We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Glynhill Hotel & Leisure Club
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Renfrew
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We just spent a weekend in the Glynhill as part of a function we organised. All the staff involved in organising our function were wonderful. We were regularly checked on during the day to check everything was okay and when we asked for extra things to be done they were done immediately with a smile. Nothing was too much bother. The spa was a great addition. The majority of the food we had was good. Our room was lovely, but the quality of rooms is variable across the hotel as some rooms appear to have a much older decor. The reception staff are lovely and kept our kids entertained despite being very busy! Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room and dont get a room on the first floor over the function room. A couple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank demipowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,041)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

813 - 819 of 1,041 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2012

I stayed at the Glynhill Hotel recently. My double room was clean, tidy and perfectly adequate for a one-night stay. There was satisfactory heating and ventilation, and the en-suite was well equipped. The bed was large (two singles combined) and comfortable and the room, while not having a view (in keeping - I would imagine - with virtually every hotel in the Glasgow area), was quiet. My meal in the Bistro was satisfactory if somewhat overpriced. With one exception, all the staff were friendly, kind and helpful. With its location close to the M8 and airport, it is a very handy, if unexceptional, place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JEREMY A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

My wife and I stayed here at the end of Ooctober 2012 for one night, as part of a 'stay, park and fly' deal. The price was very competetive, and overall we were satisfied with what is clearly a well run operation.
Staff were cheerful, efficient and customer focused, and our only meal, which was breakfast, was fine.
The hotel is on a fairly busy road, a little over five minutes from the airport, but set back from the road, so traffic noise is not a real issue. Overall, the hotel is well furnished, albeit with bedrooms done out in 'minimalist' style, as seems to be the fashion everywhere these days. Public rooms are pleasant and spacious.
Be aware that perhaps the cheapest rooms ( maybe those available for cheap web deals?) may be to the rear of the hotel, and that some of these are above a kitchen area, where there is some noise from plant and machinery, and a large skip sits menacingly below ones window !
We would stay again, but would make sure not to be in one of those rooms if possible.

Room Tip: some rooms to the rear may be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hebridesferryman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed two nights and used it as our base when attending friends wedding nearby. Rooms very nice, huge breakfasts, friendly helpful staff. Enjoyed our stay and will probably use for stopover for early or late flights in future. Room was very hot. Didn't have time to visit spa.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 99blue99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Last night in Scotland after being all up the east coast on business for three nights. I have stayed here before and only had a couple of appointments this side.
Rooms are spaceiouse but a little boreing, very clean.
I was looking forward to dinner remembering how I enjoyed the food before, it was not disapointing if I lived local I would probably choose this restaurant for the quality of the food and the friendly service.
I will stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnSTaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

I visited The Grill for Sunday lunch today and was pleasantly suprised at the updated decor as I had not eaten in The Glynhill for a few years despite residing close by as it had always been a bit old fashioned.Whilst a carverie is not what I would usually choose to dine at, I was pleasantly surprised by the food which was all very good and all looked fresh and appetising. All of our party thoroughly enjoyed the food

What spoilt the experience was the complete lack of service. Now given that for the most part , a carverie is self service, the waiting staff have less variables than in a regular restaurant to contend with. Despite this, the simple tasks of clearing dishes away ( and we did wait a good 20 minutes...)and that customers were not in need of anything was way beyond their capabilities or concern. All customers with tables in our section resorted to clearing their own dishes and glasses onto an empty table so they could proceed with their meals. It seemed that once the initial drinks and bread were served, it was as if we ceased to exist. In the three hours we must have had one member of staff venture into our area. Not once did someone ask us if we needed more drinks, water or even if everything was ok. Had the staff been rushed off their feet one would feel sympathetic but for most of the time they were either just not there or were ignoring the customers ( and the ever increasing pile of dirty dishes). The most attentiveness awarded to customers were as they were leaving which seems to underline the impression that diners are a necessary nuisance and that the staff were eager to get them out from underfoot.

It is such a shame, as if the hospitality could be addressed (and it is such a simple thing to do, which is what is so frustrating) then this would be a handy place to patron.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daisym0100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

3 night stay, nice spacious room. Some noise from traffic throughout the night and Thusday is music night in Harry's bar but not too late. Bed comfortable, bathroom and shower good. Leisure facilities elevates this hotel in our view, very relaxing after a long journey. Breakfast first class with lots of choice. Staff throughout were welcoming and very helpful. Hotel easy to find straight off the M8 and an easy drive into the centre of Glasgow or Braehead shopping centre/arena.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VikingDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Renfrew
Normandy Hotel
#3 of 3 in Renfrew
2,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow
#45 of 93 in Glasgow
2,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glynhill Hotel & Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glynhill Hotel & Leisure Club

Address: 169 Paisley Road, Renfrew PA4 8XB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Renfrewshire > Renfrew
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Renfrew
Price Range: $87 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Glynhill Hotel & Leisure Club 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This commended 145-bedroom hotel is ideally located only 1 mile from Glasgow International Airport (not in flight path), 5 minutes from Braehead Arena & Shopping Centre, Xscape Leisure Park and 10 minutes from Glasgow city centre. The hotel now boasts 97 rooms of the modern, contemporary club style. A new guest lift has been installed to service 3 floors of bedrooms; facilities also include 3 bars, Carverie, Bistro and Gourmet restaurants with weekend entertainment and an exclusive leisure club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Glynhill Hotel & Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glynhill Hotel And Leisure Club
The Glynhill Hotel & Leisure Club Renfrew, Scotland
Glynhill Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing