We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a bit of attention”
Review of Normandy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Normandy Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Renfrew
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Needs a bit of attention”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed over night to be close to Airport and to have secure car parking for the week.The staff were really helpful and friendly and we thoroughly enjoyed our evening meal and breakfast.
The room was small but did the job. There was a musty smell when we went in but the all important towels and bedding were clean and fresh.
The walls are marked and the carpets due an upgrade but probably value for the money we paid.
The restaurant was pretty outdated and tatty but with the quality of the food and the excellent staff to serve you, it didn't seem to matter.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marion e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,951 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    478
    608
    405
    218
    242
See reviews for
339
1,013
81
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We found this hotel excellent value for accommodation and parking the night before flying to Mexico. Yes the room was tiny but for the price we paid I am surprised we did not get a tent in the car park. The staff were friendly and the food good. Perhaps we were lucky reading other reports but we had no problems with the transport to and back from the airport.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guide16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSPurewal, General Manager at Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for the amazing feedback!!!!

We are consistent in our approach to listen and act upon all feedback whether negative or positive and as a forward thinking organisation we have invested significantly in collating and acting upon all information supplied by all of our guests in order to provide an outstanding and personalized experience.

I sincerely hope to meet you personally upon your next visit.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We only used the hotel for an overnight stay and car parking for the week. The staff were very efficient and well organised. It was very busy as it was the start of the school holidays but the reception were very good, all information correct for our room and the car was parked for us. We expected the room to be small but this was tiny, we had a problem getting our suitcases through the door. The room was clean and contained everything we needed, just a pity it was not bigger. In the morning the transport to the airport was on time and took us straight in. Our return journey was equally efficient and our car was at the front of the hotel waiting for us.

Overall this is a very good service but we would have preferred a bigger and better room

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cnjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSPurewal, General Manager at Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your good feedback,

We acknowledge the room allocated on your stay was at a boutique level.I would advise you upon any future visit to request a larger room as the hotel has varied room sizes on all floors.

Meantime, thanks again for allowing our team the opportunity to make your stay even more comfortable next time.

Kind regards,

Parminder Purewal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort William, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Stayed at the Normandy Hotel night before holiday and on return. Secure car parking for duration of holiday,very well organised by car park staff. Room clean and nicely decorated,all you need for a short stay. Reception staff very efficient and pleasant. Breakfast good with plenty to choose from. Will certainly stay again, as it is great value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Faymar_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSPurewal, Manager at Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Fay/Mar,

Dear Alice,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at The Normandy Hotel. Any feedback is always appreciated so that we can continue to improve on our performance.

I am delighted you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We do our upmost to provide the highest quality food, service and rooms so that guests can have a comfortable and relaxing stay.


Thank you again for your feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Normandy Hotel in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights whilst on business in Glasgow and really would not recommend staying here for anything other than an overnight stop before a flight. The hotel is generally very run down, both externally and internally. The room, whilst refurbished, was very very small. Bed was ok and bathroom was probably the best part of the room. The walls are apparently very thin as there was alot of early morning noise whilst people left for early flights. The food in the restaurant was not nice, can only say I enjoyed one meal there. Staff were rude and grumpy. Glad to be home!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mjbark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSPurewal, Manager at Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Mjbark,

Dear Alice,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at The Normandy Hotel. Any feedback is always appreciated so that we can continue to improve on our performance.

I am very sorry to hear of your disappointment. We strive to provide the best quality in all our services, from our award winning restaurant, to our sell-out Tribute Nights to our clean and comfortable rooms and helpful staff. I apologise that, in this instance, you felt that this was not the case. We have taken your comments on board however for future improvements.

Thank you again for your feedback, and we hope you will consider The Normandy Hotel for future stays.

Yours Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Renfrew hotels

Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Stayed here for one night before flying of on holiday. Hotel fine and evening meal good value. Car parking for 13 nights in secure park. On return phoned one of the 2 numbers given - no answer - left message. 5 minutes later still standing in cold outside airport. Phoned other number to be told pick up on way. 25 minutes later minibus arrived for 5 minute transfer to hotel. Driver of bus said he had only been asked to pich us up 5 minutes before he arrived for us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rustygary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSPurewal, General Manager at Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Dear RustyGary,

Thank you for your feedback.

We actively listen to our guests for constant improvement and can assure you that we are progressive in reducing any wait time for our courtesy airport bus service.

Kind regards,

Parminder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stirling, scotland
Level 6 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Stayed here en route to Glasgow airport for one night and was very disappointed. The hotel was really busy with a 'tribute' night but the restaurant was very average. The room was tiny and scruffy with just a double bed and table with a built-in cupboard and bathroom. There was only just room to walk round the bed, if you had fallen out you would have been stuck between the bed and the wall! It was adequate but was expecting better after paying £59 per couple b&b.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alice_g_russell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSPurewal, Manager at Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Alice,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at The Normandy Hotel. Any feedback is always appreciated so that we can continue to improve on our performance.

I am very sorry to hear of your disappointment. We strive to provide the best quality in all our services, from our award winning restaurant, to our sell-out Tribute Nights to our clean and comfortable rooms. We have taken your comments on board however for future improvements.

Thank you again for your feedback, and we hope you will consider The Normandy Hotel for future stays.

Yours Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Renfrew
1.1 mi away
The Glynhill Hotel & Leisure Club
2.9 mi away
Erskine Bridge Hotel
Erskine Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Erskine
1,344 reviews
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Glasgow Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Glasgow Airport
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow Airport
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Glasgow Braehead
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Normandy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Normandy Hotel

Property: Normandy Hotel
Address: Inchinnan Road, Renfrew PA4 9EJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Renfrewshire > Renfrew
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Renfrew
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Normandy Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel located next to the River Cart in Renfrew, 2 minutes from Glasgow airport. Secure Parking for over 800 vehicles on site.All covered with security fencing ,CCTV and manned patrols. Courtesy transport to and from Glasgow Airport & Award winning "Steaks N Stuff" restaurant. Full free Wi-Fi facilities throughout the hotel bedrooms and meeting rooms.Natural Heritage site located within the grounds of the hotel and 5 minutes drive from X-scsape leisure centre & Braehead shopping Mall.Ample facilities for wedding events,private functions,meeting rooms and complimentary tickets to partner Gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Normandy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Normandy Hotel Renfrew, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing