We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb views and great food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Four Seasons Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Four Seasons Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in St. Fillans
Certificate of Excellence
Bellshill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
215 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Superb views and great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

We went here because it is dog friendly and because I visited here many years ago. Dogs got a complementary Bonio on arrival! The food in the Tarken restaurant was excellent though the four course dinner in the formal dining room was disappointing as the portions were so small. We did not realise it was a tasting menu and if we knew would have opted for the Tarken restaurant. However the quality of the food was excellent including the very good quality ingredients for breakfast.

Highly recommended and will hopefully return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunseeker227135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
infoatthe, General Manager at The Four Seasons Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
……….” the quality of the food was excellent including the very good quality ingredients for breakfast”…….. Thanks you for your kind feeback. Sad to hear that you found the portions lacking in the fine dining Restaurant. (you could have asked for more) The intention in this restaurant in to offer a balanced four course fine dining experience, and the portions reflect this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

852 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    521
    207
    60
    35
    29
See reviews for
131
553
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Thornaby on Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

We chose this hotel because it was listed as really dog friendly and had the option of chalets to stay in behind the hotel which was great as it was the first time we'd taken the dogs away and we weren't sure how they'd settle. From the moment we arrived I was entranced. The view across the loch was amazing (despite the rain) and the receptionist was really welcoming. We went to our chalet to find homemade shortbread waiting for the humans and bone shaped biscuits for the dogs. We unpacked and went out walking. We were given a map of local walks and the old railway line behind our chalet was great to walk our two with some amazing views. We decided to eat in the Tarken Bar (the less formal of the two restaurants in the hotel) and the food was lovely with a good vegetarian choice for us but quite a varied menu as well for the meat eaters. My husband wasn't well and after ordering his food decided he needed to go back to the chalet. The guys in the restaurant happily arranged to pack his food up for me to take back him. We ate here again the second night as the guys made us feel very welcome and were really chatty yet professional and hard working. There is a good wine menu to choose from and a good range of malt whisky to finish off the evening. The chalet was warm and cosy with all the modern fittings, toiletries provided and a rubber duck for the bath, tea and coffee facilities everything you could ask for really. Breakfast was tip top with again loads of choice and they'd remembered we were vegetarians and were able to provide vegetarian sausages for us which was a big plus. The breakfast staff were lovely, very professional and nothing was too much trouble, they constantly offered us top ups of coffee and more toast. We needed a good walk afterwards to walk off the calories. It was a great location with plenty to do within a short drive. We really couldn't have asked for a better more relaxing weekend and the dogs especially loved it so a big woof from them.

Room Tip: The chalets are great if you have the dogs as they're close to plenty of walks especially chalet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisKH63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
infoatthe, General Manager at The Four Seasons Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
………” We really couldn't have asked for a better more relaxing weekend and the dogs especially loved it so a big woof from”……… Thank you very much for your generous feedback, and we are all happy to hear that you so enjoyed your stay. Feedback about the great team effort herr at the Four Seasons is especially rewarding
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

This was my third visit to the Four Seasons. We like it because its dog friendly and we don't have to put our dogs into kennels to get away for the weekend. The scenery across the loch is breathtaking. So here are some more things I like about the place. The fine dining restaurant has great, reasonably priced food - worth a trip alone. The staff are very welcoming and friendly. The place is a little bit tired here and there but I think it just adds to the charm. The people there do a grand job. I'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: I prefer the hotel rooms to the chalets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PijuDo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
infoatthe, General Manager at The Four Seasons Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
………”. The fine dining restaurant has great, reasonably priced food - worth a trip alone. The staff are very welcoming and friendly”………Many thanks for your positive feedback, and more important for returning on a regular basis…always very encouraging that people appreciate what we do at the hotel. We look forward to see you soon again. Always give us a call for great value break including for any special occasions, or just a three for two break away from home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

It is so refreshing to finally find a quality hotel where you and your dog are made to feel welcome! This was our first stay in a hotel with our young large dog, so we opted to stay in a chalet, which turned out to be the perfect choice. We took our own dog basket with us, and after exploring the chalet thoroughly, our dog settled in very quickly. If you opt to take your dog over to the hotel to eat either dinner or breakfast, you just need to let the staff know and they will reserve a suitable table for you all. The food is of a high standard, the hotel tastefully decorated, clean and modern. The chalets, what can I say, they have their own 'vintage charm' but are again very clean and have everything you need (including a tiny duck for the bath, a charming touch!). The chalets are obviously a 'work in progress' for the owners, but we found it an ideal place to stay with our young dog (vizsla owners will know what I mean!).
Overall, I would recommend the Four Seasons Hotel, but just be aware that if you are staying in a chalet, your view takes in the rear of the hotel (which definitely isn't its best aspect), and the path up to it is very steep. All in all, good value for money, friendly, and we would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Choose a chalet if you are travelling with a young or old dog.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mamoo844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
infoatthe, General Manager at The Four Seasons Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
……...”. It is so refreshing to finally find a quality hotel where you and your dog are made to feel welcome”……… Dogs are indeed welcome, and remarkably still there is no over night charge for them. Thanks for your kind comments and feedback. Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and of course even better that we will see you soon again. Dogs owners – don’t forget the Dog Concierge Service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

We have just returned from an excellent break at Four Seasons staying in one of the charming Chalets on the hillside behind the hotel. This is one of the most dog friendly and relaxed places we have stayed in with our dogs. The cheery staff are always anxious to make the visit special and nothing is too much trouble. The position of the hotel on the loch side is superb and the views are always a treat.
One of the best breakfasts we have had in hotels starts each day off very well.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
infoatthe, General Manager at The Four Seasons Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
……….”. The cheery staff are always anxious to make the visit special and nothing is too much trouble”………. Many thanks for the positive comments, especially the positive feedback for the hard working team at the Four Seasons, all encouragement is most welcome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

I stayed recently and took my dog, which was great as the hotel is very accommodating for dogs.
We enjoyed our stay and I will list both the good areas and those elements which could be improved.

Good
+ Great breakfast included in the overall rate. Very filling and good quality produce used. I cannot praise this enough as you can have a cold selection to start and a hot breakfast served too with as much tea / coffee / toast as you can drink and eat
+ Dog friendly hotel is a great asset. Our dog was left alone to relax and treated as nicely as the other guests.
+ Friendly and helpful staff - they couldn't help enough and were chatty and offered help at every opportunity.
+ Lovely scenery and views from the hotel - speaks for itself!

Improvement Areas
- The chalets are a good idea however it doesn't state clearly on the website there is no fridge or basic self catering facilities. This was the reason we booked a chalet and would have just been as well in the actual hotel itself.
- The chalets need some updating. They do have comfortable beds and clean linen / towels however having stayed in other similar accommodation across Scotland, they are very dated, old and tired
- There isn't much of a place to relax at night with a drink. There are two bars however one is where the food is served and has 'rat pack' style music on a loop - very annoying if you are in for dinner as you hear the same music over and over. The 'wee bar' has no atmosphere at all and whilst I appreciate this break is for relaxing, a good pub type atmosphere is required as it does feel somewhat like a doctor's waiting room.

Overall a good experience and we did enjoy it however if you are looking for some entertainment or even just a place to enjoy a drink and chat after your day time activities, this may not be the place for you.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NeighBotha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
infoatthe, General Manager at The Four Seasons Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Great breakfast included in the overall rate. Very filling and good quality produce used. I cannot praise this enough”……….Thanks for your comments, and I am glad to hear that you overall enjoyed your stay. Thank you also for your suggestions for improvements. Self catering chalets and a ‘good pub’ are not in the current business model, so surprisingly we do not advertise them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Location is amazing loads of walks for the dog. The food in the tarken was amazing and also no where is off limits for the dog apart from the main restaurant. We stayed in chalet 2 and it was very clean and had deck chairs for sitting outside the chalet. Overall this place comes highly recommended specially for dog lovers

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamson1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
infoatthe, General Manager at The Four Seasons Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
……… “Location is amazing loads of walks for the dog. The food in the tarken was amazing”……….. Thank you so much for the very positive review. Indeed this is an amazing area, I have been here for many years and still love…..the view from the hotel still has the ability to inspire.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Fillans
0.1 mi away
The Achray House Hotel and Lodges
7.2 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
19.8 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
5.9 mi away
The Lochearnhead Hotel
The Lochearnhead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lochearnhead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
17.9 mi away
Duchally Country Estate
Duchally Country Estate
#2 of 4 in Auchterarder
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Four Seasons Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Four Seasons Hotel

Property: The Four Seasons Hotel
Address: | Lochside, St. Fillans PH62NF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > St. Fillans
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in St. Fillans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Four Seasons Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the banks of Loch Earn, offering complimentary WI-FI and free parking, this hotel is surrounded by breath-taking scenery of the Scottish Highlands.The Four Seasons was built in the early 1800s and was converted into a hotel in the 1900s.The hotel is cosy, comfortable and well-presented with unique furnishings, with warm colours and light creating a fun and relaxed atmosphere for guests. Views across the Loch are ever-changing throughout the seasons: fresh new colours of spring, long, light summer's evenings, spectacular sunsets to the west, morning mists shrouding the loch and the snow covered Bens, making this one of the most beautiful locations in Scotland to visit. The 12 bedrooms are all en-suite and individually styled and spacious, with hairdryer, colour TV, direct dial telephone, radio/CD player and tea and coffee making facilities. The rooms over-looking the Loch boast picturesque views whatever the weather. There are 6 chalets situated within a secluded hillside behind the hotel with double/twin beds and a bunk room for two, all have the same amenities as the rooms within the hotel. For an extra special stay we have our elegant 4 poster rooms for that bit of added luxury.For an extra special stay we have our elegant 4 poster rooms for that bit of added luxury. The Four Seasons has a choice of two restaurants, the stylish Meall Reamhar offers fine dining (evenings only) serving a contemporary Scottish cuisine, consisting of fresh fish, Scottish beef and lamb, and locally grown vegetables. The Tarken Bistro offers the same standard of cuisine in a more informal setting, providing light lunches, blackboard specials and suppers. A range of fine wines, champagne and whisky are available; enjoy a cool glass of Chablis on a summer's evening or malt by the warmth of the log fire in autumn! The hotel is the perfect location for that special occasion whether it is a traditional dinner party, birthday or wedding. Facilities for business meetings and conferences are available for up to 70 delegates. The location of the hotel makes it the perfect place to explore and admire the natural beauty of the Scottish highlands. Enjoy great dog walks in some of Scotland's finest scenery. The resident friendly canines welcome fellow pets free of charge. The beautiful village of St. Fillans has a 9-hole golf course and offers water sports, hill walking and fishing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your The Four Seasons Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 4 Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons St Fillans
Four Seasons Hotel
St. Fillans Four Seasons
The Four Seasons Hotel St. Fillans, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing