We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent afternoon fun!”
Review of St. Fillans Boat Hire - CLOSED

St. Fillans Boat Hire
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hey, we are a small family run Boat Hire Business in the heart of St Fillans. We welcome all visitors, from babies to the elderly from experienced to novice and we even welcome well behaved dogs! We actually build and sell these boats too so we know our stuff. Whether you want to potter about or try your hand at fishing you can hire for 2, 4 or 8 hours and we even include all of the fuel. All life jackets are supplied free of charge. Please note that we pride ourselves on being a friendly, very safety conscious business and with the latter in mind, please note that if we do not think that weather conditions are safe enough for a trip out ..The boats will not be hired our until calmer conditions return. We have a Facebook page.....Check our some of our customers comments (the ones we remembered to tell that we were on Facebook!) Search St. Fillans Boat Hire............And for a good look at our Arran 16 Search Arranboats. Hope to see you all very soon.
Stamford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent afternoon fun!”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

From the moment we picked up the phone to book an afternoons boat and rod hire we were impressed by the friendly but professional organisation of our trip out on the loch. Everything was made so simple for us and we thank the owners (and their friends!) for this. We enjoyed a memorable 4 hours fishing and picnicking on a clean, well equipped boat. The scenery was spectacular as was the fishing and we were amazed and delighted to catch five fish! A truly fantastic afternoon, thank you (delicious dinner in the evening too!).

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank C W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Captainand1stmate, Owner at St. Fillans Boat Hire, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time out of your day to review our business. The fish "gods" looked kindly on you.....5, that's great going! Catching is bonus........chilling and having a great all round experience is paramount to us. So happy we help to make people's days more enjoyable........seeing our customers faces as they come in is priceless. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great family day out”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Spent the day on loch earn with my family and we all really enjoyed ourselves with the added bonus of catching a fish as well the boat was ready, the owners were helpful and informative really enjoyed our visit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Perthfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Captainand1stmate, Owner at St. Fillans Boat Hire, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Cuffed that our little business in our little village is attracting lovely people who leave great comments.....what more could we ask for......less rain and more people like yourselves! Thanks fr taking a little time out of your day to make mine x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilwinning, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great way to enjoy the views and entertain the kids (and adults)!”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Great wee boats that are very novice friendly and great fun. A great way to see the loch and enjoy the freedom and if inclined catch some fish. The owners could not be more helpful and accommodating and turn a fun time into a very special time. Great value and would strongly recommend.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank df042012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Captainand1stmate, Owner at St. Fillans Boat Hire, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thanks for your lovely comments........our boats aren't fast but steady, no fancy dash boards-a simple steering wheel or throttle, a quick lesson and then you're off. Its a very laid back, leisurely way of passing a few hours with friends soaking up the stunning scenery or the best way of giving your kids their first experience of catching a fish. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowdenbeath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Great business”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

just like to say that my grandsons and myself camped up at lochearn and consider ourselves fortunate to have the pleasure of meeting Kay & Dave who we hired the Arron 16 from for two days fishing,(never caught anything but didn't spoil the fun) The couple could not have been any nicer and nothing was too much trouble, would recomend their business to anyone.

Thanks
Billy A
Cowdenbeath.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank William A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Captainand1stmate, Owner at St. Fillans Boat Hire, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Billy, thanks for your glowing review. Wish we had even more customers like yourself about...did you tell the grandchildren that's why it's called "fishing" and not "catching". It is such a pity that they didn't catch but at least you all had the most beautiful weather. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Superb way to enjoy the loch”
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Booked with the owner at the last minute....couldn't of been more helpful. We were camping at comrie croft (only 6miles away) and needed something different to do....so glad we chose this. Lovely trip up the loch on "Iona" after a brief safety chat with Dave we were left alone to enjoy the 2 hours we had booked for. Easy controls and great views as you chug along. Returned to be met by Dave in his chest waders to help "park" the ship....a wonderful time with great hosts....and yes i will be back.
Thanks and see you again Jon and Ollie from Auchterarder.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank JON L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Captainand1stmate, Owner at St. Fillans Boat Hire, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
So happy you found the whole experience enjoyable, I think that sometimes people think the driving of the boat will be too difficult....and that couldn't be further from the truth! You have now seen our Loch from a totally different perspective.....great isn't it?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Fillans Boat Hire also viewed

St. Fillans, Perth and Kinross
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing