We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Gorgeous family-friendly cottage”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Crieff, Perth and Kinross, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Cheebs
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Gorgeous family-friendly cottage”
Reviewed August 14, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This is one of those places deserving of a gushing review... it's a gorgeous cottage with stunning views.

But, rather than being solely a romantic country escape for couples, it's equally perfect for families with children of all ages. I'm staying with my five-year-old nephew and sister. With four bedrooms and three bathrooms, there are no arguments over toilets, showers and baths! The cottage is really well decorated but not filled with breakable artefacts or antique furniture. We felt instantly at home and very welcome (there was even a gift of home-made cake and jam).

It's a five-minute drive to a large Co-op supermarket, so we stocked up on food for the huge fridge-freezer. The cottage owners have thought of everything, including a thoughtful guide to the local area. There are plenty of walking options right outside the cottage as well as lots of day trip options by car. We even drove out to the famous Jacobite steam train which goes from Fort William to Mallaig (the setting of those amazing overhead Hogwarts Express scenes from Harry Potter films). There's a great safari park quite near for a great day out as well as lochs, mountains and lots of wildlife spotting. It's also an easy day trip to drive out into the Trossachs National Park, with a fun boat cruise on Loch Lomond.

We used the cottage's well-equipped kitchen to prepare picnics and some evening meals, as well as eating out at some really good local restaurants...The Tower, just a few minutes along the road in Crieff, is really family-friendly with a play area and children's menu; there's even a Harvester 20 minutes drive away in Perth.

Glowry Cottage is a perfect base for holidays offering amazing facilities, comfort and a friendly welcome.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The amazing views
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise B
Tobermory, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Stunning scenery - perfect location”
Reviewed August 10, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Glowry House was well equipped and the owner was very helpful. The view from the house is breath taking and at it's very peaceful and quiet you can't help but to relax. I would recommend it for families or a group of friends staying. Reasonably priced too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and the lovely brownies left for our arrival!
Liked least: Leaving to go home
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren F
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Brilliant ”
Reviewed July 26, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Stayed here for a weekend as had a wedding in the area. The house exceeded our exceptions and the hosts were very friendly and responded promptly to emails. The house is much more modern and feels more luxurious than the pictures depict. The bathrooms were modern and well equipped. The homemade brownies were delicious and a variety of games and dvds were provided. This property would be perfect for a family but suited our friend group too. This place is excellent value for money and feels very rural but only takes 5 mins to drive to the centre of Crieff. It's also so clean and peaceful with lovely views. I would definitely stay here again if in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 7, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: well equipped, clean & fresh
Liked least: only one double room, we moved bedding so kids could share.
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ailsa C
Crieff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“A great home from home for a family of four”
Reviewed May 5, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Forced out of our house due to extensive renovations, Glowry Cottage was the perfect respite. Bright and spacious with stunning views towards Auchterarder and Glendevon we all loved our time here. I needed to set up my office temporarily here and I loved working in the sunny kitchen and I really appreciated the fast wifi - plus there is 4G. The layout is great with a handy utility room off the kitchen. The kids were so happy in their bedrooms and games for them to play with and my husband and I appreciated the great selection of DVDs and books to chill out with. Staying here really helped reduce our stress levels!

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Bright, spacious and easy to live in.
Traveling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 6, 2015
Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you (and your friends and family) again soon. The wifi and 4G reception is excellent, very tempting to move my office up there to enjoy the internet speeds, views and warm, sunny kitchen!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eileen B
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“We didn't want to leave !”
Reviewed January 29, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Although a few weeks ago now, we are still talking about our very memorable stay at Glowry Cottage. The cottage easily accommodated a number of family and friends over the New Year week we stayed ( 13 in total but not all at once ! ) , with spacious comfy single bedrooms and a fab extremely comfy double room with en suite. The living room was also great and the kitchen table was roomy for family games and food! Prior to booking we were looking for a cottage which would be easily accessible for my Mum who uses a walking frame, this cottage was ideal as we could park directly outside the side door and the bedroom on the ground floor was also next to the downstairs bathroom and this made getting around really easy for my Mum. The owners are delightful and we had a great tour of Monzie Castle and the hydro plant located on the estate, these felt like lovely extras and we all really enjoyed the tours. The location is lovely and the morning sunrises and sunsets were spectacular with stunning views from the upstairs rooms cove windows.
The location is also really good and on New Years day we discovered that Pitlochry ( about an hour drive away) holds an annual Street Party with hundreds of people ceilidh dancing in the street and free sausage rolls and soup, the atmosphere was great fun in spite of the rain and this is definitely worth a look. Locally there are a number of lovely places to visit and even though we were there over New Year there were still a number of places open and great places to see. We had a lovely special time and it was a great way to start 2015, the garden is lovely too with many different birds at the feeders making this a great place in all seasons although the fab heating and coal fire were most welcome during our winter stay. We are all unanimous in saying we would go back in an instant and are already talking about when to go again this year. Well done to Alexandra and David for creating a homely place for visitors. We will be back : )

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The size of the rooms and the views from the windows and how comfy the place was
Liked least: Nothing at all
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 19, 2015
Thank you so much for your lovely review. It was a pleasure to host you all and we're so glad you enjoyed the tours! We hope you will be back soon as we very much enjoyed meeting you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KB12Scotl...
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great cottage and hosts”
Reviewed January 27, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We enjoyed a great New Year break at Glowry Cottage. Alexandra and David were great hosts and made us feel very welcome. The cottage is very spacious with a large kitchen/ diner and living room with log fire. All the amenities necessary are on hand (washing machine, dishwasher, tumble drier etc) and each room is spacious and the cottage can easily accommodate 6 people comfortably. Great views from the front of the property over the Perthshire countryside with plenty to do nearby whether you want to relax or explore the scenery. Crieff is just five minutes down the road with plenty of shops to stock up on the essentials when needed. We would definitely recommend this cottage and look forward to returning at a later stage.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 19, 2015
Thank you for a lovely review. We're so glad you enjoyed your week in our cottage. Hope to see you again soon! Alexandra
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing