We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant hotel , lovely reception staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Glynhill Hotel & Leisure Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Glynhill Hotel & Leisure Club
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Renfrew
Kinlochleven, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Brilliant hotel , lovely reception staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here last Thursday 6th June after the original hotel we booked had over booked and sent us here , we are so glad they did lovely hotel , the 2 girls on reception were lovely and friendly , we even received a room upgrade because of the hassle we had from the other hotel , lovely big room , also enjoyed a few drinks sitting on the decking on a lovely sunny evening , will definitely return and won't waste my time booking anywhere else , thanks guys :) xxx

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    293
    184
    93
    88
See reviews for
188
218
39
207
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Booking directly with hotel reservations was quick and easy, and check in on arrival was efficient and friendly. The room was fine - clean and had all the required elements. Free wifi is nice in the room, when many hotels still seem to insist on charging ridiculous amounts for it.

The bathroom was nicely appointed (looked recently refurbed, so I'm not sure why they kept the ancient looking radiator, as it let the room down).

My room was on the second floor at the back of the hotel, overlooking residential gardens, so was nice and quiet. Colleagues elsewhere found it hot (due to lack of air con, and unusual sunny day!) and had trouble sleeping with window open on road side. I was fine with temperature and had the windows closed.

All in all - suited requirements for an 'out of city centre' hotel for nearby business. Room rate was reasonable.

Room Tip: Ask at the back (away from the road) as I would imagine they are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coatbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

well the glynn hill? i stayed at this hotel for two nights for my sisters 60th birthday i had a club room which was a slight bit extra it was worth it? my mum and sister had a standard room it was ok. my room was nice so was the bathroom the down falls were there was a 1 full length mirror and that was it. : but no socket next to it to use a hairdryer or straghtners of my own they did have a hairdryer which was inside the wardrope which was rubbish.The lunch in the hotel was lovely and plenty of it? the dinner the first night was not nice at all no choice soup chicken in a sauce and some kind of cheese cake a disgrace.well the next day breakfast was one big joke we just walked in no one at the door to show us a table i had to take the dirty dishes of the table and also turn the table cloth around and set the table my self and still no one had come over to us.it was a self service breakfast which was not very warm and not a lot of choice we had to ask 4 times for tea and coffee before we got it. more staff is needed.the same night we had dinner which was a lot better thank god.i did not find the staff very helpfull at all from recieption to bar staff and also the dining staff.i will never stay at the glynn hill again.

Room Tip: i would ask for a club room a bit better than standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jinty-55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Stayed over for Hen NIght. Terrible!

We were placed next to a wedding party, remember we were there for a hen night. That poor bride! We also had to walk through her event to get to the loo.

The tribute night consisted of an elderly lady and a man in his 70's with a guitar, playing funeral songs.

Cocktails were served in beer glasses with sticky straws.

When asking for a loo roll from housekeeping, I was advised that I had already been allocated two and would not be given anymore.

The security staff are very very very aggressive.

The Manager (Harry) is full of his own self importance and refused to hear our complaint.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gail W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy B, Manager at The Glynhill Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Thank you for your feedback relating to your stay with us. Please be relieved to hear that we have since had positive feedback from the happy couple. All guests had a marvellous time and were delighted to have been involved in such a special occasion. The tribute act suited their needs perfectly, contributing to what was truly an entertaining and memorable night.

Additionally, we would like to note that our professional security team act to serve the best interests of all our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Renfrew hotels

thisuseridistaken
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed for three nights in an upgraded club room. I couldn't tell you what that extra money got me. It looked like any standard £30 Travelodge.

The first room we had was inexplicably roasting hot the entire time we were in there. We opened the windows, but the traffic noise was too much to get any sleep. In the morning we asked to move to a room at the back of the hotel were there would be less noise so we could open a window. Reception had no problem with this (sounded like they get asked that a lot) and they said they would move our luggage while we were out for the day. Our luggage was not moved and the phone in the new room didn't work so I had to return to reception to track down our luggage. I was not offered an apology or explanation for any of this.

Both rooms we stayed in needed a bit of a tidy up. There were stains on the wall, no grout in the tiles, bulbs needing replacing. But they were both generally clean and the housekeeping staff were good. There was a large and heavy bolster cushion on the bed, which we had to drag off the bed onto the floor each night. It did cross my mind that everyone must do that, and the cushion on your nice clean bed has spent half its life on the floor.

Breakfast felt like you were eating in Kings Cross station. Tables are far too close together, staff were rushing around frantically, bumping into guests on the way. The selection was good, but they ran out of fruit and beans on one morning and didn't seem in a rush to replace them. I've never seen anything like the scrambled egg, It had a very strange foamy marshmallow texture.

The leisure club was OK, it’s a deceptively shallow pool, you can’t see that from the photos and there was a makeshift ‘cubicle’ in the changing rooms fashioned from a shower curtain rail tied to the celling with string. The guy in the leisure club was nice, and they did provide the towels.

None of that would have been a big deal for me really, but when it came to the tribute nights I had really had enough.

The nights were on both Friday and Saturday, and because of this we were unable to park at the hotel on either night and had to leave our car in a street and walk back. The tribute nights do not end until 1am and they offer a special cheap deal to stay over afterwards, meaning that lots and lots of drunk people fill the hotel corridors from 1am until around 3am singing, arguing and shouting.

Overall I was really disappointed with this stay, after looking at the website I thought this was going to be a really lovely place. We only got a few hours sleep the entire time we were there. If you read the other reviews, the people who had a great time visited for a party, or a tribute night. The business and holiday visitors aren't so keen. That says it all really.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thisuseridistaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

I am a teacher and have just returned home from our P7s trip. We stayed at this hotel and it was absolutely excellent.
Meal times the service was excellent- 43 kids and the staff were all paient with them and efficient! The food was fantastic quality and the staff couldn't do enough for us.

The children were able to use the pool- which they loved!

The rooms were lovely and cleaned every day-only complaint here is that the rooms were roasting and the heat could be quite uncomfortable.

I was so impressed with this hotel and the children all felt like it was a real treat to stay somewhere so brilliant.

Thank you so much for everything

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank linzi1985uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleetwood, Lancashire
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

It's a busy hotel is Glynhill Leisure, and for good reason. The rooms are very well appointed, with clean bathrooms and immaculate bedding. Ample room for business people to conduct their work as well.

Then there's the bar and restaurants. More than one restaurant too. The main one I did not visit, however the Grill at Glynhill not only has an excellent carvery in the evening, but doubles as the breakfast room in the mornings. The buffet style breakfast is always hot and well stocked, despite how busy the hotel gets. All guests are catered well for too, with traditional cooked food alongside cold cuts and croissants.

I look forward to my next business trip to Scotland.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Chris1968_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Renfrew
Normandy Hotel
#3 of 3 in Renfrew
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ashtree House Hotel
#4 of 9 in Paisley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#11 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glynhill Hotel & Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glynhill Hotel & Leisure Club

Property: The Glynhill Hotel & Leisure Club
Address: 169 Paisley Road, Renfrew PA4 8XB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Renfrewshire > Renfrew
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Renfrew
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Glynhill Hotel & Leisure Club 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This commended 145-bedroom hotel is ideally located only 1 mile from Glasgow International Airport (not in flight path), 5 minutes from Braehead Arena & Shopping Centre, Xscape Leisure Park and 10 minutes from Glasgow city centre. The hotel now boasts 97 rooms of the modern, contemporary club style. A new guest lift has been installed to service 3 floors of bedrooms; facilities also include 3 bars, Carverie, Bistro and Gourmet restaurants with weekend entertainment and an exclusive leisure club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Glynhill Hotel & Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glynhill Hotel And Leisure Club
The Glynhill Hotel & Leisure Club Renfrew, Scotland
Glynhill Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing