We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Normandy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Normandy Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Renfrew
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“excellent value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

the good lady wife and i enjoyed a very nice night here prior to flying out from glasgow airport we had a lovely double en suite room which was spotlessly clean ,the £63 we paid included 10 nights secure parking and transfers to and from the airport ( talk about a steal ) we also enjoyed a rally nice two course dinner with drinks for about £40 again great value ,. i would highly recommend the normandy in all departments

Room Tip: all rooms are good theres no difference
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gomez081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSPurewal, Manager at Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear gomez081,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at The Normandy Hotel. Any feedback is greatly appreciated so that we may continue to improve our service.

May I just say I am absolutely delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We strive to provide an excellent service in all areas - from our award winning restaurant to our highly commended pick up service to our highly commended Airport Transfer service - all at great value prices.

Thank you once again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Normandy Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,824 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    429
    564
    387
    213
    231
See reviews for
313
948
73
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Great hotel for staying at and keeping your car parked while off on holiday as well as being transported to the airport and back. This is the second time I have stayed there overnight pending flying off on holiday the next morning.

On the ground level is the reception, bar and restaurant, all of which are fine and the food is really good (especially the duck pate!). It is easy to spend a relaxing time there with a meal and a few drinks afterwards.

The rooms...well, this is where the disappointment comes! Antiquated and in need of redecorating as well as renewing the furniture. I could put up with that, but the bed (on both occasions) had died a long time ago and sank in to the middle and the mattress hardly deserved the title!

If the sleeping could match the dining it would be a far better experience.

Will I be back? Probably due to the parking and dining.

Room Tip: A good room??? Go elsewhere!, at least until the bed has be de-fibrillated...or put up with it for t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkinchKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSPurewal, Manager at Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Markinch Ken,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at The Normandy Hotel. Any constructive feedback is always greatly appreciated so that we may continue to improve our performance.

For the most part, may I just say I am delighted you enjoyed your stay at our Hotel. We strive to provide an excellent service in all areas - from our Restaurant to our Park & Fly service - so that guests can have an enjoyable and relaxing stay.

We have taken your comments on board for future reference and will continue to improve on the issues raised.

Thank you once more for your feedback, and I do hope you will consider The Normandy Hotel for future trips.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Booked this hotel through Holiday Extras for a one night stay and 14 nights car parking for a recent holiday to Mexico.

On arrival following an efficient check in, the car was taken to the secure car park on the hotel premises.

Bedroom was small but clean and had all the facilities required including an excellent shower. We used the restaurant "Steak n Stuff" for a meal that evening and the food was excellent at a reasonable price.

It was a very windy night when we stayed and there was a banging noise from somewhere at the front of the hotel which was a bit annoying when trying to sleep prior to an early rise, and someone else also commented on this in the morning, however this may have been a one off.

Transfer to the airport was fine, unfortunately the driver dropped us at the wrong terminal thinking that we needed to check in at T2, however only a short walk back to check in at T1.
On return the transfer bus back to the hotel was waiting at the designated stop, so no issues. When we got back to the hotel the car unfortunately had not been taken out of the secure car park as the hotel thought we were back the following day. This led to a bit of a delay in getting back on the road home, but this could have been my fault as I may have given the wrong return date when booking, either way not too much of an issue.

Overall the hotel and parking/transport to and from airport were good value, and I would have no hesitation in both using for this purpose again and recommending to others.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnP033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSPurewal, Manager at Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear John P033,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at The Normandy Hotel. Any feedback is always greatly appreciated so that we can continue to improve our excellent service.

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay. We strive to provide excellent service in all aspects of the hotel, from our rooms to our park and fly service, all at great value prices. We have noted the issues you have addressed regarding the windows and are looking into this.

I am also extremely pleased your enjoyed your meal at our Restaurant. Our award winning Chefs pride themselves on serving a delicious and varied menu at affordable prices.

Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Normandy Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries and Galloway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

used this hotel for 15 days parking and an overnight stay plus breakfast on return. Impressed with the whole operation from leaving my car for secure parking which was an extra charge to the very efficient staff in all departments for my stay on returning from holiday. OK the fire alarm sounding at 6-30am was an unexpected wake up call but these things happen. This was also dealt with in a satisfactory manner. Thanks to the person who caused all this by allegedly smoking in their room. Appreciated the full scottish breakfast a bit earlier than expected. The rooms are small but perfectly adequate for the purpose of an overnight stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scotlandsalmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSPurewal, Manager at Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear SalmonScotland,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at The Normandy Hotel. We greatly appreciate comments so that we may continue to provide excellent service.

I am delighted you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We strive to provide an excellent and high quality service in all we do, and run our hotel in an efficient manner.

I apologise on behalf of the rogue smoker, we have a strict no-smoking policy but occasionally guests fail to take heed - luckily our excellent fire safety precautions ensure everyone is kept safe! I am extremely pleased you enjoyed your hot and plentiful Scottish breakfast from our also.

Thank you again for your comments and we very much look forward to welcoming you back at The Normandy Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed here on our way out to Spain on the 9th and on our return on the 13th October, a party of 8.
Dont listen to some of the awful reviews, if you want a luxury hotel book somewhere else but expect to have to pay through the nose for it.
This is a very good hotel undergoing improvements, we had room 203 on both nights and it was immaculately clean, modern with terrific power shower and very comfortable bed.
Not the biggest room i have slept in but for one night is perfect.
The other members of the party also were very happy with their accommodation.
The parking is on site and yes some of it under trees, which do shed leaves in the autumn.
The transfers were on time and very friendly, transfer time was about 5 mins , perfect, in fact we went to wetherspoons at the airport for a few drinks the night before out departure, the 8th because it was cheaper for a few drinks then back to hotel for a sleep.
The reception staff were superb, Karin and Lisa made our stay very enjoyable , super quick check in, obviously well trained and deserve a special mention, a credit to the hotel.
On our return we had the breakfast which was great, buffet style , hot and plentiful and again great staff in this department as well.
To Sum up, we have used many Glasgow airport hotels in the last 26 years, but for value for money and friendly attentive staff this is as good and better than some which boast more stars.
We will be back!!! soon i hope

Room Tip: ask for 203
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ivanivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSPurewal, Manager at Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear IvanIvan,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at The Normandy Hotel. Any feedback is greatly appreciated so that we may continue to improve on our service.

From myself and the team at The Normandy Hotel, may I just say we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We strive to provide an excellent and high quality service, from our rooms to our restaurant to our Park and Fly service; all at great value prices. I will be sure to directly forward on your praise for Karin and Lisa!

Thanks again for your comments and we very much look forward to welcoming you back at The Normandy Hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

we stayed with a park and fly package in september and paid extra to dine that night as well which was great value. our hotel room was clean but basic but we expected this. our meal was fantastic. my husband had the thai chicken curry which had loads of chicken in it. i had the steak which was a bit disappointing but that was because i asked for med/well done and it was a bit more well done than i would prefer. hotel was busy with a tribute night, birthday party and also a bus party staying but nothing was a bother. booking in the staff were so helpful and friendly, on the morning of our flight the taxi driver from the hotel was really helpful and assisted us with our luggage and same on our return. we had to fone him on or mobile and he was there within 5 mins. great start and end to our holiday and would definately recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2bscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSPurewal, Manager at Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear 2bScotland,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us. We appreciate any comments so that we can continue to improve our service,.

I am absolutely delighted you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We pride ourselves on providing an excellent service from our rooms, to our restaurant, to our shuttle service, all at great value prices.

Thanks again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Normandy Hotel,

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

My stay & transfer to Glasgow Airport on 27.9.2012 was pleasurable.
Unfortunately my return on Sunday 7.10.2012 was disastrous as we had to wait an hour to get picked up from the airport to return to the hotel to get our car.
There was a group that included young children, bearing in mind this was at 10pm who were kept waiting, there leader was a bit over voiciferous in making his views known to the management but thye management will have to get used to this if they are going to let people down. I am led to believe the delay was down to a staff issue, which is resolvable with decent management.

Room Tip: Rooms small but adequate for single night stay.
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSPurewal, Manager at Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear John C,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at The Normandy Hotel. For the purposes of using this as a tool for improvement, we thank you wholeheartedly.

I am delighted that for the most part you enjoyed your stay and found the rooms comfortable, and I apologise sincerely for the slight delay with our pick up service. The issues you have identified have been addressed and I am confident that this will not happen again in the future.

Thank you again for your comments and I hope you will consider The Normandy Hotel again for future stays.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Renfrew hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Renfrew
1.1 mi away
The Glynhill Hotel & Leisure Club
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Glasgow Airport
2.9 mi away
Erskine Bridge Hotel
Erskine Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Erskine
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Glasgow Airport
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow Airport
1.7 mi away
Courtyard Glasgow Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Normandy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Normandy Hotel

Property: Normandy Hotel
Address: Inchinnan Road, Renfrew PA4 9EJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Renfrewshire > Renfrew
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Renfrew
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Normandy Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel located next to the River Cart in Renfrew, 2 minutes from Glasgow airport. Secure Parking for over 800 vehicles on site.All covered with security fencing ,CCTV and manned patrols. Courtesy transport to and from Glasgow Airport & Award winning "Steaks N Stuff" restaurant. Full free Wi-Fi facilities throughout the hotel bedrooms and meeting rooms.Natural Heritage site located within the grounds of the hotel and 5 minutes drive from X-scsape leisure centre & Braehead shopping Mall.Ample facilities for wedding events,private functions,meeting rooms and complimentary tickets to partner Gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Normandy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Normandy Hotel Renfrew, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing