We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic 2 night break away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Achray House Hotel and Lodges
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in St. Fillans
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic 2 night break away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

I would fully recomend spending some time at The Achry House Hotel, my partner and i had some time off work and our son was away for a few days. we wanted a luxury hotel brake away from city life. The Hotel has amazing views. Lots to do in surrounding areas. Our room was lovely and the staff were very friendly and welcoming. The food was delicious. I recomend trying the salmon option at breakfast very tasty!!! Thankyou for making our stay special.

Room Tip: Room 6 was perfect for us great sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlantheTrekker, Owner at The Achray House Hotel and Lodges, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thanks for your generous review, and hopefully we will see you again when you need another break from city life.

Regards
Alan Gibson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    409
    108
    15
    6
    5
See reviews for
43
409
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Banchory, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Phoned up asking about cots as looking to book the loch view room for my partners 30th. First sentence 'we do not have facilities for children'. Not willing to entertain a couple with a 4 month old baby. Being scottish I am disgusted at this snobbery.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Oggie21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlantheTrekker, Owner at The Achray House Hotel and Lodges, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
You wanted to book a specific room in the hotel and indeed we do have a policy of not accommodating babies or young children in these rooms. Had you given me a chance rather than ringing off, I would have gone on to explain that we are happy to welcome children in the lodges adjacent to the hotel, one of which also has a loch view.

We reluctantly took the decision not to accommodate babies or young children in the hotel last year after a number of instances where other guests were kept awake for much of the night by noisy children or unsettled babies. As we don't have any rooms in the hotel that are isolated enough from the other rooms that the type of noise would not carry, we took the decision to limit accommodating babies and young children to the adjacent lodges, which are each stand alone buildings, and, as they have a living room as well as a bedroom have enough space for Z bed, which the rooms in the hotel do not.

Incidentally, I don't like being called a snob by someone based on a phone call of a few seconds. Insulting people because you can't get what you want is not the behaviour I look for in a fellow Scot, and is in my experience thankfully very rare. There is no snobbery involved in arriving at difficult decision. Obviously we cannot please all of the people all of the time, but we do have to run the hotel in a way that lets our guests enjoy the peace and tranquillity that the hotel and the village are renowned for.

Alan Gibson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Lovely little hotel in St Fillans on the shores of Loch Earn. Stunning views & we were so fortunate to have had some fantastic weather too. The owners & staff are so friendly & work very hard to make their guests feel welcome, the atmosphere is very relaxing, just what I was looking for. Try an Islay gin from the bar, very smooth. Drink it, sitting at a table on the decking, facing the loch, aah, heaven!. The rooms were spotless & well presented, although I, personally, could have done with a bit more shampoo & shower gel. We didn't have a loch view room, however it didn't spoil our experience as the views from the bar & restaurant were fantastic. The taster menu was included in the price of our stay & the quality of the food & the presentation was very good. All in all, a very pleasant experience at the Achray House Hotel & one I would definately try again & again.

Room Tip: If you haven't visited Scotland before, ask for a loch view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margaret m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlantheTrekker, Owner at The Achray House Hotel and Lodges, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thanks for your generous review, and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Regards
Alan Gibson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

A little gem of a hotel with the highlight being the quality of the food. Loads of walks and places of scenic beauty. Although our stay was short and we didn't sample other local eateries, we think it would be hard to beat the food at this hotel.

Room Tip: You can choose a mountain or loch view - we were happy with the mountain view, but it's your cho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley186565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlantheTrekker, Owner at The Achray House Hotel and Lodges, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thanks for your kind review, and hopefully we will see you for a longer stay another time.

Regards
Alan Gibson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

had a wonderful stay at achray house hotel ....rooms were spotlessly clean and the tasting menu was wonderful....the setting for the hotel is incredible ....we got a good bit of walking done in the area whilst bagging ben vorlich .....the staff were most helpful ...will be back ....

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ALAN_WParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlantheTrekker, Owner at The Achray House Hotel and Lodges, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thanks for your kind review, and well done on Ben Vorlich, our local Munro.

Looking forward to seeing you again.

Regards
Alan Gibson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fife
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

We've stayed at this hotel for short breaks over the past few years and have never been disappointed.
We stayed for a night in the Coachman's room this time as all the of the Loch view rooms were fully booked. It was a lovely room and we had plenty of opportunity to view the Loch from the out door decking area over a drink and also in the conservatory restaurant in the evening.

The menu is innovative and manages to be a good blend of traditional and modern. I had the smoked haddock tortellini to start and it was melt in the mouth delicious. I then had a lovely risotto made with beetroot and goats cheese which was outstanding . My partner had the haggis with irn bru marmalade-he is not normally very adventurous when it comes to trying new things but he loved this! His chicken was also cooked to perfection. The presentation of all the dishes is excellent and all the staff are very friendly and knowledgable about the food and drinks.
There is a very good selection of malts.
There is a comfortable lounge to sit in before and after dinner and the aforementioned outside seating area is a recent added bonus on a sunny day or evening.
We will definitely be back and cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

Room Tip: The loch view rooms are worth asking for but the coachman's room is perfectly adequate. Try the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bas20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlantheTrekker, Owner at The Achray House Hotel and Lodges, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thanks for your generous review, especially your comments on our food. We love cooking with beetroot, and use it in lots of ways, even in a dessert, so I'm pleased you tried the beetroot and red wine risotto. The Irn Bru chilli jam is also a popular choice.

Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards
Alan Gibson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Went here April past on a groupon/Itison. Friends had a one bedroom cottage for the week so when we seen the voucher we thought why not. £100 for two with breakfast and 6 course Scottish starter meal.
So far so good. However, when I asked to eat at 7pm that was too early and would 7-30pm be OK I said yes. We turned up at 7-20pm to be told we were too early. Our friends joined us and luckily asked what the 6 starter menu would cost them. £100 was the reply. Our friends decided not to pay that and asked for the main menu, we were then told that this could not be provided.
Our friends then decided to leave and eat at their cottage and we remained to have our meal only to find that two other guests were having a meal from the a la carte menu.
I will say that the room was excellent and the food, breakfast was superb but we were very disappointed wit the owners attitude. Turning good money away doesn't seem like good business.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ColinJsComments
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlantheTrekker, Owner at The Achray House Hotel and Lodges, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thanks for your review.

Let me answer your points regarding your friends.

Firstly the price of the taster menu. As you say, you had purchased a deal we did for a half price taster menu and night at the hotel. We limit the number of these deals as, frankly, we don't make any money on them, so when your friends wanted to join you, as they had not purchased the discounted deal we quoted them our standard taster menu price of £49 per person. Incidentally, the only other hotel in the area that I know of offering a taster menu charges £55 per person.

Your friends made it abundantly clear they were not prepared to pay that much money for a meal. We would have happily served them our standard menu at £34, but, as with all other restaurants I am aware of offering a taster menu, everybody at one table has to eat of that one menu, and you quite reasonably wanted the taster menu you had booked.

Requiring the whole table to eat of the same menu, which as I say is a standard restaurant practice for taster menus, is done for two main reasons. Firstly, the structure of a taster menu, in our case with six courses, is completely different from a normal menu which has a starter, main course and dessert, so matching courses with another menu of a smaller number of (larger) courses is not practical as there would be long delays between courses for both parties. Secondly, the complexity of the taster menu in a small kitchen such as ours means that mixing service with another menu at the same time is too complex, and would result in a lowering of the quality of the food served, which we are not prepared to do, even if it does mean turning away business.

I hope this explains why we could not accommodate your friends. Had they given me an opportunity after they let me know their views on the price I would have explained this to them.

Regards
Alan Gibson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Fillans
0.1 mi away
The Four Seasons Hotel
The Four Seasons Hotel
#2 of 2 in St. Fillans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
7.3 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
10.5 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Kenmore Hotel
Kenmore Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kenmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
17.7 mi away
Duchally Country Estate
Duchally Country Estate
#2 of 4 in Auchterarder
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Lochearnhead Hotel
The Lochearnhead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lochearnhead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Achray House Hotel and Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Achray House Hotel and Lodges

Property: The Achray House Hotel and Lodges
Address: Loch Earn, St. Fillans PH6 2NF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > St. Fillans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in St. Fillans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Achray House Hotel and Lodges 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you want action packed activity, or just to relax and unwind, the Achray House Hotel and Lodges are ideal for a break away from the stresses and strains of modern life. With a choice between comfortable bedrooms in the hotel, or well appointed self catering lodges, you can choose accommodation to suit your mood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, LateRooms, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Achray House Hotel and Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Achray House Hotel St. Fillans
Achray Hotel St Fillans
The Achray House Hotel And Lodges St. Fillans, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing