We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CRUMBLING OLD HOTEL - DO NOT ENTER”
Review of Normandy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Normandy Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Renfrew
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“CRUMBLING OLD HOTEL - DO NOT ENTER”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

I attended the Grease tribute act here and stayed overnight which was a big mistake.

Be warned!

Here are the reasons:- (I will try to be polite)

My first impression I felt terrified entering the corridors searching for my room and
most locks were "busted" - one had a padlock - a hole and no lock - doors decked in - bashed at the bottom. Smelly damp aroma everywhere.

Filthy carpets, old fashioned double glazed windows that you slide and condensation seeps in
One of the windows cracked at the top - mould to be seen.

Cups and spoons dirty in room, hairs on bed, several chunks of wallpaper torn off, pen marks on walls and also table, thick dust everywhere - I had to dust the fan in bathroom as unbearable to look at, kettle broken, noise levels very loud - walls are paper thin and you hear everything as people have windows open - I could even hear text messages and normal conversations!

I noticed the locals did not stay overnight after the tribute act which gives everyone a big clue!

Breakfast - not much there - don't know about the reviewer who seen 30 items.

I had cereal from a tiny box, fruit which was tastless and toast and beans which were defo not Heinz as watered down and horrible.

No pyjamas sign at breakfast in the morning speaks volumes of the type of people!

Grease tribute act rubbish - out of tune, speakers not working in room, couple looked nothing like Sandy and Danny - English accents and I felt most of the audience knew the words better than they did and sounded better - very disappointing.

Cars did not look safe in the "secure" car park at the back of the hotel - gates were open so I could see them when I went for out for fresh air.

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Incidentally did not get any sleep - asked reception for a quieter room but fully booked - so fustrating after working long shifts and hoping to get some rest.

Also I had to use my small hot water bottle as felt freezing - but as some reviewers have pointed out the heating then does become unbearable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Murdina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSPurewal, General Manager at Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Guest

We thank you for your recent feed back. Can I please ask that you contact the Hotel directly in regards to your recent stay.

regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,951 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    478
    608
    405
    218
    242
See reviews for
339
1,013
81
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We booked an overnight family room before flying from Glasgow Airport.

Check-in was quick and then we got our car booked in for the inclusive parking for when we were away. Again quick and the staff were helpful and friendly.

The room we had was very large consisting of a double bed and a set of bunk beds for the kids. Ideal. The bathroom was nice and clean and there were loads of clean towels.

On to the bad points though and the heat in the room was unbelievable. There was a huge radiator by the side of the room which was on full with no control to turn it down, no thermostat in the room either to control the heat.

The beds were rock solid too and every so often in the night there was a loud gurgling noise (possibly the pipes?) so all in all got very little sleep.

Breakfast in the morning was good - buffet style with continental and cooked options - again staff nice and friendly

Transfer to the airport was quick and efficent (both ways)

Overall though I wont go back as the whole point of our stay was to be nice and relaxed for travelling the following day but that was not the case due to the issues we had with the room.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AGM7819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSPurewal, General Manager at Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear guest

We would like to thank you for your recent feed back during your stay with us.

Your kind comments will be passed to our team. We are under going some refurbishment in the future and your comments will be taken on board to help us ensure the quality for our guests.

We do hope you will visit the hotel again in the near future.

regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Renfrew hotels

Paisley, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Myself and my husband came to this hotel for an Abba tribute night and took the package deal with bed and breakfast. Reception staff lovely, room basic, bed comfortable. Heat in room unbearable, no heat controls or way of getting window open. Meal edible, just. what made the night was the staff ensured everyone had a great night. Abba tribute and disco good. Expensive for drinks. Breakfast staff lovely and breakfast good. Wouldnt go again on account of unbearable heat, sweat lashing of us and sore heads.

Room Tip: Ask for heating to be turned down in room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSPurewal, General Manager at Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear guest

We would like thank you for your recent feed back in regards to your stay at the hotel. Your kind comments will be passed to our operations Team.

regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We booked a room for one night before catching a flight in the morning. Helpful, friendly and efficient check-in staff, clean and comfortable room. Breakfast was excellent with a choice of more than thirty items. Secure parking for our car. Would not hesitate to do this again and to recommend to family and friends. So much cheaper, much more pleasant than simply leaving car in airpark.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buzbomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSPurewal, General Manager at Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for your recent feed back in regards to your stay with us.

We strive to deliver the best customer service at all times and we are glad we did so on this occassion.

We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the future.

regards

Karin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penicuik, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We booked a room for one night before our flight in morning, check in was friendly No mention of can we help you to your room with cases even when she seen wife was with stick, the room was small,one pane of the secondary was missing,very dull lighting,Had to return to reception to book in car as porter not there at book in.
we retired to bed after being in and out of the room on a few occasions at approx 515/530 am we were both rudly awaken by the room door opening I got up to see what was going on but never seen anyone but my travel bag was open did not remember opening it. In the morning we went down for breakfast which was cold, when we went to the reception to pay the bill the girl ask if we had lost anything we said not that we knew off she then produced our travel wallet containing tickets,passports, dollars, etc she said that the porter had found it while doing his rounds at 530am in the corridor out side my room we were in such a hurry to get to the airport I thank her and left the porter a tip for his honesty?? on returning we waited 1/2 hour for the mini van to pick us up at airport so much for there 5 /10 min wait, I wanted to speak to the manager about this but as it was early morning he was not in so I sent email outlining what happened got a cheeky answer "If he thinks there was wrong doing contact the police" hotel would not look into it would NOT recommend to anyone

Room Tip: Don't book in, Go elsewhere, pay extra few pounds for decent safe place
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 105686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

I booked a double room for the night to catch a flight at the nearby Glasgow Airport. Check-in was friendly but we were given next to no info about hotel facilities, or even directions to our room!

The room itself looked lovely on arrival, sporting a large double bed and bath. Closer inspection revealed a few problems - large cobwebs & black scuffs over the walls, hairdryer not working, etc.

We dined in the hotel's restaurant. The staff were attentive and friendly but the food quality was less than stellar. Frozen chips & chewy burgers at premium prices!

All in all for the price (£50.00 room only) I'd definitely stay again if I was going to Glasgow Airport. Based on my experiences though I wouldn't recommend it for an extended stay :) props to all the staff though

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Inu_Rayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

hotel was full for darts weekend so obviously supply and demand comes into play but £92 per night for box room about 10 feet by 8 feet is utter disgrace. Bathroom better but a plastic sheet to keep water in bath from shower does not work.Staff at reception very unhelpful, asked for cash back but was told it stopped at 3pm.

Room Tip: do not take room nearest lifts as noise can go on well into early hours
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stanley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSPurewal, General Manager at Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear guest

We thank you for your recent feed back during your stay at the Normandy Hotel. We strive to deliver the best customer service to all our guests.

We are disappointed to hear at this time you did not enjoy your stay. As you know we were extremley busy during this weekend and had time levels throughout the weekend to suit all our guests.

I have instructed further training within the departments to ensure that these issues do not happen again.

regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Renfrew
1.1 mi away
The Glynhill Hotel & Leisure Club
2.9 mi away
Erskine Bridge Hotel
Erskine Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Erskine
1,344 reviews
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Glasgow Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Glasgow Airport
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow Airport
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Glasgow Braehead
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Normandy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Normandy Hotel

Property: Normandy Hotel
Address: Inchinnan Road, Renfrew PA4 9EJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Renfrewshire > Renfrew
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Renfrew
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Normandy Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel located next to the River Cart in Renfrew, 2 minutes from Glasgow airport. Secure Parking for over 800 vehicles on site.All covered with security fencing ,CCTV and manned patrols. Courtesy transport to and from Glasgow Airport & Award winning "Steaks N Stuff" restaurant. Full free Wi-Fi facilities throughout the hotel bedrooms and meeting rooms.Natural Heritage site located within the grounds of the hotel and 5 minutes drive from X-scsape leisure centre & Braehead shopping Mall.Ample facilities for wedding events,private functions,meeting rooms and complimentary tickets to partner Gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Normandy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Normandy Hotel Renfrew, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing