We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Achray House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comrie Hotel(Comrie)(Great Value!)
$111
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clachan Cottage Hotel(Lochearnhead)
$138
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ardeonaig Hotel(Ardeonaig)
$116
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$174
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$284
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (664)
Filter reviews
664 results
Traveler rating
511
124
17
7
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
511
124
17
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstaster menuloch earnvenisonlog fireloch viewsmall hoteldining roomwell stocked barlovely hotelbeautiful locationfantastic foodfirst classwine listwarm welcomelocal producerelaxing stayitison deal
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
460 - 465 of 664 reviews
Reviewed April 30, 2013

This was our second visit to Achray House. Cannot recommend it highly enough, wonderful staff, beautiful location and food was of a superb standard. Tried the 6 course taster menu this time and especially enjoyed the wood pigeon and venison courses which were cooked to perfection.
Hotel is well situated for visiting Perthshire, Stirling and Edinburgh but it's hard dragging yourself away from such a wonderful location.

Room Tip: Have been in Loch View and Mountain View rooms, both very comfortable.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bev55Carnoustie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlantheTrekker, Owner at Achray House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Thanks for your kind review on your return visit. Wood pigeon and venison are both very popular at Achray House, and we are lucky to have access to both in the local hills.

Hoping to see you again soon.

Regards
Alan Gibson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

What a wonderful stay very personal touch making you feel very much at home. Excellent food very well presented well worth the visits thank you

The view is best from the hotel. come here to definitely relax and watch the view , very peaceful

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Delsbells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlantheTrekker, Owner at Achray House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Thanks for your review and your kind comments on our food, atmosphere and view.

Regards
Alan Gibson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We had an amazing stay, next door to our friends and had a wonderful, restful, relaxing week, with some adventure thrown in...

As we were self catering, we were taking it in turns to cook in the evenings and we had everything we needed in both lodges and we all managed to cook quite a feast.. Hence the dieting now we are home .

The restaurant is a "must visit", the food is exquisite.... You must book as gets really busy and we were travelling at the beginning of the season.

If you are lucky enough to have, the Haggis Bon Bon's for starter are divine .. (think that's what they were called, the wine was also good ;-))

Staff at Achray cannot do enough for you, nothing is a problem.

We will definitely be returning, and hopefully, soon.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kazhep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlantheTrekker, Owner at Achray House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Thanks for your generous review. I'm glad you enjoyed your holiday in our self catering lodges, and had a chance to sample our contemporary Scottish food. Hoping to see you again soon, and getting the haggis bonbons with IrnBru chilla jam ready.

Regards
Alan Gibson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Went to Achray House with an Itison deal. dont be oput off by the unprepossessing exterior to the building the welcome inside is warm and friendly. The views of the loch are stunning and the 6 course taster menu was fabulous. Knowledgeable and friendly staff were able to complement the beautiful meal with some well chosen wines. Bedroom was very comfortable and breakfast in the morning hit the spot. Overall a wee gem. The food alone demands a return visit and the friendly welcome was another bonus.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StephenM166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlantheTrekker, Owner at Achray House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Thanks for your kind review and in particular you comments on the food.

As with most small rural hotels, we have a rolling programme of upgrading. We are well through this in the hotel itself, but the garden and outside are yet to be done. We hope to address some of this in the current year, weather (and finances) permitting.

Hoping to see you gain soon.

Regards
Alan Gibson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed in one of the lodges, which are really comfortable, cosy, and well maintained. Yet again we had a wonderful time. It is so relaxing and with plenty to do, regardless of the weather. Thank you so much for your friendliness and hospitality. By the way, some top-chefing as well!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlantheTrekker, Owner at Achray House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Thanks for your review, and I'm glad you enjoyed your week in the lodge. Also many thanks for your kind comments on my cooking.

Regards
Alan Gibson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews