We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous food and wonderful staff. Top class hotel.”
Review of Murraypark Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Murraypark Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Crieff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Just returned from a lovely meal at the Murraypark Hotel Crieff, food was truly fabulous. Staff are friendly and welcoming and couldn't be kinder to my children. The lounge bar has a lovely wood burning stove for pre dinner drinks, setting a relaxing ethos. Would highly recommend and plan to return.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Nicola O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrieffHydro, Guest Relations Manager at Murraypark Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2013

Nicola O, if this were a game of Monopoly, receiving your wonderful review is like landing on Mayfair - thank you! We're all basking in your praise and look forward to welcoming you back before long.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (575)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

435 - 441 of 575 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2013

We have now stayed at the Murraypark some 7 or 8 times and never tire of returning again and again. As keen golfers we only spend a limited amount of time during our visits at the Hydro itself, and do not therefore really feel justified in paying the much higher prices. The rooms at the Murraypark have all been recently refurbished to a high standard and the communal areas are relaxing and welcoming. The staff are very friendly and in our experience the food is as good, if not better, than at the Hydro. Some good promotional offers are to be found in the cosy bar. Two areas where there is room for improvement are the sometimes slow service in the restaurant, and the poor surfacing in the car park. Try to avoid putting your cases on the back seal of your car if you have previously put them on the ground in the car park.

Room Tip: In our experience rooms in the original building are better than those in the extension.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrieffHydro, Guest Relations Manager at Murraypark Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2013

a_m_walker, as a regular guest, we're delighted that you've sussed how to get the best out of both the Murraypark and the Hydro. Your suggestions on areas for improvement will be heeded and we're sure you'll find positive changes on your next visit. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

my wife & me went with her folks to stay at Murraypark Hotel for our wedding anniversaries, our first anniversary & her folks's 48th anniversary. All the staff are welcoming and friendly, our rooms had good clean and spacious. In the bar, there has good beers and good choice of malt whiskies also good wines when we has ordered wine for our evennig meals. The dining staff need more training how to serve meals balancing from the starters-main course-desserts also breakfast, cereal/fruit-full scottish fry up or fish dishes or light hot breakfast eg poached egg on toast. Many empty bowls, plates & small plates left on the table, they should collect empty bowls or plates out to make us dining spaces. Need to training them before the Easter coming soon. We really enjoyed much to stay overnight and good meals/drinks, we hope to go back again some time.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kenneth b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrieffHydro, Guest Relations Manager at Murraypark Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2013

We're delighted to hear that your special Anniversary stay went so well overall, kenneth b. Your suggestions on service improvements are very welcome and will be acted upon. Great to hear you'll be back - hopefully before long.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

First time at Murraypark and will be back! Loved it here the room was perfect for us (family room) with the bunk beds tucked into a little nook - ideal.
Very clean (hubby did grumble about crumbs on a chair at breakfast but that was the only complaint!) and lovely intimate ambience.
The staff were the highlight everyone was welcoming and friendly especially Scott and Sean.
The breakfast was excellent and we had lunch which was very good we just had toasties which we couldn't fault but the boys lunches were outstanding with proper hand made small cheeseburgers and chef had even made little flags with crabby patties written on ( our 4 year old had asked for a crabby patty! ) .
Their puddings were also impressive - jelly and ice cream came with fresh strawberries drizzled in white chocolate sauce, ice cream served on a slice of lime along with the jelly! And the brownie and ice cream was also lovely. 2 very happy boys!
We will book for an evening meal next time as we had already booked our meals out this visit.
Did miss not having a biscuit on the tea tray in the room but that's not a big deal.
All in all very happy with our stay -considering my hubby usually hates taking me to a hotel as I'm so fussy - the Murraypark should be proud!
Thank you

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fifikins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrieffHydro, Guest Relations Manager at Murraypark Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2013

We were bursting with pride after reading your amazing review fifikins, especially Scott and Sean! It's wonderful to hear that our 'little touches' were so appreciated and we can't wait to welcome you all back. Hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed for one night and looked forward to a peaceful evening.
The reception staff were welcoming and pleasant and we were able to take our spaniel into the bar and room with us which ws a bonus.
Dinner was poor quality and the staff although pleasant not well trained- a large hen party arrived and they forgot to bring our desserts. After trying to attract the waiters' attention I eventually had to get up after half an hour and go and find someone to bring it to us!
A poor night's sleep followed due to said hen party banging bedroom doors and partying in the adjacent bedroom until 1.30am- a call to reception at midnight made no difference and no apology was forthcoming when we checked out the next day.
Brekfast took over half an hour to come although the restaurant was quiet and was greasy and unappealing.
Having stayed at Crieff Hydro on a number of occasions, this is a poor relation.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Newhaven191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrieffHydro, Guest Relations Manager at Murraypark Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

We're so sorry that inconsiderate behaviour by other guests spoiled your stay smileplus. This is very unusual, as the Murraypark's normally a tranquil haven. Here's hoping you'll give us another chance someday, when we'll pull out all the stops to impress.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We visited this hotel for lunch while staying at Crieff Hydro, its sister hotel. We have also stayed at the Murraypark many times over the years.

This hotel is a comfortable alternative to the Hydro which can be busy at peak times and the focus is very much on family entertainment. If you fancy a quieter time, then this is the hotel for you!

The rooms are comfortable, cosy and well equipped with a lovely beer garden for wine drinking in the summer! You also have full access to the Hydro and the facilities there if you fancy a change of pace.

The staff are always pleasant and helpful and the food is just lovely. A firm fave of ours.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz12Glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrieffHydro, Guest Relations Manager at Murraypark Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Thanks for a great review. We think that the hectic Hydro and relaxing Murraypark is a great combination and we're glad you agree Liz12Glasgow. Hope you'll return soon to enjoy the best of both hotels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

My wife and I (+ our dog) visited the Murraypark again early Feb for a two night break with the meal included on one evening.

The staff make you so welcome and as previously the service is great without being too pushy or gushing.

We enjoyed it so much that we have booked again for April.

Highly recomended.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sailbluesail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrieffHydro, Guest Relations Manager at Murraypark Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Many thanks for your lovely review Sailbluesail . We're all really chuffed that you're already planning to return to the Murraypark and look forward to seeing you again in April.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crieff
0.5 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
13.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
8.8 mi away
CLC Duchally Country Estate
CLC Duchally Country Estate
#2 of 3 in Auchterarder
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
The Achray House Hotel and Lodges
14.0 mi away
Old Churches House Hotel
5.9 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 2 in Comrie
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murraypark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murraypark Hotel

Address: Connaught Terrace, Crieff PH7 3DJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Crieff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Crieff
Price Range: $96 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Murraypark Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at the Murraypark, a small friendly 3* hotel where personal service is assured. Guests staying at the Murraypark can enjoy full access to the Crieff Hydro's extensive Lagoon leisure facilities and daily entertainments programme, all within a five minute walk! In the Restaurant, the focus is on good food and wines served in comfortable surroundings. Children are welcome at the Murraypark with child care available at an additional supplement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Murraypark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murraypark Hotel Crieff, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing