We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy for the airport”
Review of Normandy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Normandy Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Renfrew
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We have used the Normandy many times (4 in the previous 8 months) for the night before a flight, and then leave the car there while away. Normally it is late on at night when we get there and early morning before we leave. This time however, we travelled down on Sunday and arrived there early. Was most disappointed with what we found. First Impressions mean a lot and to be faced with not one, but two overflowing bins at the front door was just the start of a memorable stay, but not in a good sense. We had made plans to eat out earlier in the day, and got back tot he hotel just before 8pm. The bed was firm to say the least. This is not a problem for me though, as this is the way I like my bed. What I didn't appreciate was the hair grip left from a previous occupant in the room which I stood on and it became embedde d in my foot. Not one to make a drama out of a crIsis, I stemmed the blood flow and left it at that. Going down for breakfast! we noticed that one of the bins had been emptied! but the other was still full! and there were cigarette bins which looked as if they hadn't been emptied for months. Litter still lying about all over the front of the hotel was just shocking. Breakfast was to say the least poor. Being a Scottish hotel I expected more than just square sausage, but heard that on Monday there is a wait for deliveries, so no potato scones, black pudding, haggis or mushrooms. Why should is be? It is beyond me. Anyway, Normandy hotel, you had better CLEAN your act up if you want me to visit again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BillyW897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,255)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,748 - 1,754 of 2,255 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2013

Booked overnight stay here before recent early morning flight from Glasgow airport. Very close to airport and offers secure parking and shuttle bus transfers. On the night we arrived there were 2 functions taking place in the hotel and first problem we had was finding parking space for our car. There were cars abandobed everywhere. One of the functions was an 18th birthday party, and we were allocated a room above the function room, albeit on 3rd floor but we could not only here the music, but feel the base through the floor and walls. The rooms are very old and tired and also dark and dingy, carpet felt sticky underfoot. En suite was bright and clean. We complained about noise but nothing was done and we just had to listen to it until about 1.30am -not ideal when u have a 5am wake up call. Secure car parking is behind the hotel and shuttle bus took us to airport on morning of flight. On our return we were given a number to call for pick up at airport, however on going to bus stand found about 20 couples all waiting for same transfer. We phoned them again and told us they only had one shuttle bus running, so we would just have to wait our turn!! We ended up paying for taxi to take us back to hotel for car or we would have waited over an hour at airport. I made complaint to on duty manager who appeared totally disinterested. I asked for a comnent sheet to complete and was given a hotel "with compliments" slip, NEVER again!!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimborob30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Hotel no problem early start breakfast in room very good, on return journey 20+ people waiting in the Freezing Cold over half an Hour as the Bus only takes 8people at a time Sorry But we wont be staying their AGAIN...

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank james k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

stayed here one night ...thank god it was only one night ,the bed was the most uncomfortable bed i have ever slept in anywhere....the meal i had was good and the breakfast was plentiful and very goodif the food had not been so good i would have given this hotel a poor rating
i can guarentee the matress was well sprung...i felt every one of them

Room Tip: if you want a good nights sleep pick another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samcam10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSPurewal, Front Office Manager at Normandy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

Dear Guest

We thank you for your recent feed back.

We have now started a refurbishment within the hotel and we are sourcing new Bedroom furniture for our rooms. We have since completed full double glazed windows.

I hope this stay will not deter you from returning and i hope to welcome you back again soon.

best regards

karin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here like have have done many times for about 10 years the night before an early flight , got checked in ok , waited nearly an hour too get our car checked it which we didn't understand as there were a lot of staff around . We later asked if we could have our breakfast in our room at 6.30 as we were leaving at 7 when the breakfast starts , finally got the breakfast !! Down stairs to wait for our bus for the airport to be met with broken glasses everywhere , there was even full glasses of wine sitting in the toilets & not forgetting the man in his tux clearly for the night before on on of the sofas in reception sound asleep !! The bus for the airport didn't turn up till 7.25 which isn't good when ur catching a flight , not impressed at all after all the years I can't imagine we will return

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSPurewal, Front Office Manager at Normandy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

Dear Guest

We thank you for your recent feed back in regards to your stay at the hotel.

We are disappointed to hear of the issues that occured throughout this stay.

We would like to take this opportunity to apologise. We will pass all comments to the team and esnure these issues do not occur again.

regards

karin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I know im a bit late in writing this but well here goes we stayed here last December it was my works xmas party big crowd of us . We couldn't get into our rooms until 2pm but we didnt mind as we sat in the lounge and had a drink most of the group have stayed here on many occasions but for some it was our first time. Rooms were really spacious and clean with comfy bed and flat screen tv. Very handy for airport infact I could see the runway from my window, meal was fantasticwith it being a tribute night of the drifters it was very busy but staff where very quick to serve everybody with their meal before entertainment started. Breakfast was also busy next morning a few of the group had to wait 30mins for a table that I was disappointed with as I have never experienced that in any other hotel before but above all we did have a fantastic night and we are booked back up for this xmas night out in a few weeks time would recommend this hotel for anoovernight ..

Room Tip: Rooms at back look onto the runway of planes landing can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank l0uise24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSPurewal, Front Office Manager at Normandy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for your feed back from your stay.

We hope we can welcome you back again very soon

regards


karin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Stayed at the Normandy Hotel for 1 night & was happy with the room which was spotless & the Dinner was very good but on our return to Glasgow Airport yesterday we found that there was 26 passengers awaiting the mini bus. Many of the other passengers were extremely unhappy to find that only one bus was running which could only accommodate 8 people so of course we had a long wait which is unacceptable. Seemingly there are other mini buses but didn't have any other drivers at this time. Doubt if we will return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank christinejlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSPurewal, Front Office Manager at Normandy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

Dear guest

We thank you for you kind comments in regards to your recent stay with us.

We understand that there was a delay in return service from the airport and we would like to apologise for this. We will look in to better ways as to improve this.

We hope that this will not deter you from staying with us again.

regards

karin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Renfrew
1.1 mi away
The Glynhill Hotel & Leisure Club
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Glasgow Airport
1.7 mi away
Travelodge Glasgow Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Glasgow Airport
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Glasgow Braehead
2.9 mi away
Erskine Bridge Hotel
Erskine Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Erskine
1,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Normandy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Normandy Hotel

Address: Inchinnan Road | 0.5 miles from Glasgow International Airport, Renfrew PA4 9EJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Renfrewshire > Renfrew
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Renfrew
Price Range: $51 - $1,126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Normandy Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel located next to the River Cart in Renfrew, 2 minutes from Glasgow airport. Secure Parking for over 800 vehicles on site.All covered with security fencing ,CCTV and manned patrols. Courtesy transport to and from Glasgow Airport & Award winning "Steaks N Stuff" restaurant. Full free Wi-Fi facilities throughout the hotel bedrooms and meeting rooms.Natural Heritage site located within the grounds of the hotel and 5 minutes drive from X-scsape leisure centre & Braehead shopping Mall.Ample facilities for wedding events,private functions,meeting rooms and complimentary tickets to partner Gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Normandy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Normandy Hotel Renfrew, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing