We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An ideal spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Achray House Hotel and Lodges
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in St. Fillans
Certificate of Excellence
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An ideal spot”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

A small friendly hotel. Ideal situation for visiting well known sites.
Beautiful sun patio overlooking Loch Earn, as does the dining room, and if you are lucky you might see an Osprey fishing in the loch.
The food is superb, such wonderful. Imaginative presentation.
Rooms very well decorated.

Room Tip: The Loch facing rooms are worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlantheTrekker, Owner at The Achray House Hotel and Lodges, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thanks for your kind review. As they visit us every year, we are prone to take the osprey for granted, but it is a magnificent sight when you see them dive and pull a fish from the loch.

Regards
Alan Gibson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    454
    115
    15
    6
    5
See reviews for
48
451
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

We had a great stay at this hotel , which was outstanding value for money with amazing views of the loch. Very warm, friendly family run hotel with modern spacious rooms. We had the six course taster menu in the new conservatory/dinning room over looking the picturesque loch. The food was fantastic with excellent all round service. We will certainly be back and well worth a visit !

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis2210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlantheTrekker, Owner at The Achray House Hotel and Lodges, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thanks for your generous review and I'm pleased you found us outstanding value for money.

Hoping to see you again soon.

Regards
Alan Gibson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We are just back from this hotel and loved it .We stayed in room 9 which was very nice,and tastefully decorated and also had a great nights sleep in a very comfortable bed .We had a pre dinner drinks in the residents lounge which was lovely with its big open fire and had great views of loch and mountains.
We had the 6 course taster meal which was delicous which was superbly cooked by Alan and served by his wife Jane .The breakfast in the morning was also excellent
All in all a great experience that we hope to repeat one day soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank duffy65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlantheTrekker, Owner at The Achray House Hotel and Lodges, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thanks for your review. I'm glad you had a good night, and were able to enjoy the log fire, even at the end of April!

Hopefully we will see you again soon.

Regards
Alan Gibson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnoustie
1 review
Reviewed April 30, 2013

This was our second visit to Achray House. Cannot recommend it highly enough, wonderful staff, beautiful location and food was of a superb standard. Tried the 6 course taster menu this time and especially enjoyed the wood pigeon and venison courses which were cooked to perfection.
Hotel is well situated for visiting Perthshire, Stirling and Edinburgh but it's hard dragging yourself away from such a wonderful location.

Room Tip: Have been in Loch View and Mountain View rooms, both very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bev55Carnoustie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlantheTrekker, Owner at The Achray House Hotel and Lodges, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thanks for your kind review on your return visit. Wood pigeon and venison are both very popular at Achray House, and we are lucky to have access to both in the local hills.

Hoping to see you again soon.

Regards
Alan Gibson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F
2 reviews
Reviewed April 28, 2013

What a wonderful stay very personal touch making you feel very much at home. Excellent food very well presented well worth the visits thank you

The view is best from the hotel. come here to definitely relax and watch the view , very peaceful

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Delsbells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlantheTrekker, Owner at The Achray House Hotel and Lodges, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thanks for your review and your kind comments on our food, atmosphere and view.

Regards
Alan Gibson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We had an amazing stay, next door to our friends and had a wonderful, restful, relaxing week, with some adventure thrown in...

As we were self catering, we were taking it in turns to cook in the evenings and we had everything we needed in both lodges and we all managed to cook quite a feast.. Hence the dieting now we are home .

The restaurant is a "must visit", the food is exquisite.... You must book as gets really busy and we were travelling at the beginning of the season.

If you are lucky enough to have, the Haggis Bon Bon's for starter are divine .. (think that's what they were called, the wine was also good ;-))

Staff at Achray cannot do enough for you, nothing is a problem.

We will definitely be returning, and hopefully, soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kazhep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlantheTrekker, Owner at The Achray House Hotel and Lodges, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thanks for your generous review. I'm glad you enjoyed your holiday in our self catering lodges, and had a chance to sample our contemporary Scottish food. Hoping to see you again soon, and getting the haggis bonbons with IrnBru chilla jam ready.

Regards
Alan Gibson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Went to Achray House with an Itison deal. dont be oput off by the unprepossessing exterior to the building the welcome inside is warm and friendly. The views of the loch are stunning and the 6 course taster menu was fabulous. Knowledgeable and friendly staff were able to complement the beautiful meal with some well chosen wines. Bedroom was very comfortable and breakfast in the morning hit the spot. Overall a wee gem. The food alone demands a return visit and the friendly welcome was another bonus.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StephenM166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlantheTrekker, Owner at The Achray House Hotel and Lodges, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thanks for your kind review and in particular you comments on the food.

As with most small rural hotels, we have a rolling programme of upgrading. We are well through this in the hotel itself, but the garden and outside are yet to be done. We hope to address some of this in the current year, weather (and finances) permitting.

Hoping to see you gain soon.

Regards
Alan Gibson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Fillans
0.1 mi away
The Four Seasons Hotel
The Four Seasons Hotel
#2 of 2 in St. Fillans
906 reviews
7.3 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
407 reviews
10.5 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
407 reviews
19.8 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
12.6 mi away
Cromlix
Cromlix
#1 of 1 in Kinbuck
1,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Achray House Hotel and Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Achray House Hotel and Lodges

Property: The Achray House Hotel and Lodges
Address: Loch Earn, St. Fillans PH6 2NF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > St. Fillans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in St. Fillans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Achray House Hotel and Lodges 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you want action packed activity, or just to relax and unwind, the Achray House Hotel and Lodges are ideal for a break away from the stresses and strains of modern life. With a choice between comfortable bedrooms in the hotel, or well appointed self catering lodges, you can choose accommodation to suit your mood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Achray House Hotel and Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Achray House Hotel St. Fillans
Achray Hotel St Fillans
The Achray House Hotel And Lodges St. Fillans, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing