We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning location & relaxed atmosphere!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Achray House Hotel & Lodges
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in St. Fillans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2013

My one-night stay coincided with the hottest day of the year and I was concerned that my ground floor room would mean I couldn't leave the windows open overnight - and I could see only a tiny ventilation slit in them. However the wardrobe contained a very pleasant surprise in the form of an electric fan which worked efficiently and did the trick. It was a bit noisy, however. Other nice touches included the iron and ironing board, accompanied by a tiny, dolly-sized plastic jug in case you wanted to do some steam ironing (although I would have thought long and hard before embarking on such a task in the 30 degree heat!). And two sachets of hot chocolate as well as the usual coffee and tea. I was in the Coachman's Room (aka Room 10) which was in fact an integral part of the hotel building but, being at the back, didn't have a view of Loch Earn. My room windows looked on to a gravel driveway and I did wonder whether this would prove noisy but it didn't, at all. Achray House prides itself on its fine cuisine and sure enough the breakfast menu was not your average, run-of-the-mill fare. A "bowl of seasonal fresh fruits" turned out to be tiny but delicious and there was home-made bread. If the menu had not said that what came with my scrambled egg was home-smoked salmon, I would have sworn it was home-smoked haddock, which was also on the menu but served with a poached egg. A bit of a mystery that, but the views over the loch were a wonderful distraction. The hotel has a relaxed feel about it but management and housekeeping standards are clearly very high.

Room Tip: If you want a loch view, you need to ask for a room at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bridget S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlantheTrekker, Owner at Achray House Hotel & Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Thanks for your detailed and generous review.

I cooked your breakfast myself, so I can assure you it was smoked salmon in the scrambled eggs, not smoked haddock. We smoke it ourselves, after curing it in a brine with heather honey and whisky. However, unlike most smoked salmon, we hot smoke it in thick tranches over peat, rather than a cold smoking process. Consequently the salmon is in chunks, and the peat smoke flavour is immediately evident. I suspect the combination of these two points may be why you though it was smoked haddock.

Regards
Alan Gibson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (643)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

416 - 422 of 643 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2013

It looks somewhat plain on the outside but was just great. Everything works and Jane was exceptionally helpful. The views are to die for - of Loch Earn just across the road. The restaurant serves good food too, you won't get flash and glamour at Achray House, but everything works to a really good standard and we'd be happy to return!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MDDododuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlantheTrekker, Owner at Achray House Hotel & Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Many thanks for your concise and positive review.

Hopefully we will see you again soon.

Regards
Alan Gibson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

If you want disco lights Wham Bam and all that stuff this hotel is not for you.If you want a hotel with great rooms helpful friendly staff first class food and views which were magnificent,then book this hotel.We had a two night stay at the beginning of July.We had a view of the loch which was worth the extra money.Dinner and breakfast were exceptional.Our room was spacious and comfortable,free WIFI

Room Tip: Views of the loch and mountain worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stuarts123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlantheTrekker, Owner at Achray House Hotel & Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

Thanks for your kind review.

You are right about the style of the hotel. If you are after night-life then we are not the place, but if you want outdoor days followed by a relaxing evening centred on good food, then hopefully we are for you.

Hoping to see you again soon.

Regards
Alan Gibson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed at Achray House for 3 nights from 12th July. We were lucky to secure one of the Loch view bedrooms and would definitely recommend this. The weather was beautiful and the views amazing. Both dinner and breakfast are excellent. All freshly cooked and extremely tasty. I informed Alan before we arrived that my wife was Gluten intolerant and food items had been sourced for her meals. The sticky toffee is well worth a try. An extremely well priced wine list compliments the dinner menu.
Jane and her staff do an excellent job front of house. The owners will happily recommend great day trips.
Thanks for a very relaxing stay and we look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Loch facing bedroom a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlantheTrekker, Owner at Achray House Hotel & Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Thanks for your generous review, and especially your comments on our wine list, which have just extended to include wines from around the world made by Scottish winemakers.

Hoping to see you again soon.

Regards
Alan Gibson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Drawing up outside, we thought, oh dear....... but the Minute we walked in the door, what a surprise!! For some reason, the outside initially, did not inspire us, but thast is probably personal taste.
Alan and Jane are wonderful Hosts and the food...... well that has to be the Highlight. Alan has a great Imagination and we tried so many different tastes during our 3 nights. The room was perfect, witha wonderful view and, even though it was up to date, and really well decorated, it retained it's character and feel. We felt really welcome and made to feel like Special guests with excellent Service. Jane is a great Hostess and Trains her staff really well. They are like a breathe of fresh air. Always smiling and with time for a quckc chat whilst still maintining excellent Service.
I have alsready recommended The Achray House to friends and will contiue to do so.
Thanks Alan and Jane, you made our final stop before back to civilisation in Edinburgh, perfect. Good luck and Keep up the great Team work.

Room Tip: The upgrade to a room with a view is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Midjan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlantheTrekker, Owner at Achray House Hotel & Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Thanks for your kind review, and we will try to keep up the good work. Part of that will be to re-model the garden area the make the initial approach to the building more attractive, but to date we have concentrated on the interior.

Regards
Alan Gibson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We were absolutely delighted with the standard of service at the Achray. Staff went out of their way to make our family celebration memorable.
All three of our bedrooms were spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Dinner and breakfast were excellent with beautiful views of Loch Earn.
St Fillans is a delightful, peaceful village at the head of Loch Earn. It is only a short drive from Comrie and Crieff which have many visitor attractions including shops, beautiful walks, a wildlife park and Drummond Castle .It is also an ideal stopping place for anyone heading West on tour.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank isabel h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlantheTrekker, Owner at Achray House Hotel & Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Thanks for your generous review. It is always a pleasure to help make a family celebration a special occasion. I think you had the best cake I have ever seen: who says food can't be humorous.

Hopefully we will see you again in the future.

Regards
Alan Gibson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Nice friendly and clean place.Nice relaxing place to stay.Lovely breakfast with stunning views over the loch.Hope to have the chance to stay again. My wife and myself were needing a rest from our busy Guest House in Inverness and Achray House Hotel was a very perfect stay for us.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlantheTrekker, Owner at Achray House Hotel & Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Thanks for your kind review, and wishing you the best for the busy season in Inverness.

Regards
Alan Gibson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Fillans
0.1 mi away
The Four Seasons Hotel
The Four Seasons Hotel
#2 of 2 in St. Fillans
933 reviews
7.3 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
445 reviews
10.5 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Kenmore Hotel
Kenmore Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kenmore
928 reviews
19.8 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
22.8 mi away
Dunkeld House Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunkeld
2,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Achray House Hotel & Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Achray House Hotel & Lodges

Address: | On Loch Earn, St. Fillans PH6 2NF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > St. Fillans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in St. Fillans
Price Range: $131 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Achray House Hotel & Lodges 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you want action packed activity, or just to relax and unwind, the Achray House Hotel and Lodges are ideal for a break away from the stresses and strains of modern life. With a choice between comfortable bedrooms in the hotel, or well appointed self catering lodges, you can choose accommodation to suit your mood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Achray House Hotel & Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Achray House Hotel St. Fillans
Achray Hotel St Fillans
Achray House Hotel & Lodges St. Fillans, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing