We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our experience of Normandy Hotel”
Review of Normandy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Normandy Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Renfrew
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Myself and my husband came to this hotel for an Abba tribute night and took the package deal with bed and breakfast. Reception staff lovely, room basic, bed comfortable. Heat in room unbearable, no heat controls or way of getting window open. Meal edible, just. what made the night was the staff ensured everyone had a great night. Abba tribute and disco good. Expensive for drinks. Breakfast staff lovely and breakfast good. Wouldnt go again on account of unbearable heat, sweat lashing of us and sore heads.

Room Tip: Ask for heating to be turned down in room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSPurewal, General Manager at Normandy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Dear guest

We would like thank you for your recent feed back in regards to your stay at the hotel. Your kind comments will be passed to our operations Team.

regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,190)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,868 - 1,874 of 2,190 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2013

We booked a room for one night before catching a flight in the morning. Helpful, friendly and efficient check-in staff, clean and comfortable room. Breakfast was excellent with a choice of more than thirty items. Secure parking for our car. Would not hesitate to do this again and to recommend to family and friends. So much cheaper, much more pleasant than simply leaving car in airpark.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buzbomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSPurewal, General Manager at Normandy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for your recent feed back in regards to your stay with us.

We strive to deliver the best customer service at all times and we are glad we did so on this occassion.

We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the future.

regards

Karin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We booked a room for one night before our flight in morning, check in was friendly No mention of can we help you to your room with cases even when she seen wife was with stick, the room was small,one pane of the secondary was missing,very dull lighting,Had to return to reception to book in car as porter not there at book in.
we retired to bed after being in and out of the room on a few occasions at approx 515/530 am we were both rudly awaken by the room door opening I got up to see what was going on but never seen anyone but my travel bag was open did not remember opening it. In the morning we went down for breakfast which was cold, when we went to the reception to pay the bill the girl ask if we had lost anything we said not that we knew off she then produced our travel wallet containing tickets,passports, dollars, etc she said that the porter had found it while doing his rounds at 530am in the corridor out side my room we were in such a hurry to get to the airport I thank her and left the porter a tip for his honesty?? on returning we waited 1/2 hour for the mini van to pick us up at airport so much for there 5 /10 min wait, I wanted to speak to the manager about this but as it was early morning he was not in so I sent email outlining what happened got a cheeky answer "If he thinks there was wrong doing contact the police" hotel would not look into it would NOT recommend to anyone

Room Tip: Don't book in, Go elsewhere, pay extra few pounds for decent safe place
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 105,686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

I booked a double room for the night to catch a flight at the nearby Glasgow Airport. Check-in was friendly but we were given next to no info about hotel facilities, or even directions to our room!

The room itself looked lovely on arrival, sporting a large double bed and bath. Closer inspection revealed a few problems - large cobwebs & black scuffs over the walls, hairdryer not working, etc.

We dined in the hotel's restaurant. The staff were attentive and friendly but the food quality was less than stellar. Frozen chips & chewy burgers at premium prices!

All in all for the price (£50.00 room only) I'd definitely stay again if I was going to Glasgow Airport. Based on my experiences though I wouldn't recommend it for an extended stay :) props to all the staff though

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inu_Rayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

hotel was full for darts weekend so obviously supply and demand comes into play but £92 per night for box room about 10 feet by 8 feet is utter disgrace. Bathroom better but a plastic sheet to keep water in bath from shower does not work.Staff at reception very unhelpful, asked for cash back but was told it stopped at 3pm.

Room Tip: do not take room nearest lifts as noise can go on well into early hours
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stanley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSPurewal, General Manager at Normandy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Dear guest

We thank you for your recent feed back during your stay at the Normandy Hotel. We strive to deliver the best customer service to all our guests.

We are disappointed to hear at this time you did not enjoy your stay. As you know we were extremley busy during this weekend and had time levels throughout the weekend to suit all our guests.

I have instructed further training within the departments to ensure that these issues do not happen again.

regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I booked a twin room as a surprise for a friends birthday as we were already attending a tribute night at the hotel. I had actually went into the hotel and had a discussion wth the staff member about how it was a surprise for a friends birthday and couldn't wait to surprise her with the twin room. We checked in nice and early to make a day of it and have lunch and drinks at hotel,Imagine the dissapoinment when we opened the door to a dull, tiny double bed room. (Nothing like the gallery pictures of a bright spacious room shown on their website). Not only wasn't a twin as requested but when contacted reception they had no other rooms to change us to another room either. Totally ruined the birthday surprise. E-mailed a letter of complaint to hotel about this and other issues nearly 2 weeks ago now, Still waiting on reply or even an acknowledgement. Really not impressed with hotel and its lack of responce to my email is so disappointing. Would seriously think twice about staying after a tribute night again, price may be reasonable for accommodation but as a twin room cannot be guaranteed (only found this out after talking to reception) but on this occasion it totally ruined what should have been a fantastic celebration.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LongDistanceClara99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSPurewal, Front Office Manager at Normandy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Dear Guest

We thank you for your recent feed back from your recent stay at the hotel.

Can i please ask that you contact me directly to discuss your issues further.

regards

Karin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We booked a one night stay with 4 days car parking at the Normandy Hotel as it seemed a reasonable price and was close to the airport. On arrival you book your car in and it's taken to a secure car park. Unfortunately I had a 1 hour wait to even get my car checked in. It wasn't the fault of the man doing the job, he was run off his feet but although he was supposed to have help, his colleague had disappeared while customers had to wait and wait and wait. This seemed to be the same throughout the hotel.
After finally getting the car checked in we then attempted to get served at the antiquated bar that looks like a throwback to the 70's, but this also proved very difficult. Several staff were "floating about" but a barperson was nowhere to be seen, until after 5 minutes we asked someone else where the barman was. He appeared shortly after and had a chuckle at the queue that he had caused. He slowly got round to us and we could't believe the prices we were charged. I don't mind paying a bit extra in a hotel but it should be because service, surroundings etc are excellent. You to ask for ice or lemon in your drinks, and he couldn't pour a pint without a head that was over an inch. When asked to fill up the £4+ pint he was not amused. £3.30 for a small measure of standard whisky!! Its £6 at Gleneagles but you get almost double the size of measure.
We had food in the bar which was way below average. We should have guessed when the bar did not have many people in, and the dining room was empty that something was wrong. We were told the hotel was nearly full so the rest of the residents maybe knew better to avoid the bar area!!
The room was comfortable enough but walls are paper thin and you'd better hope there's no one in the next room arriving or leaving in the early hours or you will be wakened up.
The wait to get to and from the airport was horribly long. In fact on our return we had to wait 20 minutes after calling the hotel, in the freezing cold for a bus back to the hotel, and when it came it wasn't big enough for everyone so some people we had travelled with had to wait another 20 mins. Staying at the Normandy is FALSE ECONOMY. From now on I will pay extra and stay at the airport. Drinks can't be any dearer and the hanging around was awful.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere if travelling to or from Glasgow Airport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marsh1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSPurewal, General Manager at Normandy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2013

Dear Mr Marsh,

Thank you for submitting your feedback on the Normandy Hotel.

I have looked into your points and believe most of the highlighted issues may have been resolved at stay over through direct communication to any one of our management team.

With reference to prices for drinks,there is indeed a premium price for our premium beer range, our vast selection of beers are designed to offer variety and price points agreeable to all audiences.

I can assure you our intentions are to work in an outstanding manner and thank you for giving us the opportunity to make improvements where required.

Kind regards,

Parminder Purewal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Renfrew
1.1 mi away
The Glynhill Hotel & Leisure Club
1.7 mi away
Travelodge Glasgow Airport
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Glasgow Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Glasgow Braehead
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Glasgow Airport
2.9 mi away
Erskine Bridge Hotel
Erskine Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Erskine
1,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Normandy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Normandy Hotel

Address: Inchinnan Road | 0.5 miles from Glasgow International Airport, Renfrew PA4 9EJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Renfrewshire > Renfrew
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Renfrew
Price Range: $43 - $1,065 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Normandy Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel located next to the River Cart in Renfrew, 2 minutes from Glasgow airport. Secure Parking for over 800 vehicles on site.All covered with security fencing ,CCTV and manned patrols. Courtesy transport to and from Glasgow Airport & Award winning "Steaks N Stuff" restaurant. Full free Wi-Fi facilities throughout the hotel bedrooms and meeting rooms.Natural Heritage site located within the grounds of the hotel and 5 minutes drive from X-scsape leisure centre & Braehead shopping Mall.Ample facilities for wedding events,private functions,meeting rooms and complimentary tickets to partner Gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Normandy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Normandy Hotel Renfrew, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing