We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weather was the only down side”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Loch Monzievaird Self Catering Lodges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 30, 2011

This was our second trip to Monzievaird, and we've already booked for next year! We have 4 year old twins who've spent last year talking about their blue holiday home, and can't wait to go back.

The Loch is so peaceful, and even when it's wet, the view from the chalet window is lovely. The area has so many things to do, that a wet day doesn't dampen the holiday. Walks are plentiful - every 100 yards or so seems to be a footpath off to a monument or a waterfall, and there are castles and lochs galore.

The chalets are well equipped, and wonderfully quiet (pounding rain outside was blissfully silent inside), the views are great, and we convinced my parents to come with us this year, and they also had a great time. On arrival, our fridge wasn't performing as it should, but this was replaced within an hour of bringing the problem to the attention of the owners.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GailWilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (241)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 241 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2011

We had a fabulous week at "Iona" No 10 lodge. Facilities are superb. My dogs love the loch walk. A really special place that at the end of each week I wish I could stay for another. Switch the world off - and unwind. No stress. Already looking forward to my week next year.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlasgowElly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2011

Received excellent service and help before and during our stay. We were in the gatekeeper cottage and it felt like home from home which is great with small children. It was also great value too.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Esther021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2011

Loch Monzievard is a haven of tranquility away from the hustle and bustle of life. We stayed in a two bedroom chalet with sauna that overlooked the loch, truely gorgeous. We were very welcome on arrival and the people there were always willing to give advice, my one slight niggle was that I wish they would open a bar or communal area for the evening so that we could meet other holiday makers and share our days over a glass of something! However that being said, its a lovely spot from which to travel from, we visited Edinburgh, Glasgow, Loch Lomond, Loch Ness and St Andrews and this was a great base to travel from. I highly recommend boating on the loch, not easy but fun, walking to the famous grouse distillery via the fields and watching the bats and bunnies late at night. A great break, thank you.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doodles_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2010

WOW...were do I start. Absolutely Fabulous!
I have never been to a place where I have had such personal service and been looked after so well. The staff, Irene and Ian, when we were there, were second to none. Nothing was too much trouble, they were just so helpful in every way and informative of the local area. The lodges themselves were beautiful, we stayed in the conifer. Peaceful, tranquil and beautiful surroundings. The loch and the walk around it was stunning. It's one of those place that makes you feel special as soon as soon as you arrive, it has such a lovely energy about it. To top it all off we had a bespoke treatment at the spa on site by Gillian (to call it a massage and facial wouldn't do it justice!) the best. Gillian taylors the treatment to whatever you want in the most tranquil surroundings I have experienced (and I've had a few!!)
Perfect for families and couples alike. We had dogs who had a ball. Can't wait to come back. I only wish I could have stayed forever!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scoobylooby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2010

My first trip to Scotland, and I was blown away! The lodges are perfect, cosy and well equipped. You look right over the loch and it's so peaceful and calming. The owners were lovely and there to help you 24/7 with anything! We'll definitely be going back! Oh, and I'd highly recommend getting one with a sauna!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobynChie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2010

Stayed August 2010 and Christmas 2009. Beautiful site by a small loch, great chalets some of which are really private. Plenty to see in the area. Ignore the poor review - chalets were clean on both occasions and the staff are helpful when needed. Some chalets are by the road but it isn't busy and you don't hear it inside anyway.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Windy1441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Crieff hotels
1.6 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort
4.6 mi away
No photo provided
Fendoch Guest House
#14 of 27 in Crieff
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Murraypark Hotel
Murraypark Hotel
#1 of 3 in Crieff
575 reviews
1.8 mi away
Comely Bank Guest House
Comely Bank Guest House
#10 of 27 in Crieff
44 reviews
5.7 mi away
Westacre Lodge
Westacre Lodge
#5 of 27 in Crieff
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Monzievaird Self Catering Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Monzievaird Self Catering Lodges

Address: Ochtertyre, Crieff PH7 4JR, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Crieff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Crieff
Price Range: $107 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Loch Monzievaird is a beautiful Highland estate set in an historic designed landscape. The grounds are protected by Historic Scotland and extend to 40 acres. Across the road from our entrance is a small track that connects into a huge local path network. We are two miles from Crieff, hidden away in a quiet location perfect for either using as a base from which to discover Highland Perthshire or to venture to the east or west coast on days out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Loch Monzievaird Self Catering Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loch Monzievaird Self Catering Lodges Crieff, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing