We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rude staff, toenail clippings, urine stained couch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Glynhill Hotel & Leisure Club
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Renfrew
scotland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Rude staff, toenail clippings, urine stained couch”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Booked adjoining rooms 117-118 dumped in the corner of hotel with a view of the restaurant roof.

Rooms

* Windows very dirty and ledges a layer of dust.
* Sofa in room had cigarette burns and stains that looked like someone had urinated on the couch.
* Hairs of previous occupants found in the bath and on the floor of the bathroom. Black mould at corners of bath that wasn't stained- could have been cleaned.
* Toenail clippings lying on floor beside bed.

Went down to reception to ask to be moved rooms. Reception manager Bethany was polite and told me that the hotel was full and nothing they could do. I asked for couch to be removed and she said that would be fine and she would get someone to bring some chairs to sit on and get the room deep cleaned. I went upstairs and someone came up a few minutes later and said the couch was too big to fit out the door so it would need to stay. We had a little girl staying with us and she would climb on the sofa so we asked for some sheets to put over and they did do this. Cleaner came to room to do deep clean and I left room to get something from car as she arrived and she was away by the time I arrived back (deep clean whole room in 5 minutes?)

Restaurants
Went for dinner and waited ages to be seated and even longer to get drinks. Restaurant was empty when we arrived and very busy when we left and definitely understaffed.

Breakfast- seated quite quickly. Manager Martin explained that the breakfast was self serve. Went up to get tea/coffee and couldn't find it and asked a member of staff behind serving area to point me in the direction. She said she would send someone over and asked a member of staff to bring some over and the lady replied "What does she want me to go jump to her attention? I've got 20 other things to do". When she did bring the tea over she sat a boiling pot of tea in front of a 3 year old. My friend put her arm out to stop her daughter getting burnt whilst I moved it and the lady serving said to her " can you move your arm so that I can put this down". There was a Chinese family beside us and we also witnessed the same member of staff being very rude to them.

I have visited this hotel for nights out and meals before and the service was great. I will never visit here again as the staff have been rude.

Here are some of the pictures from the jokingly 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank chochaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

967 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    305
    186
    96
    89
See reviews for
201
221
42
213
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Stayed on a coach holiday from Hampshire. Having read the TripAdvisor comments, I e-mailed the hotel asking for a quiet room with walk-in shower. Donna quickly responded and the room allocated was just as requested..Thank you Donna.

The hotel was very clean and very busy. All the staff were very helpful and efficient.

In the restaurant, Charris provided lots of help and seemed to be very good at organising the younger staff to provide a very efficient dining experience. She was always very cheerful and welcoming.

Prices of drinks are high, but this is probably the norm for this style and quality of hotel. If you can stand the TV screens and music, use Harry's Bar which is a bit less expensive. [There is a very useful corner shop a few steps up the road at the traffic lights].

The hotel is very conveniently placed for easy access to the airport and major roads.

I will certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lk2010a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy B, Manager at The Glynhill Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and for taking the time to write such a positive review of the Hotel, which is very much appreciated. It is nice to hear such positive remarks regarding our team. Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night before our flight from Glasgow airport. Service and room terrible and a lot of noise in corridors coming from drunk residents. We planned to leave our car here as we were told the hotel had secure parking. Not true......anybody can access the car park and the person behind the desk didn't even ask for my registration number. We left at 3am and parked our car in a secure facility.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank chaddersuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy B, Manager at The Glynhill Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to submit your feedback.

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay due to the noise from other guest.

Should you wish to contact me direct to discuss the comment regarding the room or service in more detail I would be happy to talk the issues over with you.

With regards to the car park, we offer free car parking while on holiday which has 24 hour CCTV, flood lighting and is patrolled night and day. We do not advertise that we offer secure parking.

We have taken your comments on board and please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused and we thank you for bringing the matter to our attention.

Once again should you wish to discuss your review in more detail please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Renfrew hotels

UK
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Stayed here for thankfully one night last friday - and never again! Many faults including:
1. Rude and sultry staff
2. Bedrooms like saunas making sleep impossible
3. Dirty bathrooms
4. Badly designed rooms - no mirror near a light or electric socket
5. Tribute night banging on until 1.30am - very noisy and full of chavvy hen parties
6. Over priced food and drinks
7. Packed, stuffy and overcrowded breakfast service
8. Dirty and smelly leisure club
All in all a rather expensive poor night

Room Tip: Tent would be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Plato22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed on a Saturday night: not good. We had our two young kids and they put is in a 'quiet' part of the hotel: the rooms around us were basically in full party mode until 1am, with doors banging, music blaring, and people talking loudly between rooms. 4 times security had to come up until things quietened. This is, of course, only partly the hotel's fault: they can't regulate guests. But they might also have told us what we might expect when we booked. Other things too weren't great: the room was supposed be 'family', but was just a small, humid box with an extra bed and a cot squeezed in, with barely any floor space. It was a hot night and we had to ask three times for a fan before getting one after an hour. On the plus side, the staff were friendly and understanding (and gave a £15 discount the next morning), and breakfast was good. But this is not a place to bring the kids - at least not on a weekend!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Colin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy B, Manager at The Glynhill Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay with us and bringing to our attention the problems you encountered.

I was sorry to learn of the dissatisfaction, which you experienced in regard to the room that was allocated for you and your family.

With regards to the noise from the other family in the nearby rooms we are sincerely sorry that they caused such a disturbance. The night manager did ask them the keep the noise level down and later moved them away to another location within the hotel.

Guest satisfaction is of great importance to us at the hotel and we are concerned that you left the hotel with a poor impression of the service that we offer. As a family run hotel in the area for over forty four years we do pride ourselves on the high level of service and customer care.

We have taken your comments on board and please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience or stress caused and should you be returning to the hotel in the near future please contact myself and I will arrange a complimentary upgrade to one of our executive family rooms.

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Stayed one night on a business trip, room was quite modern and spacious. Bed was not very comfortable, very hard. Breakfast was buffet style with a good choice, but it was very busy. Will use again if on business in the area

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy B, Manager at The Glynhill Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Stayed here for one night, for the second time last night and had an excellent stay! Ideally located for Braehead shopping centre and XScape where there is plenty to keep the kids amused.

Family room was spacious, clean and tidy and had everything that we needed. Could maybe do with a general paint and tidy up.....room walls and corridor areas a bit scruffy in places but no major issues.

Had dinner in the hotel...nice atmosphere and very child friendly! Food was excellent...only gripes were firstly that a good handful of mussels in my starter were unopened and unable to be eaten which makes you wonder how fresh they were. Also we presumed veg was included with main courses but it wasn't.....when we asked for some we were told it would be a good 10 minutes. As we were already well into our dish we didn't bother as we would have been nearly finished by the time they arrived. However these were small issues ......chicken and duck in the main courses were cooked perfectly and loved the caramel tart with orange ice-cream. Good choice and quality of kids meals also. Service was a bit on the slow side, however we didn't mind as we weren't in a rush but the staff apologised and gave us our desserts free of charge......attentive staff with good customer service.

Breakfast was of a good quality...had to wait for a table to be set and some things had ran out but were quickly replenished when asked....not a huge deal especially considering the high turnover of tables at breakfast and we did come down at half past nine which is probably a popular time to eat. Special note to female member of staff.....a man with two very young children was struggling to keep them entertained while he ate and she moved them to a quiet area of the restaurant where they weren't bothering anyone and where they could have a wander about...she tried her best to accommodate them and chatted to the kids..:) To be flexible and accommodating when dealing with young families is so important as I remember all too well how stressful it can be eating out with young tots and babies......definitely family friendly.

Overall, we like it here and will definitely return - a pleasant change from all the big chain hotels....maybe next time we will stay a few nights allowing us time to use the swimming pool and leisure facilities.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alyfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Renfrew
1.1 mi away
Normandy Hotel
Normandy Hotel
#3 of 3 in Renfrew
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,865 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Glasgow Airport
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Glasgow Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Ashtree House Hotel
Ashtree House Hotel
#4 of 9 in Paisley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow Airport
1.1 mi away
Courtyard Glasgow Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glynhill Hotel & Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glynhill Hotel & Leisure Club

Property: The Glynhill Hotel & Leisure Club
Address: 169 Paisley Road, Renfrew PA4 8XB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Renfrewshire > Renfrew
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Renfrew
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Glynhill Hotel & Leisure Club 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This commended 145-bedroom hotel is ideally located only 1 mile from Glasgow International Airport (not in flight path), 5 minutes from Braehead Arena & Shopping Centre, Xscape Leisure Park and 10 minutes from Glasgow city centre. The hotel now boasts 97 rooms of the modern, contemporary club style. A new guest lift has been installed to service 3 floors of bedrooms; facilities also include 3 bars, Carverie, Bistro and Gourmet restaurants with weekend entertainment and an exclusive leisure club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your The Glynhill Hotel & Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glynhill Hotel And Leisure Club
The Glynhill Hotel & Leisure Club Renfrew, Scotland
Glynhill Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing