We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a fantastic break here with my family”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Crieff
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Had a fantastic break here with my family”
Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

Just back from a 5 day break here with my family ( husband and daughters ages 15,14, 10 and 8) We were in self catering cottage. Cottage was really lovely and very well equipped. The views are terrific and the grounds have some beautiful walks. The hotel facilities are great with lots to do for children dotted about hotel so nothing felt overly busy ( even after dinner entertainment great for all ages) and good variety of places to eat especially if there for more than a few nights. Quality of food was really good. Loved the ravioli in piccolo and the stew with roast potatoes in the brasserie was delicious (was on special that night). Breakfasts are good too. Everything really freshly cooked in buffet. We booked different activities every day at the activity centre. My goodness, what great fun every day. Segway's(did this twice!) and quad biking were amazing. The quad bike instructors took the 10 and 8 year old on their bikes. The 10 year old had a ball ( bit of a daredevil) and the 8 year old had a great time too although a wee bit slower! ( which suited). The outdoor combat was a real laugh. Two large teams playing games with laser guns in the woods. Can't believe how much we all enjoyed this one. All the staff were really pleasant and helpful ( my 10 year old missed her "nail" appointment at the spa because she was late coming out of the pool splash time, my fault, but the lovely girl at the spa reception did her nails incase my 10 year old got upset as her sisters had their nails done in the spa. I though this was a really kind gesture and my daughter was delighted) Overall a really great break with lots to do if that's what you like but a lovely place in a lovely setting with a peaceful feeling if that's what you like too. It gives you best if both worlds. We go to a lot of nice places in the U.K. and abroad and all my daughters can't wait to go back here.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Outdoors our guests are currently basking in 24 degrees of sunshine and indoors we're all basking in your praise, Carol G. The teams at Action Glen and the Spa were particularly chuffed with your brilliant review. We can't wait to welcome you all back for another action-packed break!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,806 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,849
    1,093
    484
    267
    113
See reviews for
1,780
1,045
40
169
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (887)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

We booked this short break at the last minute....we had been before and kids always enjoyed it so we decided to go again....great welcome at reception and we were able to start our short break early while our room was not ready and went to the pool. The pool was very busy most times but kids loved it and especially loved the slide time!! The shower and main changing rooms are looking a little tired, family area is great.....room was lovely family room...one main bedroom with 2 sets of bunk beds in adjoining space which was great no arguments about who got top bunk !!! Weather was great in crieff and rooms were very hot but who would think aircon in Scotland would be worth the investment!!! Food in Brasserie was lovely and the kids club really made the kids break....Gary the magician also great fun....Only real gripe with the whole trip was around the kids high tea....a real real let down on previous years...it was in the meikle with very limited selection of food and it put us off dining like that......could do with more selection....everything else was great, would recommend

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lollypop1874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
With such great comments and a score of 4/5 we were so nearly there, lollypop1874. We'll allow ourselves a pat on the back for all the great parts of your stay (especially Reception and Gary). Then we'll pull our socks up improve the areas where we fell short. We're aiming for 5/5 next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Roscommon, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Experienced a fabulous 4 night self catering stay in a cozy cabin here. Self catering facilities were excellent, very very family friendly place, not just one of those that says they are. Staff were most helpful in all areas of resort. Facilities available both included in our stay and extra were great. The kids club was outstanding. Huge selection of activities to choose from.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Reading your lovely review made the perfect start to my weekend and BIG Country were grinning like Cheshire cats too, Suzanne K. We love our new Cozy Cabins and it's great to hear that they ticked all the boxes for your perfect 4 night break. Hope you'll hurry back to see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

We've just returned from our annual week at Crieff Hydro - my 55th year of coming here! This time with some of the family and my 3 year old grandson. The facilities for children are exceptional with plenty to do for all ages whatever the weather. For us older ones calm and beauty still reign throughout the hotel with the stunning mountains a permanent backdrop. Staff were all very welcoming and quick to respond to any request. This hotel has passed into our family folklore and is like an old friend, often referred to and all visits eagerly awaited. If you've never been here and are reading reviews to make a decision about booking, I can honestly not recommend anywhere more highly.

Room Tip: 278 is the best room in the hotel by miles! The views are unbeatable
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annefoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
annefoster, your 'Simply the Best' review had me prancing round the hotel like Tina Turner (much to the embarrassment of the younger team members). We're thrilled that you regard Crieff Hydro with such affection after 55 years and hope to welcome you back for many more years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumnock
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

We were delighted with the facilities, service and value at Crieff Hydro. Our 5 year old son loved the holiday from beginning to end and we will definitely be returning. Beautiful surroundings , lovely food and well organised entertainment - what more could you want!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindseynicol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Your wonderful review was short, but oh so sweet, Lindseynicol and every word was music to our ears! We're really chuffed that you all had such a great time and delighted to hear that you're already planning a return stay. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Our family just back from fantastic 3 night stay at the Netherleigh cottage. There were 13 adults plus one baby in our party and I must stress how amazing this accommodation is. We had such a wonderful time. The outdoor private garden is a real bonus, ideal for kids games and eating outside. Feeling very secluded, but in fact, is situated near the main entrance, allowing easy access to all the other activities in and around the hotel. 8 of us enjoyed a golf afternoon at the Culcrieff course. We had lovely family birthday meal in the Brasserie which was very good, finished with the best portion of cheeses and oatcakes I've ever had. We were a bit late checking out for 10am but the housekeeping supervisor was very helpful and kindly rearranged her schedule. Much appreciated. Couldn't fault a thing, looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
We think that Netherleigh is something really special, Carole T and we're delighted that you agree. The teams in Self-Catering (i.e. outdoor Housekeeping) and Brasserie Restaurant were buoyed by your praise and we're all thrilled to hear that you and your family will be returning someday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We have just returned from a two night break.As always the accommodation was very comfortable and all the staff from reception,restaurant,spa and outdoor activities were very helpful and friendly.The room was well equipped with a super king sized bed,mini fridge,safe and plenty of hanging space.The downside to our stay and I can't really blame the hotel for this was the noise created by other guests. Our room was opposite the Hub and we had the misfortune to being staying the same two nights as a large group of young people celebrating their graduation with a ball based at the Hub.The group gathered outside the Hub and talked loudly into the wee small hours. When they decided to retire to bed they did so very loudly with laughter in the corridor outside our room and doors slamming.Needless to say we had two nights of very disturbed sleep. The next time we stay at Crieff Hydro I will be asking for a quieter room.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sunshine0111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
We were delighted to read all your positive comments, but so sorry that the noise disturbance rubbed some of the shine off your latest visit, sunshine0111. We'll be sure to find you a nice quiet room next time round, to ensure that your next break is entirely relaxing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crieff
0.3 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
13.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
0.2 mi away
Murraypark Hotel
Murraypark Hotel
#2 of 3 in Crieff
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
CLC Duchally Country Estate
CLC Duchally Country Estate
#2 of 3 in Auchterarder
755 reviews
22.7 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,784 reviews
15.5 mi away
Dunkeld House Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunkeld
2,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort

Property: Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort
Address: Ferntower Road, Crieff PH7 3LQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Crieff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Crieff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arguably the most comprehensive family resort in Scotland, 4 star Crieff Hydro is centrally located in its own 900 acre estate with an unrivaled range of leisure pursuits for all ages. Choose from over 40 on-site leisure activities and take advantage of inclusive daily childcare for 2-12 year olds in the 700m2 kids club. Extensively redeveloped from top to bottom, Crieff Hydro is only an hours drive from both Glasgow and Edinburgh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crieff Hydro Hotel Crieff
Crieff Hydro Resort
Crieff Hotel Hydro
Crieff Hydro Scotland
Crieff Hydro Hotel And Resort Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing