We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Birthday Weekend”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Crieff, Perth and Kinross, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
JULIE N
1 review
“Birthday Weekend”
Reviewed January 22, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Absolutely fabulous weekend away with family for my daughters 21st birthday! Couldn’t fault it. We had Serena ( chef recommended by Gamefield) cook a fabulous 4 course meal for my daughters birthday. The open fires were lovely and we all enjoyed the hot tub!
Very relaxing house and plenty space for all of us. Large fridge with extra space in the utility room. Super comfy beds too!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 23, 2018
Thank you Julie! Thrilled to hear you had a fabulous weekend for your daughter's very special birthday. A weekend to remember :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rennie M
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Welcome Back!”
Reviewed January 3, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

The extended family returned to Gamefield after a three year gap. Everyone couldn't wait to get back after the wonderful Xmas we had enjoyed in 2014. We were not disappointed. The house remains in wonderful condition, lovingly cared for by William, Wendy and team. They had put up amazing Xmas decorations, and that plus the continuously roaring log fires, gave the place a most festive feel. The hot tub in the garden was thoroughly enjoyed by the younger element, as were the numerous lovely walks over the countryside, all from the front door of the house.
The beds are very comfortable, and the rooms spacious and well proportioned. The kitchen also has all that an aspiring chef would need.
Crieff and Comrie are both just a few minutes away, and anything needed for the house can be found there.
This is a very special place, and we are all already looking forward to our next visit. We can only imagine how wonderful Gamefield would be in the height of summer, so perhaps we shall have to give it a try!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 10, 2018
Thank you so much for your review. It was a delight to have you and your family back at Gamefield for Christmas. We are already looking forward to seeing you all again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morinne
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic house in a beautiful location”
Reviewed December 6, 2017 for a stay in December 2017

We went with 8 friends for a birthday celebration. The house was very well equipped and they gifted us with a generous starter hamper.
Everything in the house was perfect.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia D
1 review
“Perfect getaway for a bunch of friends!”
Reviewed November 30, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

My boyfriend John had organised a surprise weekend trip to this house for us and a group of friends and we honestly can’t think of a single flaw about this beautiful home.

We had a wonderful arrival with the fireplaces lit, complimentary flowers/other treats and last but not least Fiona at the front door with a welcoming smile followed by a tour of the house.
We had such a relaxing time with the most immaculate rooms and everything we could possibly need already there!

Although there was a huge book with all the details of lots of places we could go to, we never wanted to leave the house. We all made very good use of the hot tub and hut at the bottom of the garden as well as the kitchen as there was more than enough room to make a huge feast for all 11 of us.

Perhaps if we had to think of something, it would be to put a sign for the house on the main road before turning up the lane, as a couple of friends struggled to find the house as it is hidden away.
However, we would highly recommend this house to anyone as we had a perfect weekend and felt extremely lucky to have found such a great place to spend it. We are now wanting to make this house an annual getaway for us all!

A huge thank you to Fiona, William and his family for having us and making our trip so wonderful.

Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 5, 2017
Thank you Georgia for your lovely review :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toonser
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A let down!”
Reviewed November 23, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

I am disappointed to find myself writing a negative report, when all previous reports I had read helped me choose Gamefield for a recent trip with friends.

There were a number of issues with the accommodation and I brought these to the attention of the house manager, who I had arranged to meet when we were leaving. The owner was also there, so the house manager highlighted these to the owner. I was really disappointed with the owner’s reaction and totally unimpressed with the owner’s interpretation of how a businessman should deal with the issues we identified. The excuses and attitude were unacceptable. He intimated that we had rented the house at a reduced fee as it was the end of the season and the house would be in the poorest condition due to being rented out all season. My understanding is that the rates change due to it being a quieter time and low season not because you expect the house to be battered and bruised from the high season and no maintenance having been carried out throughout.

We left when the discussion was leading nowhere. We did receive an email the following day from the owner saying that they had taken our points on board and most had been rectified and that lessons had been learnt. We also received a partial refund, so the matter has been resolved, but it was a shame that the process was not dealt with in a professional manner, as this should not have been the most memorable part of the weekend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 28, 2017
I am sorry that you felt compelled to write a bad review on our web-site following your stay, especially after we had taken steps to compensate you both financially and by way of a further apology.

In all the five years we have been letting Gamefield, we have never received a bad review.

All feedback received is very much appreciated and we are grateful for the time you have taken to further share your disappointment. As our letter stated, lessons have been learned and the problems you highlighted have been rectified.

When you feel as passionately about somewhere, as William does about Gamefield, even the best intended criticism can be difficult to take. Hindsight is a wonderful thing and we acknowledge that the situation should have been handled better. There were extenuating circumstances at the time of your departure however, which I am not at liberty to divulge to you, and your comments were not received in the manner they would normally have been. But you can rest assured that this was not normal behaviour from William.

Please accept our apologies once again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Everything you expect and more! Stunning!”
Reviewed November 13, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

A beautiful countryside house with adaptable accommodation and every last detail thought of.
The House was so well equipped, comfortable and luxurious that it was difficult to drag ourselves out to explore the wonderful countryside. Easy drive into Crieff for shops and only 5-10 minutes in the car from the Hydro.
The garden hot tub was a special treat - what is not to like soaking in the tub with a glass of champagne!
Any questions our group had were answered virtually immediately by the owners and House manager.
Enjoyed the trip so much we are thinking of booking for next year! Cannot recommend highly enough.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lizzelinc...
lincolnshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Family House”
Reviewed July 13, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

A great family holiday, we ranged in age from 3 to 85, everyone agreed that after 20 years of staying in beautiful houses all around the country for our yearly get together
Gamefield was up there with the best!
We will return

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 17, 2017
Thank you so much for your great review! It's a wonderful idea to gather the family together to celebrate special milestones. We look forward to welcoming you all back to Gamefield.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing