We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location for a wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bishopton
Certificate of Excellence
Central Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Beautiful location for a wedding”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We were at a friend's daughter's wedding here in July during a very warm summer. The ceremony was lovely with a string quartet playing during the proceedings. There was a distict lack of toilets in the main building, anytime I was there, there were at least three or four people waiting.
The wedding reception was in a large building (like a church hall) about a hundred yards away from the main building. We were ok because our back was to the wall but the others across the table had the direct sunshine in their eyes. There appeared to be no blinds at our side of the hall but there were at the other side....
The meal was fantastic and the waitstaff were very kind and chatty, loved it but would have hated to pick up the tab.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mairn138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    703
    283
    130
    70
    43
See reviews for
179
645
11
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Four of us stayed on a Sunday night golf deal which was excellent value for money. A most welcoming hotel and our dinner in the Cristal Restaurant was delicious. Breakfast too - the staff could not have been more helpful and attentive. Yes, some of the décor is a bit tired and I have to agree with another reviewer that the design of the Italian restaurant building does not fit in architecturally (nor does the corridor leading to the golf reception and spa area). We couldn't understand why the Italian Restaurant building was not also the golf clubhouse - this would encourage more use of it and make more sense than sending golfers upstairs into the main hotel for a coffee/bacon roll on arrival. Did not use the pool but had a wonderful spa treatment. The golf course was well-presented and features some beautiful old trees (just tricky when they are mid-fairway!). We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Mar Hall.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrishB33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed three nights, on a business trip, with family staying as well.

This was a good location for a 'mixed stay' - great access to motorway into Glasgow, with nice facilities on site for the family. The internal areas of the hotel were all generally in a good condition and it is very grand. Leisure facilities were good, clean and family friendly - we used them every day.

Service was good overall, with a couple of small blips, which I wouldn't have expected from a hotel of this level: lack of explanation of turn-down service by reception, when we checked in with a small child - so I had to call up on arrival in the room; luggage left in the morning to be taken up, had to be requested on arrival in the room, when it was not there.

HOusekeeping were very nice - the lady who did the turn down service of the first couple of nights was very good and made our little boy feel special. The breakfast dining staff were also very good, each morning, attentive, observant and quick to provide the various products.

For me - this was a good overall experience and is convenient for work - by far the best quality hotel on this side that I've stayed in so far, and so I'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: We had a nice room overlooking rear gardens in the old part of the hotel - rooms at the front might...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Nice setting and lovely old building. Staff were mostly welcoming and friendly with the exception of the reception where the one person on duty seemed to be permanently glued to the phone. We spent quite a while being ignored while we waited to check in and check out.

The room we had was quite tatty and not what we expected from a 5* hotel. Paintwork chipped and cracked bathroom tiles for example. The TV in our room didn't work at first and I spent a frustrating 30 minutes trying to figure out the handset till I discovered that the LAN cable at the back had come out. Again, would have expected someone to check everything in the room was working as a matter of course.

Despite a very comfortable bed, I hardly slept because of the noise from other guests throughout the night repeatedly banging on doors and shouting in the corridor outside our room.

Breakfast was good - again the friendly staff lifted the experience and the food was very nice.

Overall though, not a great experience. A bit of freshening up in the rooms, more attention to stuff working in the rooms, more or more attentive reception staff and perhaps lodging drunken wedding parties in a different part of the hotel would help.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NeilAitkenhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is another country house hotel that needs more money spending on it to make it the standard it advertises itself as being. We stayed for two nights in a room overlooking car parking and across to the Italian restaurant ( not open during our stay). The Restaurant building totally does not fit in - who on earth designed it. A real 'blot on the landscape'.
Our room smelt rather musty, not helped by the fact that the bathroom window didn't open and the extractor fan didn't work. The tap dripped constantly. The room was very warm contrasting with the cold throughout the rest of the hotel. This was August and a good summer so goodness knows what the place is like in the winter!
The reception staff were very disorganised and despite asking us if we wanted a paper and writing down our choice it failed to materialise and they denied any knowledge of our request. They were also confused about Wi Fi - £3 per 24 hrs. The porter stood by the desk watching people struggling up the steps with luggage.
The only member of staff who seemed to know what he was doing was the restaurant manager.
Overall, the food was good especially breakfast. Waiters give top ups of tea and coffee but you have to ask them. Why not just give guests a pot?
Externally, the place is falling to bits, internally it's ok. The spa area is nothing special.
Pricey for what you get - wont be going back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lou R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely delicious, went with my future mother in law to be
Service was outstanding, food was delicious and well presented. No idea of the cost as it was a gift, but the hotel is very grande and I am more than sure it was worth every penny!

Would definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vindalloo_lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights at the Mar Hall for a family wedding. The location and the scenery are fantastic. Careful with a satnav if you have not got an up to date version as the post code will take you to a locked gate which must have been a previous entrance as you can see the hotel through the gap between the gates.
The hotel is very plush with a grand entrance and hall. Reception is a little small for such a grand hotel and does not cater well for multiple checkouts. The hotel staff are very polite and courteous and always offering to help carry luggage.
The rooms are very spacious and clean, the beds are massive and very comfortable. there are tea and coffee making facilities also a bottle of still and sparkling water. The TV is located in one of the wardrobes along with the tea making items and an ironing board (mini size) and an Iron.
On the down side there is very little drawer space, there are single drawers in each bedside cabinet and two in the dressing table.
A number of the rooms are only accessible by using stairs or by using a lift which then requires a considerable walk both of which can be difficult for infirm or disabled people so if you have problems with stairs or walking distances make sure you tell them when booking. Access to the entrance hall / reception is via stairs and I did not see a lift to enable wheel chair use, but there could be one. Worth checking when making a booking.
The restaurant is very good and the food is delicious and artistically presented, the portions are on the small side. There are two menus, a la carte and a fixed price menu at £35 per head, the wine list is good and the price is pretty average for hotels with captive clients. On the down side as a party of 7 we were put on a table meant for 6 people, I think that they thought that the 5 year old that was with us could be stuck on the end but they should not be given less room just because they are small, they need as much as an adult. There is also an Italian pizzeria as an alternative to the main restaurant.
The leisure facilities are good but the Jacuzzi is not a Jacuzzi but a small shallow pool with a couple of water jets to move the water. The sauna and the steam room were good and spacious, there are 2 of each but only 1 of each was working during our stay. The pool is very good and has a regular depth of approx. 1.4m for its full length. There is a fully equipped Gym for the energetic.
There is a golf course in the grounds which looked very good and well kept, did not get chance to look around other than the greens close to the hotel.

The cost of the rooms is quite pricy, and it may be possible to get cheaper options via any of the numerous booking agents, but as we were there for a family wedding (but not part of the wedding party) I feel we got charged at the top end of the price range. In with the price was breakfast which was excellent offering the usual Scottish breakfast (but no haggis which was disappointing), a range of cereals , fruits, juices, yogurts etc. Again the service from the staff was excellent.

very good place to stay but be prepared to load your credit card,

Room Tip: If you have problems with stairs and walking distances ask for rooms that are by the lift or on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bishopton
Ingliston Country Club
#2 of 3 in Bishopton
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#15 of 95 in Glasgow
2,652 reviews
Erskine Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Erskine
1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort

Property: Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort
Address: Earl of Mar Estate Mar Hall Drive, Bishopton PA7 5NW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Renfrewshire > Bishopton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bishopton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mar Hall Bishopton
Mar Hall Hotel Bishopton
Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort Bishopton, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing