We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1 night ---enough!!!!!”
Review of Normandy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Normandy Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Renfrew
home
Level Contributor
295 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“1 night ---enough!!!!!”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

stayed here- since our flight was early a.m. check in was o.k. -nice receptionist, our room was very sparse and in need of a good make over -- even if prob. most guests only stay on route to the airport they could be more welcoming.- the bed was so flat -every time we moved it "pinged"
We had to eat there, lunch soup /sandwich-just o.k.-evening meal fine but a bit pricey for fish&chips £12 95
We asked for an early a.m. call-- but didn't need it -since there were lots of Hen Parties going on,fair enough but when they set off the fire alarm at 2a.m. and the whole place is evacuated because of one thoughtless person-- not good.
We were also very concerned by the way this fire evac.was conducted-- nearly everyone gathered on the hotel steps-- where is the assembly point -there was no instruction from staff!_as to where we should be.-Fortuntely this was not seorius but could have been._ .Lessons to be learned!!!!
Don't think we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Request to be far away from the "Hen Nights" parties.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janiceHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,915 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    464
    595
    399
    217
    240
See reviews for
331
993
78
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tarbert, Scotland
Level Contributor
137 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

OK, so this was just a stop-over before flying out in the morning but what a let down. We have tried three other hotels around Glasgow Airport but this is the worst. Room small but adequate and clean enough. Rest of the hotel so dated and by the looks of it overly relient on weddings and hen nights. One lift broken the other on its last legs. Bar prices expensive, We had a Gin & tonic and a pint of lager twice. The second time the price had gone up 90p. When I pointed this out a till recipt was printed and slapped in front of me and not a word said. Staff all a bit surly except minibus driver on the way to the airport - she was grand - cannot say the same for the way back. Price was fair for a room and leaving the car for a week but I will not use this one again until it is demolished and rebuilt. We left too early for breakfast so no comment on the food.

Room Tip: Location scores high because it is near the airport, it is not handy for anywhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Captainfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Renfrew hotels

Musselburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Booked a night stay on 28 May 2014 with airport parking. On arrival hotel looked rough. Room ok but bed terrible, cheap mattress, felt ever spring, no mattress protector. Hotel corridors were dirty. Bar area was busy and not enough staff clearing up or serving, only on girl on bar. Pick up from airport took 1 hour 10 minutes to arrive, after 8 and a half hour flight. When I complained at reception, I was told that there was two buses out for pick ups. This was a lie as the other bus was in the garage and the second bus they were using was not allowed in the airport. I would never recommend this service to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juliehamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSPurewal, Front Office Manager at Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Dear Guest

We thank you for your feed back in regards to your stay.

We are in the process of a refurbishment programme and we take on board all our guests comments as this will help us improve.

We apologise for the length of time for your journey back and we are looking in to this.

regards

Karin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Stayed here before our family holiday to Florida. Nice hotel clean and helpful staff. Breakfast good.

I had a scary experience with the lifts with my small child and in laws we got in the lift pressed for floor and it didn't move non of buttons worked and door wouldnt open was on for a good ten minutes at which time my little boy was getting upset. Finally doors opened and we where still on ground floor. Had to struggle up stairs with buggy as he wouldn't get in the other one

Also when returned to collect my shiny previously washed black car I was presented with something that represented a rally car mud splattered all up both sides.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Needhamholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSPurewal, Front Office Manager at Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
dear Guest

We thank you for feed back in regards to your reent stay.

We are introducing a new system in regards to our cars. Due to bad weather recently the heavy rain as resulted in some mud patches in our car park.

We hope this does not deter you from staying with us again.

regards

karin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arbroath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Nice friendly staff at check in, rooms a bit dated but clean. Went for a meal in dining room service very slow but food was good. Transfer back from airport a shambles had to wait about 1/2hr on mini bus coming to pick us up. Good price for room and parking. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Norrie1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSPurewal, Front Office Manager at Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Dear Guest

We thank you for taking the time to feed back in regards to your stay.

We strive to deliver the best to all our guests.

We hope to welcome you back again very soon.

regards

karin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

You get what you pay for with this hotel. Our room was plain nasty. Looked like something out of the eighties, outdated , tiny, no alarm clock, unused light fittings that had not been removed correctly, kettle over a rollaway kids bed. I could go on. Transfers were a shambles, coming back arrogant people jumped the queue into the bus ahead of us, splitting our party with children up. The driver did zip to help, really have no intention of staying here again, even if its cheap.

Helpful?
1 Thank Dean O
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
PSPurewal, Front Office Manager at Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Dear Guest

We thank you for your feed back.

We are in the process of a refurbishment throughout the hotel.

We will pass all comments to our team and instruct further training.

regards

karin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kilwinning, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Stayed at the Normandy hotel overnight before our holiday to Mexico, already knew about the hotel as we have been to the tribute nights on a Saturday night, so we already knew about the wonderful staff, very good food and comfortable rooms. We were not disappointed and parking facilities were as good as we have used in the past. I would recommend this hotel to travellers without hesitation as the price was more than competitive. Many thanks again to all at the Normandy.

Room Tip: Never had anything else but a good night's sleep at this hotel and have got no complaints about...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSPurewal, Front Office Manager at Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
dear guest

We thank you for taking the time to feed back on your recent stay at the Normandy.

We strive to deliver the best to all our guests.

We will ensure all your comments are passed to the teams.

We look forward to welcome you back at the hotel very soon.

regards

Karin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Renfrew
1.1 mi away
The Glynhill Hotel & Leisure Club
2.9 mi away
Erskine Bridge Hotel
Erskine Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Erskine
1,320 reviews
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Glasgow Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow Airport
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Glasgow Airport
1.7 mi away
Travelodge Glasgow Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Normandy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Normandy Hotel

Property: Normandy Hotel
Address: Inchinnan Road, Renfrew PA4 9EJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Renfrewshire > Renfrew
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Renfrew
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Normandy Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel located next to the River Cart in Renfrew, 2 minutes from Glasgow airport. Secure Parking for over 800 vehicles on site.All covered with security fencing ,CCTV and manned patrols. Courtesy transport to and from Glasgow Airport & Award winning "Steaks N Stuff" restaurant. Full free Wi-Fi facilities throughout the hotel bedrooms and meeting rooms.Natural Heritage site located within the grounds of the hotel and 5 minutes drive from X-scsape leisure centre & Braehead shopping Mall.Ample facilities for wedding events,private functions,meeting rooms and complimentary tickets to partner Gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Normandy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Normandy Hotel Renfrew, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing