We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot and fantastic service!”
Review of Drummond Hotel

Drummond Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Fillans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Drummond Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 St. Fillans B&B and Inns
aberdeenshire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great spot and fantastic service!”
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Stayed here for a couple of nights with family....The hotel is under new management as from ten weeks ago but they definitely seem to know what the customer wants! The bedroom decor is a little tired but they were spotlessly clean and the showers hot. The views are spectacular from loch front rooms, and despite being close to the road, very quiet. The friendly owner and staff are absolutely fantastic...I felt no request would have been too much bother for any of them. We only ate from the bar menu but the food was fantastic.... We will definitely return...soon!

Room Tip: Definitely book a loch front room for spectacular views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sidesaddlefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    15
    7
    13
    23
See reviews for
14
28
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2011

Myself and my partner stayed here for a long weekend on the recommendation of our friends who had been themselves in May.

We booked a four poster room which had a marvelous view of the loch and scenery. The room was lovely and comfortable and very clean. It had all we required and was refreshing to stay in such a beautiful building.

As we arrived quite early in the day the receptionist suggested we took one of the short walks opposite the hotel and along to the nearby golf course. My partner who loves golf plans to return for a golfing weekend with the lads.

The food at the hotel I could not fault at all. Value for money all round. We compared menus with nearby hotels and restaurants but are glad we ate at The Drummond. Their Fine Dining menu is just right and affordable. Good portions and good wine to go with it. We got talking to another couple who it turned out where staying at a nearby hotel and had been eating at The Drummond Hotel every day since and wished they had also booked to stay.

The staff are so pleasant and can't do enough for you. The hotel is under new management and are planning a big refurb soon. I don't think there is much wrong with it now though as it is just perfect just as it is. Some people like imperfections.

We are so glad we have found this gem and will definately return soon!

Room Tip: Ask for a Loch View
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank edinburghbabe186525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrshire
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2011

Seven couples stayed over the weekend of 17 and 18/06/2011 and had a great time.
Under new management, this hotel is going places. Extensive renovation is planned and I'm looking forward to returning when it's complete (or even before!!)
In the meantime, the new management and staff were welcoming, efficient and eager to please. The rooms are a bit and in need of refurbishment (see above) but perfectly clean and the bed was very comfortable.
Dinner on both nights was superb with an excellent menu to choose from, the food beuatifully cooked and a good selection of wines to accompany it.

Room Tip: Ask for a loch view or one of the four-poster beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ABFANAyrshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

We were staying at a hotel near the Drummond hotel. The food where we were staying wasn't that great so we popped into the drummond for something. The staff couldn't have been more friendly and the steak pie was to die for!!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cdlw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2011

when we stayed there i was recovering from cancer both landlord and landlady could not do enough for me. the hotel was clean and comfortable . the scenary around st finnans is fantastic we have been there for the last 5 yrs and will be going back. the welcome from every one at the hotel is like going home.

Room Tip: ask for lock view fantastic.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank stevo28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2011

We were staying down the road a litte and this was our third time to St Fillans, which is probably one of the most beautiful areas in the whole of Scotland. We popped into the Drummond for a quick drink to find it is currently under new ownership. The owner and staff were terrific and clearly have some great plans ahead for what is an impressive and previously under utilised venue. We were even given a tour of the premesis and whilst it is clear there will be a lot of work in the next few weeks it looks like it will turn into a vibrant, modern and very Scottish hotel with a welcoming atmosphere.
What was also apparent was how many locals were relieved at the change of ownership and the bar was buzzing throughout the evening.
Andy the host couldnt have been more welcoming (even our dog felt comfortable enough to nap under a table) and I look forward to returning and staying at the Drummond next time during our trips to Loch Earn and it's many outdoor activities.

Room Tip: plans for live music weekly,
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank peteedin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunbar, Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2011

Words cannot express our anger about the way we were treated by both Expedia and this Hotel. Turned up on 1st April (and it was no joke believe me!) for a three night stay to find hotel completely closed. We had emailed the hotel about three weeks before to request a loch view and have their confirmation that breakfast was included in the price and they responded more or less right away to say a room with a loch view would be available for us and yes breakfast is included. I can believe they had the audacity to respond to our email when the hotel was actually closed and they never advised us of this. Expedia were no help at all but we did find other accommodation no thanks to anyone but ourselves driving round. Whilst we sat outside on phone to Expedia a car drew up with two males and a female. My husband spoke to them and explained our situation. Turned out they are taking over the hotel in two weeks time. During the conversation the F word was used by these people which is another disgrace if they were looking for us to stay there in the future - I think not. One of the men said dont hold it against us (for the hotel being closed which may not of course have been their fault) and we said we would certainly never consider booking that hotel again under any circumstances - BE WARNED if you have to come from a distance - we travelled 140 miles.

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Tennentslager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these St. Fillans hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Fillans
0.1 mi away
The Four Seasons Hotel
The Four Seasons Hotel
#2 of 2 in St. Fillans
904 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Achray House Hotel and Lodges
6.0 mi away
The Lochearnhead Hotel
The Lochearnhead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lochearnhead
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
406 reviews
5.9 mi away
Clachan Cottage Hotel
Clachan Cottage Hotel
#1 of 6 in Lochearnhead
794 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Rural Retreat
The Rural Retreat
#1 of 2 in St. Fillans
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drummond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drummond Hotel

Property: Drummond Hotel
Address: On Loch Earn, St. Fillans PH6 2NF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > St. Fillans
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in St. Fillans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arran Brewery have taken over this hotel. Its currently a work in progress. As can be seen from previous reviews there is a lot of work to be done. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Drummond Hotel St. Fillans, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing