We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not a golfer but..” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of St Fillans Golf Club

St Fillans Golf Club
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“not a golfer but..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Stopped off here for coffee and a cake whilst out walking local area - friendly welcome and service although we were only passing through, reasonable prices and what a splendid location to play your golf! Course looked lovely and well kept greens made consider giving golf a try...

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MattFS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    2
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Dinner at Dundurn's (in St. Fillans Golf Club)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

The caterers, Ian and Trisha have just taken over this season and are open on Friday and Saturday evenings for dinner (book in advance to avoid disappointment) as well as 7 days a week during the season for lunches and daytime snacks. Of our dinner table of four, three of us chose steaks (two fillets and one sirloin) with peppercorn sauce - delicious (though remember to stir it as the peppercorns sink to the bottom of the pouring jugs) whilst the fourth raved about her Boeuf Bourguignon. Ian strives strenuously to use locally sourced ingredients and his home-baked ‘goodies’ for morning / afternoon teas are scrumptious. Tricia gives a fantastic ‘front of house’ welcome and if you can conquer your fear (especially for all non- golfers) of walking into a Golf Club to eat, then you will not be disappointed at this hidden gem - great food, great value and the setting is stunning. (P.S. Dundurn’s is open from March to October).

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank willjogsoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Open to public at last”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Delighted to find you can now visit this excellent little catering business without having to be a member. Great assortment of coffee, cakes and hot meals which we sampled the other day sitting outside in the sun surrounded by beautiful scenery. Service certainly with a smile and nothing to much bother with excellent prices to match make this place a little hidden gem.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sj1309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester,Dorset
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“VERY FRIENDLY GOLF CLUB WITH FANTASTIC SCENERY”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

WE PLAYED GOLF HERE LAST WEEK WITH EXCELLENT SUN SHINEY WEATHER.
THE Course is excellent for beginners or pros and the staff couldn`t have been more friendly or welcoming. The 3rd hole is an interesting challenge especially with a side wind and we enjoyed riding round in the golf buggy...
I highly recommend this course as you won`t find a friendlier,more helpful or more scenic course anywhere in Scotland.
we will definitely go again

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“So welcoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

We phoned to book in advance ..Had a lovely 2 x 9 holes at St Fillans Course is mainly flat, fairways not in the best condition but for the cost and location - it was great! The third tee is worth a mention - elevated with cracking views down the fairway and beautiful hills and scenery all round. Greens were better and course wasn't busy especially by the afternoon.

The staff were extremely friendly and welcoming - we enjoyed lunch and a drink outside - really relaxing - food was fine - will definitely re-visit - thank you for a lovely welcome

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon H, Manager at St Fillans Golf Club, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thanks for you comments. Adverse weather last year caused many problems for our fairways and our work will continue to restore the whole course to tip-top condition.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St Fillans Golf Club also viewed

 
Crieff, Perth and Kinross
Crieff, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to St Fillans Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing