We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay only”
Review of Normandy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Normandy Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Renfrew
Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights whilst on business in Glasgow and really would not recommend staying here for anything other than an overnight stop before a flight. The hotel is generally very run down, both externally and internally. The room, whilst refurbished, was very very small. Bed was ok and bathroom was probably the best part of the room. The walls are apparently very thin as there was alot of early morning noise whilst people left for early flights. The food in the restaurant was not nice, can only say I enjoyed one meal there. Staff were rude and grumpy. Glad to be home!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mjbark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSPurewal, Manager at Normandy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Dear Mjbark,

Dear Alice,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at The Normandy Hotel. Any feedback is always appreciated so that we can continue to improve on our performance.

I am very sorry to hear of your disappointment. We strive to provide the best quality in all our services, from our award winning restaurant, to our sell-out Tribute Nights to our clean and comfortable rooms and helpful staff. I apologise that, in this instance, you felt that this was not the case. We have taken your comments on board however for future improvements.

Thank you again for your feedback, and we hope you will consider The Normandy Hotel for future stays.

Yours Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,053)
There are newer reviews for Normandy Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,775 - 1,781 of 2,054 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2012

Stayed here for one night before flying of on holiday. Hotel fine and evening meal good value. Car parking for 13 nights in secure park. On return phoned one of the 2 numbers given - no answer - left message. 5 minutes later still standing in cold outside airport. Phoned other number to be told pick up on way. 25 minutes later minibus arrived for 5 minute transfer to hotel. Driver of bus said he had only been asked to pich us up 5 minutes before he arrived for us.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rustygary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSPurewal, General Manager at Normandy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2012

Dear RustyGary,

Thank you for your feedback.

We actively listen to our guests for constant improvement and can assure you that we are progressive in reducing any wait time for our courtesy airport bus service.

Kind regards,

Parminder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Stayed here en route to Glasgow airport for one night and was very disappointed. The hotel was really busy with a 'tribute' night but the restaurant was very average. The room was tiny and scruffy with just a double bed and table with a built-in cupboard and bathroom. There was only just room to walk round the bed, if you had fallen out you would have been stuck between the bed and the wall! It was adequate but was expecting better after paying £59 per couple b&b.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alice_g_russell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSPurewal, Manager at Normandy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Dear Alice,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at The Normandy Hotel. Any feedback is always appreciated so that we can continue to improve on our performance.

I am very sorry to hear of your disappointment. We strive to provide the best quality in all our services, from our award winning restaurant, to our sell-out Tribute Nights to our clean and comfortable rooms. We have taken your comments on board however for future improvements.

Thank you again for your feedback, and we hope you will consider The Normandy Hotel for future stays.

Yours Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

the good lady wife and i enjoyed a very nice night here prior to flying out from glasgow airport we had a lovely double en suite room which was spotlessly clean ,the £63 we paid included 10 nights secure parking and transfers to and from the airport ( talk about a steal ) we also enjoyed a rally nice two course dinner with drinks for about £40 again great value ,. i would highly recommend the normandy in all departments

Room Tip: all rooms are good theres no difference
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gomez081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSPurewal, Manager at Normandy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Dear gomez081,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at The Normandy Hotel. Any feedback is greatly appreciated so that we may continue to improve our service.

May I just say I am absolutely delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We strive to provide an excellent service in all areas - from our award winning restaurant to our highly commended pick up service to our highly commended Airport Transfer service - all at great value prices.

Thank you once again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Normandy Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Great hotel for staying at and keeping your car parked while off on holiday as well as being transported to the airport and back. This is the second time I have stayed there overnight pending flying off on holiday the next morning.

On the ground level is the reception, bar and restaurant, all of which are fine and the food is really good (especially the duck pate!). It is easy to spend a relaxing time there with a meal and a few drinks afterwards.

The rooms...well, this is where the disappointment comes! Antiquated and in need of redecorating as well as renewing the furniture. I could put up with that, but the bed (on both occasions) had died a long time ago and sank in to the middle and the mattress hardly deserved the title!

If the sleeping could match the dining it would be a far better experience.

Will I be back? Probably due to the parking and dining.

Room Tip: A good room??? Go elsewhere!, at least until the bed has be de-fibrillated...or put up with it for t...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkinchKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSPurewal, Manager at Normandy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Dear Markinch Ken,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at The Normandy Hotel. Any constructive feedback is always greatly appreciated so that we may continue to improve our performance.

For the most part, may I just say I am delighted you enjoyed your stay at our Hotel. We strive to provide an excellent service in all areas - from our Restaurant to our Park & Fly service - so that guests can have an enjoyable and relaxing stay.

We have taken your comments on board for future reference and will continue to improve on the issues raised.

Thank you once more for your feedback, and I do hope you will consider The Normandy Hotel for future trips.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Booked this hotel through Holiday Extras for a one night stay and 14 nights car parking for a recent holiday to Mexico.

On arrival following an efficient check in, the car was taken to the secure car park on the hotel premises.

Bedroom was small but clean and had all the facilities required including an excellent shower. We used the restaurant "Steak n Stuff" for a meal that evening and the food was excellent at a reasonable price.

It was a very windy night when we stayed and there was a banging noise from somewhere at the front of the hotel which was a bit annoying when trying to sleep prior to an early rise, and someone else also commented on this in the morning, however this may have been a one off.

Transfer to the airport was fine, unfortunately the driver dropped us at the wrong terminal thinking that we needed to check in at T2, however only a short walk back to check in at T1.
On return the transfer bus back to the hotel was waiting at the designated stop, so no issues. When we got back to the hotel the car unfortunately had not been taken out of the secure car park as the hotel thought we were back the following day. This led to a bit of a delay in getting back on the road home, but this could have been my fault as I may have given the wrong return date when booking, either way not too much of an issue.

Overall the hotel and parking/transport to and from airport were good value, and I would have no hesitation in both using for this purpose again and recommending to others.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnP033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSPurewal, Manager at Normandy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Dear John P033,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at The Normandy Hotel. Any feedback is always greatly appreciated so that we can continue to improve our excellent service.

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay. We strive to provide excellent service in all aspects of the hotel, from our rooms to our park and fly service, all at great value prices. We have noted the issues you have addressed regarding the windows and are looking into this.

I am also extremely pleased your enjoyed your meal at our Restaurant. Our award winning Chefs pride themselves on serving a delicious and varied menu at affordable prices.

Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Normandy Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

used this hotel for 15 days parking and an overnight stay plus breakfast on return. Impressed with the whole operation from leaving my car for secure parking which was an extra charge to the very efficient staff in all departments for my stay on returning from holiday. OK the fire alarm sounding at 6-30am was an unexpected wake up call but these things happen. This was also dealt with in a satisfactory manner. Thanks to the person who caused all this by allegedly smoking in their room. Appreciated the full scottish breakfast a bit earlier than expected. The rooms are small but perfectly adequate for the purpose of an overnight stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scotlandsalmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSPurewal, Manager at Normandy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Dear SalmonScotland,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at The Normandy Hotel. We greatly appreciate comments so that we may continue to provide excellent service.

I am delighted you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We strive to provide an excellent and high quality service in all we do, and run our hotel in an efficient manner.

I apologise on behalf of the rogue smoker, we have a strict no-smoking policy but occasionally guests fail to take heed - luckily our excellent fire safety precautions ensure everyone is kept safe! I am extremely pleased you enjoyed your hot and plentiful Scottish breakfast from our also.

Thank you again for your comments and we very much look forward to welcoming you back at The Normandy Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Renfrew
1.1 mi away
The Glynhill Hotel & Leisure Club
2.9 mi away
Erskine Bridge Hotel
Erskine Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Erskine
1,383 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Glasgow Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Glasgow Airport
1.7 mi away
Travelodge Glasgow Airport
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Normandy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Normandy Hotel

Address: Inchinnan Road | 0.5 miles from Glasgow International Airport, Renfrew PA4 9EJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Renfrewshire > Renfrew
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Renfrew
Price Range: $62 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Normandy Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel located next to the River Cart in Renfrew, 2 minutes from Glasgow airport. Secure Parking for over 800 vehicles on site.All covered with security fencing ,CCTV and manned patrols. Courtesy transport to and from Glasgow Airport & Award winning "Steaks N Stuff" restaurant. Full free Wi-Fi facilities throughout the hotel bedrooms and meeting rooms.Natural Heritage site located within the grounds of the hotel and 5 minutes drive from X-scsape leisure centre & Braehead shopping Mall.Ample facilities for wedding events,private functions,meeting rooms and complimentary tickets to partner Gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Normandy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Normandy Hotel Renfrew, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing