We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT a good Deal!”
Review of Normandy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Normandy Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Renfrew
Reviewed August 5, 2009

We were quoted a 37GBP/night (inclusive of VAT) charge. We stayed in the world's smallest room (which WAS a "signature" upgraded room). The door looked as though it had been forced open. A hotel employee walked in on me while I was in the bathroom. Evidently the attached conference center hosts functions and concerts until around 3 or 4am.. and the drinking and loud, crude behavior continues in the parking lot until all hours of the morning. The food was not included in the rate quoted, and when we checked out we were charged over 90GBP for 1 horrible night's stay. (They stated that since there was more than 1 of us in the room, we each had to pay the single occupancy rate plus breakfast).
This should be the cheapest hotel in scotland.. but instead it was VERY expensive considering how much was compromised in the quality of the stay

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darlinmace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,229)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,152 - 2,158 of 2,230 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2009

The room was very small. There were a lot of holes in the walls. The shower leaks on the bathroom floor because the curtain does not go all the way around it. My husband's bed was like a board. Mine was OK, not too comfortable but somewhat soft. The hotel is very close to the airport and offers a free shuttle service. They have free Internet in the lobby and pay-per-use in the rooms. They charge for local calls. Just a basic room. Not all that pretty.

Waitress at the restaurant did not know a hole lot about the menu. Very frustrating. She was not all that helpful. The rest of the restaurant staff were wonderful. Meals were fairly good.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripreviewer98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2009

Stayed here for four days last week. This is very much an airport hotel whose business is supplemented by hosting 'Tribute' acts in their conference facilites.
The room I stayed in had only secondary glazing and was in serious need of redecoration, although it was pretty clean. The kettle lip was broken and the door had obliously been forced and repaired sometime in the past.
Some mornings were very noisy with guests heading to the airport from 4am.
If you're heading for the airport this place would be ok if you can't find anything cheaper.
If you're looking for somewhere while working in Renfrew or around, the friendly and efficent staff don't make up for a delapidated, noisy and expensive hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Druagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2009

On arriving at hotel was not informed that we were unable to have the Signature room we had booked and paid for ten days prior to our stay. Were given key to room and on entering room could see it was in desperate need of decoration. Enquired at reception as to whether this was a Signature room we were informed with no appology that there were no Signature rooms available as there were many guests and they had asked for upgrades and had been given them. I explained to the receptionist that this was unacceptable as we had booked and paid for an upgraded Signature room although the receptionist presumed we were just going to accept this explaination we were far from happy and demanded something be done. Eventually we were given a refund of the extra we paid. This did not really compensate for the grubby room we had to sleep in overnight and we would never stay there again and would certainly never recommend it to friends. I noticed on today Cosmopolitan Hotels website today that they are advertising all rooms are Signature rooms but I can assure anyone reading this it is definately not true. Apart from the grubby rooms the seating and flooring in the lounge and bar area was was very dirty and stained. Extremely disappointed with our stay but fortunately went on to enjoy a lovely holiday abroad.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holidymakerFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2009

We booked an overnight with parking deal for 4 adults. This included Dinner, Bed and Breakfast, and up to 16 days parking. We were off on a short break to Paris. It cost us £37 each.

Okay, the hotel is not pretty, but the service was good and the food too. The bathroom had had a patchy makover, but the shower worked well. A minibus ran us to the airport and collected us on our return and the car was parked in a secure (ish) area.

Whatever way you look at it it was amazing value for this day and age!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank XMPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2009

dreaded staying here after reading reviews about it,but i dont know what folk complain about,we stayed one night 28 may for a morning flight to menorca,good room with a great view of planes coming in to land,room was clean,lovely solid wooden bunk beds,would stop over again.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weeang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2009

We only stayed here for one night before getting up to catch a plane at the airport the next day to Orlando. I was checking up on this website a week or two before our stay and it was all thumbs down,saying rubbish like "so filthy" and "complete dump". I found it was very pleasant. It wasnt singing & all danncing because as i was the the youngest of the group as im an early teen, it was quite boring, But hey i was exited, i mean i was off on my hols the next day! But it was enough. People were friendly, it was clean and tidy and at least its someehere to get your head down for the night!!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank orlando_luver_gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Renfrew
1.1 mi away
The Glynhill Hotel & Leisure Club
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Glasgow Airport
1.7 mi away
Travelodge Glasgow Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Glasgow Braehead
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Glasgow Airport
2.9 mi away
Erskine Bridge Hotel
Erskine Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Erskine
1,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Normandy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Normandy Hotel

Address: Inchinnan Road | 0.5 miles from Glasgow International Airport, Renfrew PA4 9EJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Renfrewshire > Renfrew
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Renfrew
Price Range: $49 - $1,103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Normandy Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel located next to the River Cart in Renfrew, 2 minutes from Glasgow airport. Secure Parking for over 800 vehicles on site.All covered with security fencing ,CCTV and manned patrols. Courtesy transport to and from Glasgow Airport & Award winning "Steaks N Stuff" restaurant. Full free Wi-Fi facilities throughout the hotel bedrooms and meeting rooms.Natural Heritage site located within the grounds of the hotel and 5 minutes drive from X-scsape leisure centre & Braehead shopping Mall.Ample facilities for wedding events,private functions,meeting rooms and complimentary tickets to partner Gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Normandy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Normandy Hotel Renfrew, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing