We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Achray House Hotel and Lodges
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in St. Fillans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 2, 2013

My wife and I visited Achray House again after receiving a special offer email that mentioned there was a Seafood Taster Menu available and we booked our room instantly as we had been before and love the place.
My review is a few months late as I lost a copy of the menu and the review wouldn't be the same without it.
Salmon - kiln smoked over peat, pink ginger jelly, wasabi air
Squat Lobster - light Thai broth, rice noodles
Mackrel - mini burger, braised orange, rhubarb compote
Scallop - beetroot foam, Talisker syrup
Hake - razor clam & chorizo, samphire, fennel cream
Seaweed - seaweed pannacotta, strawberries

Why anyone would book such a meal and then inform the hotel that they have a fish allergy is beyond me, perhaps a warning on a burning log should read hot don't touch.
The meal was a delight and is a reflection of the great effort that the owners put into making this a brilliant Country House Hotel. They have an excellent attitude in that they put highest standards at the top of wish list.
I was suprised one evening that an unbooked party was turned away from the restaurant and when I queried this the response was that, there wasn't adequate staff that evening to maintain the high levels that are expected of them and they prefer to maintain standards of food and service rather than simply take every booking that was available to them. Great attitude
Quality not quantity, lovely place
We will visit again
Russell & Wendy Hague

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RussHague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlantheTrekker, Owner at The Achray House Hotel and Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Thanks for your kind review, and for your comments on the Seafood Taster Menu. We thou roughly enjoyed the opportunity to feature some of the less used fish and shellfish on the menu,. as well as eternal favourites such as scallops.

As you mention, we try to concentrate on quality rather then numbers to ensure we can maintain high standards.

Looking forward to seeing you again this year.

Regards
Alan Gibson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (625)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

446 - 452 of 625 reviews

Reviewed December 14, 2012

Excellent accommodation and facilities. And if the shower takes a minute or two longer to warm, is that really the end of the world? No. This is highland country. That means relax for two minutes. And this is a hotel continuously developing and improving itself and its facilities.
The hotel arranged to dust the hills surrounding the lake with real snow. Our room was warm, all guests areas were warm - and it will have been warm in the kitchen.
The food was stunning. There were joyful tastes we had never previously experienced: e.g. if you choose the white/dark chocolate mousse with its tiny dark jelly topping of espresso/amaretto, save the jelly until last.
This is a small team of people who do something massive, memorable and magical.
We will return...

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidmkelly001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlantheTrekker, Owner at The Achray House Hotel and Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2012

Thanks for your generous review, and I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay and were lucky enough to see snow on the hills in November, which is still quite unusual even in the recent cols winters.

Looking forward to seeing you again next year.

Regards
Alan Gibson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

This hotel holds great memories for us as we got engaged here 10 yrs ago. My husband booked us a room in October (our 4th visit). When booking he was informed only room available was the Coachman room at the back. When we arrived the room was freezing and smelled of damp- not a good start. That night we had no hot water for a shower and when we asked the owner, we were informed the boiler at that side wasn't working properly and hadn't been or over a month!! At dinner it became apparent that we were the only guests who had paid full rate but had the worst room. Everyone else were on a "it is on deal". I know hotel have to make money and we've stayed at other places using deals but usually they keep a couple of the better rooms aside for full paying guests. The following morning I queried this with the owner along with our lack of hot water etc and she wasn't just wasn't interested. Such a shame that returning guests are treated like this. We've always loved Achray House but I think the current owners have changed it - for the worse. Would say though that the food was excellent.

We've booked into The Four Seaons next door for our Feb break!!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JGJF74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlantheTrekker, Owner at The Achray House Hotel and Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

I have been expecting your negative review since your angry rant to my wife when you checked out.

Let me deal with all your points, particularly the key issue that annoyed you: that you believed you were paying more than all other guests for a less good room, and that we should keep rooms back for guest paying our full rate.

I sympathise with your comments, but the facts are not quite as you express them.

Firstly, on keeping back a couple of rooms. We are an eight bedroom hotel and that would represent 25% of our rooms: we simply cannot afford to do that or we would have to put all prices up significantly to cover the lost income if the rooms were not let, and you and everybody else would end up paying more.

You were actually enjoying your stay until one of our other guests told you that had paid £99 for the night, and you had paid more. In fact, they had paid significantly more than £99. The core deal we sold was indeed £99, but there were supplements for stays at the weekend and in the better standard of rooms which meant that everybody was paying significantly more than £99, and indeed some were paying more than you did.

There are also other differences. You ate off our standard menu with a wide choice of dishes (and thank you for your positive comments on the food). The guests staying with an itison voucher ate off a fixed menu with no choices. Also, when each of these guests bought the voucher they did not know if they would be able to use it on any given date, as they had to buy the voucher first and then book the stay. You however booked your room for a specific date. Incidentally, you booked online and there is very full information on the rooms on our web site and booking engine, so you should not have been surprised by the room you booked.

Now to your other points. I am sorry the room was cold on arrival. The guest the previous evening had tuned off the central heating as he was too warm, and we missed that during housekeeping. You say you had no hot water, which is not true: it simply took some time to reach full temperature. This is not a boiler issue as you say, and indeed in the three years we have run the hotel it has never happened before, so I can only assume it was due to an unusually large demand for hot water which meant the pump which sends it to the room you were in took a little longer than normal to deliver water at full temperature.

You misunderstood my wife's comments on the boiler. We have two boilers both of which supply the whole hotel (plus a back up electric system), and we are replacing one of these boilers with a more modern, efficient and eco friendly model, but the replacement is on a long delivery.

You say the hotel has changed for the worse under our ownership. Obviously that is a personal opinion, but as you will see from the majority of other reviews on this site it is not the consensus. We have and are continuing to improve the hotel. In the three years we have been here we have spent over £100,000 on refurbishing and improving the public areas and bedrooms. We still have work to do, but I think we managing to take the homely but rather tired hotel we bought and create a contemporary, relaxed, friendly and informal country house hotel in the fabulous location we are lucky enough to live in.

Finally, you mention you have booked another hotel in the village for your February break. I would check the booking as that hotel is closed in January and February.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We've just spent a very relaxing few days in St Fillans, staying in the one bedroom lodge at Achray House. It was very well equipped and very comfortable, with lovely views of the loch. I would certainly recommend this accommodation to anyone wanting a peaceful get away. We didn't use the hotel restaurant but the menu looked good!

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank allypalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlantheTrekker, Owner at The Achray House Hotel and Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Thanks for taking the time to write a review, and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay in Ancala Lodge. Hopefully next time you will get a chance to eat in the restaurant, but unfortunately we were fully booked on the night you tried.

Regards
Alan Gibson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

This is our third visit to Achray House, from Oz! Each occasion has been special for a different reason but our recent visit was special because we loved the current dining style. Just before your chosen dining time you can enjoy your pre-dinner drink in the lounge (by the fire in winter) whilst you select from the menu (unless you have already chosen the six-course tasting menu which is a must-try for one of your overnight stays). Relax with your drink until you are called to your table for dinner (the menu is excellent), then return to the lounge for tea/coffee. Heavenly!
Situated overlooking Loch Earn you could well spend your days photographing the ever-changing landscape. (On an earlier summer-time visit you could watch the sun set over the Loch from the dining room.) With very courteous and friendly hosts and staff, this is really a wonderful experience, worth the flight!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Merrilyn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlantheTrekker, Owner at The Achray House Hotel and Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Thanks for your kind review, and I trust the journey back to Australia was uneventful.

You have summed up succinctly what Jane and I are trying to achieve at Achray House, and we look forward to you and your husband's fourth visit.

Regards
Alan Gibson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed one night for taster menu deal from Itison £99 for dinner B & B for two. Room 6 which was described as "mountain view" was clean, spacious, modern and well equipped, with a large comfortable double bed. Before going for our "Taster menu" we had drinks served to us as we relaxed in the peaceful lounge with a welcoming log fire and comfortable leather sofas. When our table was ready we were taken through and the meal was served with each course explained by polite and helpful staff, course proportions were ample enough to give an adequate "taster" while still allowing us both to enjoy all that was laid before us. Individually each of the six courses was an example of fine dinning of the highest level combined into excellent and highly satisfying dining experience. At breakfast the next morning the choices were comprehensive and of the same high standard served the previous evening with beautiful views across Lock Earn from the breakfast dining room. Come check out time the drinks bill was very modest especially considering the high standards of food and service received , this was our third visit to Achray House and we both look forward to our next.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Jon-smith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlantheTrekker, Owner at The Achray House Hotel and Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Thanks for your generous review, particularly your comments on the taster menu, which has become a regular feature of dining at Achray House this year. We look forward to your fourth visit to Achray House.

Regards
Alan Gibson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Like many of the other recent reviewers, we also stayed here recently as part of an itison deal which included a six course tasting menu. The hotel is in a great location over looking the loch and we really enjoyed our stay. Room was large and cosy and the couple who own the hotel were extremely friendly and do well to create a nice homely atmosphere in the hotel. All the food was excellent although I would have liked slightly larger portions for each course as the food was so nice! In saying that, I know our menu was part of a discounted offer and the portions for those eating from the standard evening menu looked substantial.

We loved the cosy lounge with the comfy sofas and log fire.. great for sitting before and after dinner and enjoying a nice drink from the bar. This was particularly welcoming when we first arrived having been walking all day. Speaking of which, the hotel is ideally located as the area contains numerous walks (munros etc) for all levels and the owners are happy to give great advice on this if guests are looking for suggested walks. We spent the next day in Comrie which I would highly recommend. I look forward to staying in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DL_1300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlantheTrekker, Owner at The Achray House Hotel and Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Thanks for your positive review, and I'm glad you enjoyed the food after your active day walking the local hills.

You mention the portion size in the taster menu. A taster menu is designed to be small portions of a larger number of courses, allowing you to enjoy the range of foods served without becoming too weighed down. Obviously portion size is a bit of an individual preference, but we don't reduce the size of the portions because you had bought a discounted deal.

I'm glad you enjoyed your one night stay, and hopefully we will see you again next year.

Regards
Alan Gibson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Fillans
0.1 mi away
The Four Seasons Hotel
The Four Seasons Hotel
#2 of 2 in St. Fillans
930 reviews
7.3 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
439 reviews
10.5 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
5.9 mi away
Clachan Cottage Hotel
Clachan Cottage Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lochearnhead
805 reviews
17.7 mi away
CLC Duchally Country Estate
CLC Duchally Country Estate
#2 of 3 in Auchterarder
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Achray House Hotel and Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Achray House Hotel and Lodges

Address: Loch Earn, St. Fillans PH6 2NF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > St. Fillans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in St. Fillans
Price Range: $117 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Achray House Hotel and Lodges 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you want action packed activity, or just to relax and unwind, the Achray House Hotel and Lodges are ideal for a break away from the stresses and strains of modern life. With a choice between comfortable bedrooms in the hotel, or well appointed self catering lodges, you can choose accommodation to suit your mood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Achray House Hotel and Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Achray House Hotel St. Fillans
Achray Hotel St Fillans
The Achray House Hotel And Lodges St. Fillans, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing