We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in quiet location”
Review of Murraypark Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Murraypark Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Crieff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We booked tis hotel asa stop-over whilst visiting the highland games.
Couldn't fault the hotel at all.
Nice quiet location and easily walkable into the town centre...although if you're not into walking at all, it may be a little too far as the road is uphill back to the hotel
Lovely room and really good breakfast

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrieffHydro, Guest Relations Manager at Murraypark Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Many thanks for a great review Rob S. It sounds as ‘though the Murraypark Hotel ticked all the boxes for your Highland stopover and we hope to welcome you back before long for another relaxing break.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (577)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

478 - 484 of 577 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

Nice place to go to as you get to use all the facilities at the Hydro. One thing why can't coffee just be given to you in a pot instead of having to ask for another cup ,,,new mattress and a wee bit of a revamp in Rm19 would be great. Will be back

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank kazsx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrieffHydro, Guest Relations Manager at Murraypark Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Thanks for your short but sweet review kazsx. We’ll heed all your suggestions and look forward to welcoming you back to the Murraypark before long.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We had used the Murraypark a couple of years ago and booked again on the basis of our experience then and were not disappointed. We arrived early but were able to check in immediately. The reception was very helpful and when we mentioned that we were planning to walk to the Glenturret Distillery we were presented with a 2 for 1 voucher. We were booked in for dinner which was excellent both in quality and quantity. Breakfast was equally good. Another plus point is that guests can use all of the facilities of the Crieff Hydro which is a short walk away. We also used the Victorian Spa, which we had not had time to visit on our previous stay. This was an additional £10 but well worth the money.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caldicot10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrieffHydro, Guest Relations Manager at Murraypark Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Your sterling review was music to our ears caldicot10! Here’s hoping you’ll return soon for a longer break, when we can suggest lots of activities at the Hydro and other local attractions for you to enjoy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed almost 2 weeks and had 2 rooms since we have 4 children. We felt at home almost after a couple of days. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Murraypark is great if you want to use the amenities of Crieff Hydro but do not want to stay at a huge almost overwhelming resort. I felt that the difference between Crieff Hydro and Murraypark is at Murraypark they know you and want to know you at Crieff you are one of many. But that said Crieff Hydro is great for children, lots of stuff to do for young and old.We just like to retire at a more quiet place in the evenings.

As said the service was nice the staff did their best to make our stay comfortable. We had half board and the food was very good. Only problem after some days the menu got boring since it's very limited, but then one can go to Creiff and have dinner there. We did several times. Also the servers really tried and worked hard, but most evenings it took ages for dinner to show up. Same for lunch in the cafe it took very long.

Creiff is a gateway to visit other places and we did like Perth, Sterling and more.
Creiff itself is also interesting with a distillery and very old library.

We had a lovely experience here

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Manon p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrieffHydro, Guest Relations Manager at Murraypark Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

We were all delighted to hear that your 2 week stay at the Murraypark was so successful Manon p. It sounds like you enjoyed the best of both hotels, service delays excepted (sorry!). Hope we can welcome you back to your ‘home from home’ in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We have just spent 7 nights in the MurrayPark Hotel. We would have normally gone self-catering at the Crieff Hydro but left it to late to get a chalet so ended up at the Murraypark on a dinner bed and breakfast basis. First of all, I have to praise all the Staff in the Dining area - they were without exception helpful polite and understanding. From now on I'm afraid it goes downhill. Firstly the room was a standard quad room. For 2 adults, 2 children and a dog it was very cramped, hot and stuffy - the windows hardly opened at all and none of us had a good nights sleep the whole time we were there as we all woke up too hot. There were also no bins to put your dog waste in and we had to carry it up to the Crieff Hydro to dispose of it. The telephone in the room wasn't working as the headset came apart from the rest when you picked it up. We didn't need to useit but a couple of times the Activity centre tried to phone us and they were unable to speak to us. I got an apology from the Reception Staff but that was it , no replacement phone. Also we ran out of toilet paper and had to go to Reception to ask for more. The last couple of days the shower didn't work properly either - one minute it was scalding and the next freezing cold. I didn't bother reporting it as we just showered at the swimming pool on the last couple of days and I had already complained about other things.

I think the most concerning aspect of our stay however was tha at one morning the fire alarm went off and the staff in the dining room continued serving breakfast as if nothing had happened while all the guests were waiting to be told to evacuate the hotel. Eventually the ?Manager came through and told us all to leave the Dining Room by which time we could see the guests from the bedrooms had all evacuated themsleves and some were standing in the garden in pyjamas. I had to go down and tell the people in the garden it was safe to come back in. As I say, we founfd this whole scenario shocking that the Staff either weren't following procedure or didn't know procedure for evacuating the building in the event of the fire alarm going off.
The Reception desk was unmanned a lot of the time and we witnessed people coming and standing for 5 or 10 minutes and just went away as nobody came to see to them. There was no bell to alert staff that there were people at Reception. We listened to the phone ringing many times and still nobody came to answer it. We were given no information on check-in re mealtimes- we asked and were told 8 - 9.30. My husband went up at 8 on the Sunday morning only to be told it was 8.30 on a Sunday. There was nothing to say about Wi fi being available either - I just found that out be chance one night.

I know this is dragging on but I think our biggest gripe was with the restuarant. It seemed so disorganised and they kept running out of things: burgers the first night, Belhaven beer the second night and Kos lettuce for the Ceasar Salad the third night (there were no anchovies in the latter either)!!!!! On our first night in the Hotel it took 2 hours for us to get our meal. We had the Chef's special(beef stroganoff) which was far too salty and it was the size of a child's portion - we were still hungry after our meal that night. Also the menu for people on hallf board was pretty limited. We didn't mind paying extra for the other items that weren't on our menu but looking at other diner's plates those portions seemed tiny too so we weren't going to pay extra and still feel hungry. We found the most decent portions were the burger and chips and the haddock and chips but you can't alternate them for 7 nights!!!! In fact we actually ate out 2 nights because we couldn't face the same menu again. Another night the biscuits that accompanied one of the desserts was so hard you couldn't bite into it. Eve the waitress agreed that iwas inedible and went to speak to the Chef. We were offered another dessert but by this time we were fed-up and just wanted to get out the restuarant. Breakfast time was also disorganised - many a morning there were no cereal bowls or glasses out and the toast was ALWAYS burnt. One morning the croissants did'nt come out till 9.20 and service finished at 9.30!!!!

I am very surprised that the Murraypark was given a 4 star rating on here: I am beginning to wonder if we were at the same hotel!!!! After saying all of the above though, the meal on the last night couldn't be faulted - it was well-cooked and presented and an adequate portion size. We just wondered if there was a diffeent chef on.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank MaryGShetland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrieffHydro, Guest Relations Manager at Murraypark Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2012

Oh dear MaryGShetland, it seems that everything that could conspire to go wrong on your recent visit, did. Your experience is so far removed from our normal service and we couldn’t be sorrier. The Murraypark’s a great wee hotel, but it’s very clear from your review that we’ve taken our eye off the ball. Thanks for being so candid. We’ll take action straightaway to right the wrongs you’ve pointed out and promise that you’ll see improvements in all areas if we can tempt you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Very disappointed with the room. The decor was very dated and worn.
Old bathroom and room was practically in the dinning room.
The bed was very uncomfortable.
Could not wait to leave.
The staff and breakfast was nice.

Room Tip: Do not stay in the room next to the dinning room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Stevie199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrieffHydro, Guest Relations Manager at Murraypark Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2012

If you’re disappointed Stevie 199, then we’re disappointed too – sorry. We’ll look at ways to improve this bedroom in light of your feedback. Thanks for your complimentary remarks about staff and breakfast and we promise to allocate a different bedroom if you decided to give us another chance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We were cel;ebrating my friends 50th birthday on July 27th and they couldn't have been more accommodating, fantastic service from all the staff including the waiters who sang Happy Birthday to my friend and even knew her christian name when it came to that part. The room was lovely and the beds were very comfortable and clean, with smiling attentive staff, I would not hesitate to go again. Fantastic!

Room Tip: The room on the third floor No 17 was a lovely room overlooking the car park and the hills beyond, m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrieffHydro, Guest Relations Manager at Murraypark Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2012

Many thanks for your sterling review Kay B. We’re all thrilled that we were ‘in tune’ with your needs and helped to make your friend’s 50th Birthday celebration so enjoyable. Here’s hoping we can welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crieff
0.5 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
13.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
8.8 mi away
CLC Duchally Country Estate
CLC Duchally Country Estate
#2 of 3 in Auchterarder
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11 mi away
Achray House Hotel & Lodges
Achray House Hotel & Lodges
#1 of 2 in St. Fillans
643 reviews
14 mi away
Old Churches House Hotel
19.5 mi away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murraypark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murraypark Hotel

Address: Connaught Terrace, Crieff PH7 3DJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Crieff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Crieff
Price Range: $98 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Murraypark Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at the Murraypark, a small friendly 3* hotel where personal service is assured. Guests staying at the Murraypark can enjoy full access to the Crieff Hydro's extensive Lagoon leisure facilities and daily entertainments programme, all within a five minute walk! In the Restaurant, the focus is on good food and wines served in comfortable surroundings. Children are welcome at the Murraypark with child care available at an additional supplement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Murraypark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murraypark Hotel Crieff, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing