcome.
The rooms, food, surroundings , facilities and service are just
top of the range.With no hint of stuffieness whatsoever- quite a combination to acheive .
Mar Hall
Feels a million miles away from the big city but is so close to Glasgow and all the sights . Great for us Glaswiegian's as it is on our doorstep also great for tourist's too .
Go there soon it is fab!

Stayed: March 2008
Thank glasgowgals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bishopton
Ingliston Country Club
#2 of 2 in Bishopton
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Erskine Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Erskine
1,395 reviews
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#12 of 93 in Glasgow
2,718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort

Address: Earl of Mar Estate Mar Hall Drive, Bishopton PA7 5NW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Renfrewshire > Bishopton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bishopton
Price Range: $162 - $343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mar Hall Bishopton
Mar Hall Hotel Bishopton
Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort Bishopton, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing