We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What has changed?”
Review of Normandy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Normandy Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Renfrew
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We have used this hotel a few times before flying from Glasgow. It's location is great for the airport (<5 min). We booked in a week past Friday before flying early doors Saturday morning. Reception/welcome was fine and quick, I parked the car and ended up in a muddy field. The place was busy in March and for the first time had to park in the overflow car park. Normandy - time to invest in proper car park surface/hard standing throughout. We dropped the cases off in our room and headed for the bar and time for a beer and food. We'll things have changed.......£4.90 for a pint of San Miguel?????? C'mon? We went to order food and there is now a limited bar menu with a reduced amount of choice. We ended up having a pizza and garlic bread. It was ok. The staff in the bar were inattentive, slow and appeared disinterested. In the morning the transfer driver was bright and friendly (bar staff take note). We will probably try a closer airport hotel within walking distance.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Benny25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSPurewal, General Manager at Normandy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Dear Benny,

Thank you for your feedback.

Our premium beers often have premium prices attached.

We would like to point out that we still have Carlsberg at 3.60 per pint ,which - pound for pound -sits well below most airport campus hotels.

We are also in the middle of completing a Normandy Training School for Service Excellence which enables our managers to take on an Assesor level of Qualification.
This, will no doubt deliver an exceptionally high level of standard for the benefit of all our future guests.

For the meantime, I have noticed you have submitted some very positive reviews in the past and thank-you for your loyalty.

kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,189)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,608 - 1,614 of 2,190 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2014

I feel the Normandy hotel is good value for money, we have stayed there on numerous occasions when we have an early flight to catch. They run a drop off and pick up service to Glasgow Airport. This service is Included in the price of your overnight stay, also included is parking for your car. I think its great value for money, the staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and tidy, tea and coffee is provided as well as a television in each room.
I have never had a problem with drop off or pick up, never had to wait very long to be picked up on our return. I don't feel that I need to try anywhere else as the Normandy presses all the right buttons. The rooms are compact but it is an over night stay and are perfectly adequate.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank ianball8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Must have got the smallest room in the hotel. With luggage we had to move the furniture to get in and out of bed.With three weeks parking thrown in for the price of an overnight stay its great value. Reception a bit slow on checking out. Basically hotel is a bit dated, but for one night it's ok.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gastronaut_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSPurewal, Front Office Manager at Normandy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2014

Dear Guest

We thank you for your recent feed back in regards to your stay at the Normandy.

We hope to welcome you back again very soon

regards

Karin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We have stayed at the Normandy a few times now and have been very satisfied with our stay. The advantage of having up to 15 days on site parking, staying overnight and transport to the airport and back on our return from holiday is recommended.

Room Tip: Any room we have stayed in has been quiet and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank danzo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Came here for an overnight stay before our holiday went on our holiday came back and that's when the trouble started right were do I start phoned the Normandy hotel to pick up rang four times for us to b picked up 45mins later the mini bus arrived it was cold and raining that day was not amused the lady driver who picked us up had said he should of picked us up before he clocked of and that was not nice so due to this one part of the group members ended up in bed for a week due to the weather as we were waiting for the taxi we put a complaint in to say they would get back to me regarding this matter today I receive a call from someone named Julie 27/3/14 today saying told me the bus was of the road for a m.o.t which we were not informed by any member of a staff at the Normandy hotel when we was ment to b picked up seems to b after the conversation today with this women on the telephone the transfer is just a courtiuos provision from them so more than less if they don't turn up for you they couldn't careless that's how it came across on the phone to me I don't recommend anyone or envy body to stay there

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank blackwidow747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Second time in Glasgow, hotels full due to a conference, reviews for Normandy Hotel positive, thought we would give them ago and check them out for our next trip. Great reception, room very clean, staff in the restaurant very pleasant, dinner well priced, pulled back the sheets to get into bad and no mattress protector......... Rang reception was informed mattress protectors are put on single and double beds, not on king size. Discussed receptionist at check out and was told she would discuss it with house keeping. Please Normandy Hotel sort this out it lets you down.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Penny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSPurewal, General Manager at Normandy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear Penny D,

Thanks for the feedback.

We are extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed most aspects of our hotel and wish to advise you that mattress protectors for ALL our KINGSIZE beds have been sourced as of today.

We hope to welcome you back to advantage of our new bed linen.

kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Stayed overnight with one weeks car parking on 13th March and have nothing negative to say despite reading previous reviews and dreading this!! Room was fine okay a bit small but we were only sleeping in it and it was clean and functional! Went down for a meal and what a fab meal it was helped by the friendly and very accommodating staff-thank you! Pick up in the morning was straight forward and again enjoyable thanks to our lady driver! Arrival back to Glasgow and collection -no prob!! So would I recommend and use The Normandy again-of course I would! Thanks 2 all staff!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elaine-Ayr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Renfrew
1.1 mi away
The Glynhill Hotel & Leisure Club
1.7 mi away
Travelodge Glasgow Airport
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Glasgow Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Glasgow Braehead
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Glasgow Airport
2.9 mi away
Erskine Bridge Hotel
Erskine Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Erskine
1,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Normandy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Normandy Hotel

Address: Inchinnan Road | 0.5 miles from Glasgow International Airport, Renfrew PA4 9EJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Renfrewshire > Renfrew
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Renfrew
Price Range: $43 - $1,065 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Normandy Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel located next to the River Cart in Renfrew, 2 minutes from Glasgow airport. Secure Parking for over 800 vehicles on site.All covered with security fencing ,CCTV and manned patrols. Courtesy transport to and from Glasgow Airport & Award winning "Steaks N Stuff" restaurant. Full free Wi-Fi facilities throughout the hotel bedrooms and meeting rooms.Natural Heritage site located within the grounds of the hotel and 5 minutes drive from X-scsape leisure centre & Braehead shopping Mall.Ample facilities for wedding events,private functions,meeting rooms and complimentary tickets to partner Gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Normandy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Normandy Hotel Renfrew, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing