We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow really expensive and not nice” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bishopton Tandoori

Bishopton Tandoori
Ranked #4 of 11 Restaurants in Bishopton
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Been open a few years but only just tried it, brilliant food, friendly staff. Mike Tyson ate here recently!
buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wow really expensive and not nice”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Really surprised this restaurant has good reviews, we went late December, it was busy and there were 8 of us. We felt like maybe they couldnt manage but they squeezed us in.
Waiter was rude as they come, wouldnt even talk to my wife, but the thing that surprised me most was how expensive it was. I have eaten at some really nice indians in city centres and not paid the amount these guys are asking.
The food was sent wrong, Prawns instead of Vegetables, when told they grunted and went and brought a half dish of some horrible vegetables as compensation !!!
Kids had fish fillet and chips, never have i seen such greasy food, i didnt let them eat it just picked out the fish.
Glass of Rose was seriously vile, like vinegar.
5 diferent curries, Dhansak, Pathia etc. I am not joking every single one tasted exactly the same and soooo Garlicky it was nasty.
I dont get these other reviews really, strange I thought it was terrible.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank gavinlong22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    24
    5
    5
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Erskine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
207 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Nice Visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

Good food, good seating, good staff, good menu. What more can be said. Parking is a bit iffy though. As Arnie say - I'll be back!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Johnsvote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishopton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Tandoori curry in Renfrewshire”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Good service, great curries at reasonable prices. Nice bright restaurant, not that long since it was refurbished. They now own the fish & chip shop next door. You get value for your money.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank alvc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent Indian Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

Great choice, cooked perfectly, very friendly staff, very adaptable on the meal you choose, i.e. how spicy you want it.
One of the best Indians I have eaten.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank swr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Hugely disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

I went to Bishopton Tandoori with some colleagues after reading good reviews on Trip Advisor. After visiting I'm really confused as to why people like it so much. The menu is vast and has an excellent selection but unfortunately the quality of the food is average at best. The thali buffet is really good value for money but having eaten in Southern Indian restaurants, what this restaurant serves is not authentic at all. The chapatis were hard and the naan bread was unlike any other naan bread I've ever seen. The gulab jamun were smothered in whipped cream and ice cream - not how they should be served. I find it hard to believe that there are better Indian restaurants in the area.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank midlandsgnome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bishopton Tandoori also viewed

 
Bishopton, Renfrewshire
Bishopton, Renfrewshire
 

Been to Bishopton Tandoori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing