We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Improving on the near perfect”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Glen Lyon, Perth and Kinross, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Chris G
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Improving on the near perfect”
Reviewed October 20, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This was my fourth visit to Tighnault; far from becoming blase, the wonderment just increases every time. Owners Susan and Nigel have added a really nice improvement in the form of new double-glazed windows. These are really effective in improving heat retention and make a big difference. Woodland at the top of the driveway has been cleared to make way for a picnic area. I can't wait to see the result next summer. Tighnault remains, by far, my self-catering destination of choice.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 21, 2016
Thanks again, hot tub next ?!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Explore65...
1 review
“Perfect”
Reviewed September 9, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Beautifully presented property in a stunning location. The property is very well equipped and even has a store cupboard of basic ingredients. Glen Lyon is incredibly beautiful and we enjoyed our stay very much.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: tv a bit tricky to control!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 10, 2016
Thanks very much, look forward to seeing you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris G
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“High standards maintained at this super-enchanting lodge.”
Reviewed May 4, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

I have now stayed three times at Tighnault and I never tire of it. Whether it is spotting red deer in the garden, watching the snow cascading down from Glen Lyon, walking beside the nearby burn and river, chilling in the wonderful lounge in front of the woodburner or just enjoying a glass of wine in the peace and solitude surrounding Tighnault, the end result is priceless. It is the stuff of which dreams are made. Owner Susie Walker has put her own wonderful signature on Tighnault . She is well-travelled and understands exquisitely what holidaymakers need and demand. Her hallmark is quality, which shows itself throughout Tighnault. I cannot wait to return to this haven of tranquility.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 5, 2016
Huge thanks for your feedback Chris, also it was lovely to meet you at last.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele H
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“So relaxing”
Reviewed February 29, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

You can feel the stress falling off you as the towns give way to pretty villages that give way to small roads tiny hamlets and you are stress free by the time you get to Invervar.

Kenmore is pretty but still has people but the traffic thins out as you come off the north loch Tay road and head for the enchanting little hamlet of Fortingall. The traffic noise disappear as you turn off into this little Glen. You really feel yourself to be in the Highlands when you get out of your car and there is only the sound of you and the stream and the birds.
The nights are black with beautiful skies, you can stand outside and listen to the owls.

Ther are lovely walks over the hills and through the wood and for the energetic you can bag 4 munros in one amazing walk from here.

The cottage is very well equipped and comfortable and our hosts had clearly gone to some trouble to ensure our comfort with clever supplies.

We spent our time clambering up the hills looking for deer, red squirrel and the local eagle. Indoors we prepared well deserved meals in a properly equipped kitchen then sipped something tasty whilst staring out the big picture window by day then cuddled up in front of the stove in the evening.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin E
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Beautiful”
Reviewed October 21, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We only stayed for 2 nights in August, but had a fantastic stay. The house is lovely, and we only wish we could have stayed longer. We saw deer, birds of prey, a hare in the front garden, and it was safe for our children, our dog, and my mum (in her 80's).

It was really a romantic return for my mum to a region she stayed in and toured often with my dad. She paid for the stay and couldn't have been more thrilled - that made it all worth it!

Thanks

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting.
Liked least: Midgees!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helenw092...
Angus, United Kingdom
1 review
“Long journey but worth it.”
Reviewed September 17, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Be prepared to travel long single track windy roads and watch out for signs especiallly to Glen Lyon. We saw the hare and a buzzard but no squirrels except deceased ones. Hostess very welcoming and well equipped cottage. Could have done with lighter duvets very hot. Curtains in bedrooms didnt close which meant early waking! Log fire a bonus but we were lucky with the weather so didn't need it mu h.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet area lots of walks with option to just sit in the garden.
Liked least: Winter duvets feather cushions which stuck in you and midges
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
allison41
1 review
“Hogmanay in Glen Lyon”
Reviewed January 5, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Had a fantastic family holiday in this beautiful hideaway Glen and cottage , lots of great walking around and lots of wildlife to see. Cottage couldn't have been better equipped even managed to make a birthday cake and although I forgot the candles there were some in the cupboard!! Very comfortable and welcoming hosts who are happy to help you out with anything but also happy to leave you to your own devices as well ,hope to try it again but in summer next time so we can make full use of the garden and both our dogs loved the freedom as well.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing