We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent one night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bishopton
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
995 reviews
166 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 481 helpful votes
“Excellent one night stay”
Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

Just what we wanted. Excellent one night stay en route from Liverpool to Port Appin to break the journey. Room was comfortable and clean. Bars were quiet but I suppose as it was Boxing Day night that was to be expected. Breakfast was first class. Overall, would stay again definately.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jilllian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EveInglis, Manager at Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
I am delighted that we ticked all the boxes during your brief stay with us. Many guests cite breakfast as a highlight of their visit, and I am so pleased we came up trumps here for you.

Next time we hope you will be able to enjoy a longer stay with us – the estate is breathtakingly beautiful in the summer, and our golfing facilities are second to none!

Kind Regards,

Mar Hall Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    689
    277
    129
    69
    43
See reviews for
174
635
10
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

My fiancé and I stayed at this hotel for one night. The hotel grounds & hotel itself have a real WOW factor. First Impressions of the hotel are great. As it was Christmas we were offered mulled wine & mince pies whilst waiting to check in. Our room was absolutely beautiful. We stayed in a delux room, it was Stylishly decorated and big with a gorgeous view of the water & hills. Later We had cocktails in the Spike bar in front of the open fire & dinner in the Italian restaurant which were lovely and had a great atmosphere.
We wished we could have stayed another night & taken in more of of this beautiful hotel & it's stunning scenery.
We would definitely reccomend this hotel to a friend & can't wait to return in the future.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlasgowGal86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EveInglis, Manager at Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Our stunning 240 acre woodland estate offers the perfect romantic retreat for couples seeking a luxurious escape from the city. The panoramas over the gardens or Kilpatrick Hills and River Clyde still take my breath away, and I am delighted to read that we blew you away here.

Our well-stocked and elegant Spike Bar is the perfect place for atmospheric pre and post-dinner cocktails, and is so cosy in the winter. Our Il Posto Restaurant serves up exquisite Italian cuisine, and I am pleased

We have a highly focussed and passionate team of chefs in our Il Posto Restaurant, so I am delighted you enjoyed the carefully crafted fare they prepared for you.

We can’t wait to welcome you back for your next visit!

Kind Regards,
Mar Hall Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Booked a late birthday treat for my husband on 21st dec. I felt the need to let everyone know how well we were treated in Mar Hall.
From arrival we were treated as VIP's. Room was exeptional with views to die for! Food was fabulous - so fresh and lovely an hot!
Evening entertainement from the pianist/singer was just perfect. Breakfast in the morning was just superb, couldn't be better!
Attention from staff was second to none-Attentive without being pushy.
Special mention foe reception staff - Ailsa and Allan went out of their way to make our stay wonderful.
Next Year''s birthday will be a hard act to follow. Many thanks to All!

L Brown.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DBrown21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EveInglis, Manager at Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Wow! Reviews like yours are what we live for here at Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort! Our whole team work so hard to ensure that guests receive the highest possible standard of personalised service, and I am over the moon that we were able to help you give your husband such a special birthday celebration.

We would love to welcome you both back for another relaxing retreat soon!

Kind Regards,

Mar Hall Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Stayed here for one night on 16th December. We had lunch which was very tasty and well presented. The breakfast was excellent, good choice and attentive service. Our room looked onto the gardens at the back and was comfortable, clean and very quiet. We had an excellent nights sleep. The staff are extremely friendly in the hotel area, restaurant area and also the spa. Good pool which we used on the Sunday night. We would stay again and would recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R0nmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EveInglis, Manager at Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
I’m so pleased you enjoyed your visit to Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort.

Our chefs are dedicated to creating the highest quality cuisine with the best Scottish ingredients, so I am pleased you enjoyed your breakfast and lunch. Next time, I recommend you try out our atmospheric Cristal Resaurant or try our Italian fare in the Il Posto Ristorante

Our staff are dedicated to providing our guests with the highest levels of customer service, and will be delighted with your kind words of praise.

We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Kind Regards,
Mar Hall Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We had our annual Xmas Party at Mar Hall on Friday 14th December. we had the marquee and there were 190 people there. I can safely say it was the best Xmas party we have ever had.The staff were extremely helpful and the overall service was fantastic. Elizabeth Craig arranged the whole event and her attention to detail and organisation of the night was impeccable. We also had 30 room booked in the hotel and everyone loved their roooms. Mar Hall is a beautiful venue. For a Christmas party, it felt really special. Thanks to everyone at Mar Hall and hopefully we'll be booking again for next year.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Stayed 6/7 Dec, upgraded to Junior Suite owing to hotel not responding to my enquiry. Staff faultless and food delicious. Spa not '5' star - Norton House Edinburgh more superior. Unable to have planned treatment - mix-up in communication - hard to deal with an answering machine! Fire alarm went off halfway during Rasoul mud treatment - entertaining for all!

Overall - a lot of money for one night - Spa should have been better.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomdenovan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EveInglis, Manager at Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for reviewing Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort and saying such lovely things about our team – we want every guest to enjoy true five star service when they stay here. We have a highly focussed and passionate team of chefs, so I am delighted you enjoyed the carefully crafted fare they prepared for you.

Your comments about our spa are disappointing. The fire alarm incident was truly unfortunate in the middle of your treatment – what a shame. Unfortunately we simply can’t plan for these things, and I am glad you were able to have a bit of a giggle over it. I apologise for the communication difficulties you experienced, and have delivered your feedback to our Spa team, who are usually extremely on the ball regarding bookings.

We do run an extraordinary luxury resort here. I hope you make a point of staying with us again, and take the opportunity to reassess the five star merits of our spa.

Kind Regards,
Mar Hall Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Had Christmas dinner this week with large group. If you have booked your group Christmas lunch/dinner ask yourself, do you want to pay for what appears and tastes like rolled turkey and even worse 'rolled' stuffing and one 'roast potato'? Disrespectful, hugely disappointing and certainly not recommended. Singer/pianist overwhelmed conversations in the Grand Hall.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scoirse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EveInglis, Manager at Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
I am incredibly surprised and disappointed by your comments about your Christmas meal at Mar Hall, and would appreciate the opportunity to follow this up with you properly. We take negative feedback like yours very seriously, and I am keen to speak to you about the issues you experienced.

I would be grateful if you could contact me directly on 0141 812 9999.

Kind Regards,

Alexander Vonsusskind
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bishopton
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#13 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ingliston Country Club
#2 of 3 in Bishopton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort

Property: Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort
Address: Earl of Mar Estate Mar Hall Drive, Bishopton PA7 5NW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Renfrewshire > Bishopton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bishopton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mar Hall Bishopton
Mar Hall Hotel Bishopton
Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort Bishopton, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing