We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Famous Bein Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Famous Bein Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glenfarg
Avoca Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014

The standard room was modest, but the public rooms are very pleasant. The food was generally very good, but just as expensive as elsewhere in Scotland. The staff are very capable and friendly. Although it didn't bother us, others might need to know that it's on a busy road.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fufan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    63
    43
    24
    29
See reviews for
63
108
2
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

We decided to have a weekend break but had trouble finding kennels for our dog ,so I found the Bein Inn on the internet in dog Friendly Places to stay in Scotland,we phoned and booked and the owners were very helpful .When we arrived we were shown to our room which was large and very ciean .
We had a drink in the bar which had a friendly atmosphere and later had a meal which was tasty.
The breakfast menu had a good selection and was cooked to perfection using local produce .
The beds were very comfy there also was a fridge in the room ,clean towels ,plenty hot water and excellent shower, .This Inn also is very eco minded running there system by a Bio -Mass .On the whole our stay was very pleasant

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

After having boycotted for 18 months due to dreadful food and service, we went back thinking it had changed hands, new menu etc. I was very disappointed by the food presented. Menu looks great but what comes out can be got elsewhere and much nicer. Service was average at best as we had to continually ask for basics. Another try was our last try

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesleyinthefarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Glenfarg hotels

Forfar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

We were recommended the Famous Bein Inn by friends and were looking forward to eating here. We each ordered a roast beef sandwich and soup at £7.95 per person. The soup was good, but the sandwich contained just one thin and small slice of dry roast beef with lots of gristle and fat, between slices of toast, burnt on one side and untoasted on the other. The drinks were also expensive compared with other local pub-restaurants. We expressed our disappointment when we'd finished, only to be told by the manager that we should have complained when the food arrived, something I'd normally only do if the item was obviously inedible or unsafe to eat. We just thought this was very poor value for money, at £2.50 in a fast-food joint, it would have been OK. The manager then said she would send us a voucher for a future visit, which I would have gladly accepted as a gesture of apology, some other diners seemed to have better fare. But this never arrived: the manager obviously really doesn't care anything for customer service or value for money. Our friends have told us they will never recommend the Bein Inn again to any of the customers of their business.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank mvkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

My husband and I took our friends, one of whom had owned the Bein Inn in the 1960's and another who had worked for him as a waiter, there for dinner when the former waiter came to Scotland on holiday: it was supposed to be a special evening... We were a few minutes late but still wanted to take some photos outside first: I checked with the girl behind the bar that this was alright and she said it was... However, everything that went wrong thereafter was blamed on us being late! We had to sit in the bar which was rather hot and crowded - there is a large dining room, so I don't know why it wasn't being used. The waitress made several mistakes with the drinks order and seemed sullen about being told. The food took a long while to come - it wasn't too bad, to be fair: sole credit of the evening is due to the chef. However, the waitress made more mistakes with a subsequent drinks order, and was quite rude and while I obviously don't condone this, she was rushed off her feet because... the lady in charge had not appeared until the bar was full and when she did, wandered from table to table, chatting to diners while the waitress tried to do everything. The waitress was dressed smartly in black: by contrast, her employer was dressed for the beach, right down to pink sparkly flip-flops. When she got to our table, I told her that there had been some problems with the drinks and her attitude was absolutely, Don't Want to Know. She ignored the points we tried to make, instead of addressing them, and walked off. After the meal, we were sitting in front of empty plates for about fifteen minutes - while she chatted to the people at the next table. Our table was never cleared and we left without ordering dessert or coffee, which we had been going to - and said so (she wasn't bothered!) When I paid the bill, I told her we'd had a most disappointing evening: she was absolutely unconcerned and while she eventually did apologise (as there was a guest within earshot!), it was in the most perfunctory way and said that because we were late the waitress had been 'flustered' and that as they were only used to 'a nice clientele', the girl was not used to be told that she was doing anything wrong... Needless to say, it was a shame for our guests and I wouldn't advise anybody to risk trying to celebrate any sort of special occasion at the Bein Inn.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
9 Thank Desi v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

First visit to the Bein Inn...and am very pleased to say that I recently enjoyed a superb dinner at this hidden gem in Perthshire.... The menu is most interesting with plenty of choice..(truth is I could have gone for almost any item listed!..they all looked really good). Decided to start with seared scallops which were absolutely perfect and beautifully presented, generous rib eye steak was cooked exactly medium to rare as ordered, and a delightful creme brûlée to finish....all washed down with several pints of excellent Guinness....all made for a brilliant meal.
Accomodation is basic but clean and tidy, very good shower, complimentary shampoo,shower gel comfortable bed...and plenty of tea , coffee, chocolate and biscuits in the room...although decor is a little tired, it was certainly no hardship staying here. Staff were friendly, very helpful and courteous.
Plenty of choice for breakfast...finally opted for the full Scottish cooked which was just perfect...served very hot, and comprised excellent quality bacon, sausage, black pudding, field mushrooms, tomato, 2 eggs and scone...tea and toast.
No hesitation recommending the Bein Inn, particularly for the superb food served here, and will certainly return when next travelling in Scotland.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GMega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

We decided to go here as a birthday meal for my daughter, so booked in advance as there were 8 of us in our party.
Arrived to be greeted with "you can dine in the bar although table offered was very small and not enough room for 6adults and two young children ,or in the dining room" which was much quieter as no other guests present!
We arrived at 6.15pm,got seated and after a long wait,waitress came with menus(no offer of taking drinks order)when prompted,that was done.

Then the fun began.

Drinks arrived , to be presented with black specs in every drink ,except two, when we challenged them they said "that's strange,but would change"could be due to someone not rinsing out the coffee cups before putting them into the dishwasher ,so when they bring you new drinks you would expect them to be crystal clear............. you guessed it ,no still the same in one of the glasses.Yet again,back to the kitchen to rectify,AGAIN!!

The kids food arrived at the same time as our starters as requested,about 45mins after we arrived ,by this time everyone was starving ,bearing in mind we had a 4& 8 year old with us. My grandson asked for carrots with his meal and they forgot to bring them and had to be reminded, as for the starters they all arrived at a similar time apart from the prawn cocktail which arrived just as everyone was finishing theirs. Nobody came to clear the plates for some time and had to be prompted again for more drinks.

The main meals finally arrived about an 1 1/2 hrs after arriving which were all delivered at the same time, but they forgot the order and tried to give one of the party a burger when he asked for chicken. We then had to prompt them for the side orders of onion rings and chips, which eventually came when the main meals were finished.

When we challenged who appeared to be the owner , she had severe attitude problem and tried to justify the errors on the till not picking up the meals properly and that they were busier than they expected. Let me tell you ,they were not busy with meals anyway ,and remember we had booked in advance so therefore surely the least you would expect would be common courtesy and an apologetic explanation which we would have totally accepted and understood.

There was no apology for the distinct lack of service and organised chaos throughout the meal.

So if you are thinking about going for a meal, I wouldn't recommend it.Have eaten in most of the restaurants in and around Perth, and this by far has been the worst experience for service we have ever come across,was really disappointed as this was for a birthday celebration and totally ruined our night out.........Never Again,felt like we were appearing in a comedy sketch,shocking.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Cheryl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenfarg
7.0 mi away
The Green Hotel
The Green Hotel
#3 of 6 in Kinross
4.0 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
7.1 mi away
Kirklands Hotel
Kirklands Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kinross
5.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
6.9 mi away
Windlestrae Hotel
Windlestrae Hotel
#5 of 6 in Kinross
3.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
8.6 mi away
Lomond Hills Hotel
Lomond Hills Hotel
#1 of 1 in Freuchie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#18 of 18 in Perth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Famous Bein Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Famous Bein Inn

Property: The Famous Bein Inn
Address: A912 at intx B996 | Perth and Kinross, Glenfarg PH2 9PY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Glenfarg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glenfarg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Famous Bein Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your The Famous Bein Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Famous Bein Hotel Glenfarg
Bein Hotel Glenfarg
The Famous Bein Inn Glenfarg, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing