We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect space and location for a couple”
other travelers have booked this property
Craigdarroch Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Craigdarroch Cottage
Open living area Open living area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
56 reviews
Craigdarroch Cottage
Open living area
Open living area
Cooking Island with bar stools
Wood Burning Stove
Wood Burning Stove
Decking with loch view (steps to access)
Sunset on Loch Earn
Loch Lomond and the Trossachs National Park
Dogs welcome
Ducks at sunset on Loch Earn
Salmon leap, Buchanty Spout, near Crieff
Loch Earn
Thistle
Deil's Cauldron, Comrie
Loch Earn
Visitor to St Fillans
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
St. Fillans, Perth and Kinross, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 56 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Graham C
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect space and location for a couple”
Reviewed June 5, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Had a fantastic 10 days, cottage is great for a couple with plenty of space to relax. Lock Earn is a pretty little lock and is a three minute walk away. Locally walking and cycling is good and the mountains are all around you. We were blessed with fantastic weather which made our first holiday in Scotland absolutely perfect.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mandy f
Heacham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great cottage with lovely views”
Reviewed May 22, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

This is a really lovely cottage that has been renovated beautifully, it was very clean and really comfortable with everything you need for a great stay. There are lovely views over the loch and lots of great walks from the cottage, we saw lots of wildlife including osprey, goldeneye, red deer fallow deer and lots more.
We took our two dogs and they were made very welcome with dog bed, dish & treats as well as a lovely bottle of prosecco for us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hubert M
2 reviews
“Very nice apartment at Loch Earn”
Reviewed April 28, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

The apartment fits best for two persons. It's renovated and everything looks really good. We experienced some cold days and it was not possible to permanently turn on the heating.
It's controlled remotely by the owner of the apartment and you have a "boost" button (heating is on for 1.25 hours) or you have to light a fire at the fireplace. After mailing to the owner she
turned on the heating for another two hours in the morning and two hours in the evening.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, excellent bed
Liked least: No permanent heating available.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 4, 2016
Hubert, thank you very much for your review. The heating system was selected to be as environmentally friendly as possible which enables me to remotely provide heating for the weeks when I have guests and during cold winter months while at the same time affording guests control of heating while in the cottage. Kind regards Ailsa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotlass3...
2 reviews
“Perfect getway!”
Reviewed January 12, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We have just returned from spending an amazing time at Caraigdarroch cottage and cannot praise it enough! From the personal touches on arrival to the beautiful and thoughful refurbishment of this old coachman's cottage, this really is a hidden gem on the banks of Loch Earn, and you can tell has been a real labour of love.

With amazing views and fantastic walks for all capabilities on your door step, there is lots to see and do, even off season (which is when we stayed), we were not stuck for places to explore! If the outdoors gets too much, you can cosy up in front of the wonderful wood burning stove and make use of the well equipped kitchen or enjoy some of the amazing food on offer in many of the restaurants and hotels just a short distance away.

Thanks Ailsa!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wearuk57
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Romantic Retreat”
Reviewed December 8, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Me and my new wife spent our honeymoon here recently and what a beautiful little cottage it had everything you needed, so relaxing with the log fire nice to chill with a drink and watch a DVD. St Fillans is a lovely little place scenic views of the Loch and great for dog walking we had our lab with us and there is great little walks around the Loch. A great place to visit is Glencoe stunning views. Would definitely come back see what its like in the summer, and thanks for the Bubbly on arrival Ailsa :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How relaxing it was
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack T
United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Perfect winter break”
Reviewed November 8, 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned from a four night stay at the cottage, it was perfect for 2 people and we couldn't fault a thing. Fantastic location right on the loch with easy access to all of Loch Lomond and many walks within a short distance. The cottage is very homely with a log fire, wifi and everything else you could need for a short break. We didn't have a dog with us and didn't encounter this dog smell mentioned in other reviews anywhere in the cottage. Ailsa has done a great job renovating this property and appears to act on any criticism made, I'm sure it will continue to improve with time. We can't wait to return next time we're in the area

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandysmum...
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic break in an idilic setting!”
Reviewed October 25, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Just back from a week in this amazing wee place. Loved every minute of it!
The cottage is extremely well equipped with everything you might need. Extremely dog friendly - my boys appreciated the log fire, comfy dog beds and treats so much!
You have made an outstanding job of renovating the cottage Ailsa, and we will definitely return again - wish i was there right now!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing