We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely house but noisy fan”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Galvelmore House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crieff
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Galvelmore House
Ranked #10 of 27 Crieff B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ullapool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely house but noisy fan”
Reviewed October 14, 2011

The room was very comfortable and cosy. Only problem was the fan which was incredibly loud minutes after you had turned off the light (which activated the fan). Our stay would have been a lot better if we hadn't had to put up with this noise.

Room Tip: check out the volume of the bathroom fan in your room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank camilla1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BandBowner, Owner at Galvelmore House, responded to this review, October 26, 2011
Thanks for the feedback. We replaced all the bathroom fans a year or so ago, with these ones recommended by our electrician. These ones are an improvement, but we are aware that they are still noisy... but haven't yet found a solution
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    20
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
45
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our brief stay at Galvelmore House in Crieff. Katy and David were very accommodating and helped us to feel at home from the moment we arrived. Katy's mosaics are amazing! The garden areas in the back are quite lovely, tranquil, and inviting. David has a fruit and vegetable garden in the back of the property, and we visited with him whilst he was cutting some shrubbery. We talked with him about the plots of strawberries and currants, and he invited us to help ourselves to whatever was growing. (Which we did!) Our room was quite cozy, and everything was in good order. The bed was comfortable, as evidenced by our oversleeping the next morning! Even though we missed our agreed-upon breakfast time, Katy was very happy to fix us a full Scottish breakfast. It was delicious - she is a good cook. The property is within easy walking distance of the town center and good restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DarrellR_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level Contributor
117 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Gavelmore House is located very close to the centre of Crieff. It is slightly hard for me to judge the accommodation, as instead of our booked rooms, we were offered the self catering flat in the basement as it was free and had more space. We received a good welcome and the house has a lovely garden. Our rooms were bright and colourful and the house and garden are decorated with the owner’s wonderful ceramic designs. This is a convenient and interesting place to stay with good hosts

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rover54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
352 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2011

This bed and breakfast is within walking distance of shops, pubs, restaurants in Crieff so the car can stay in their car park. Off-road parking is a plus too. The oriental themed room was small and, like a previous reviewer says, there are no comfortable chairs but there is a guest lounge downstairs. This room was at the front by the road but it is a quiet road so we were not disturbed. Nice soap and shampoo in the bathroom. The breakfast was excellent; full marks for offering fruit and yoghurt along with the cereal and it was lovely being able to have ham and cheese rather than the full cooked breakfast. We would have preferred separate tables rather than sharing but that's just our preference.
David is a friendly, pleasant host. Good value for £60 per double per night.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flowerlady64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2011

Enjoyed our week here, the rooms are large but do lack a comfortable chair to read or watch TV.
One of the party said their bed was a little soft but very good value for the money.
Kathy and David are good hosts and very helpful if asked

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jerry135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinckley
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2011

Great value at £60
Definitely worth eating evening meal for at least 1 night. TAKE YOUR OWN WINE. Finishing off the evening in front of a roaring log fire was a highlight
Very helpful and friendly and organised pack lunch for our walk to Glen Ogle
Perfectly located for pubs and restaurants in Crieff.

We played golf at Gleneagles which was also teriffic
Dined at Barley Bree which deserves its plaudits. Saving money on your accommodation here allows you to squander it elsewhere!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GerryNuden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 4, 2011

I stayed here to do a craft course weekend and had a great time. I had a lovely big room with oriental touches and interesting artwork on the walls. Katy and David are very welcoming and good cooks. I got to sample lots of cakes because I was on the clock decorating course and Katy catered for us. I've included a photo of the wild clock I made with the help of the tutor, Jan.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank panda_girl99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Crieff hotels
0.5 mi away
Murraypark Hotel
Murraypark Hotel
#2 of 3 in Crieff
508 reviews
0.5 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Newstead Bed & Breakfast
0.1 mi away
THe Victoria House B&B
THe Victoria House B&B
#5 of 27 in Crieff
133 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lovat house Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galvelmore House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galvelmore House

Property: Galvelmore House
Address: 5 Galvelmore Street, Crieff PH7 4BY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Crieff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Crieff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Galvelmore House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly and informal B&B on a quiet street in the centre of Crieff, combining Victorian architecture with a contemporary style. Views over the Grampian mountains, large garden & lots of art work. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Galvelmore House Crieff, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing