We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will return!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Crieff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 18, 2014

We were here on business with pleasure thrown in! All facilities were good in the hotel, but they really need to replace the carpets in the corridors! Oh my! It does let the place down. The rooms were fine, with everything you would expect/need included. It was very warm during our stay, everyone agreed, and this made sleeping difficult and in the function halls it was so uncomfortable, we were told the air conditioning was on, that being the case they need to look at its performance. Outdoor activities were great fun, even in the rain and mud. Perhaps a few extra pairs of wellies and some waterproofs for use would be a good idea for the unprepared. Some of us realised that as there were large groups of us at different activities, who all finished around the same time, that there would be a wait for transport back to the hotel (they had 2 landrovers and a mini-bus to shuttle us back) but some were impatient and rude at having to wait half hour or more to get back. If it had not been raining so heavily we would have walked no problem, the young staff were cheerful and patient, but this did not rub off on the older lady. Overall a good weekend had by all i would say.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shetlandwomble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Thanks for your brilliant review, shetlandwomble! There's lots for us to celebrate and also great feedback on areas where we can make your next visit even better. We're delighted that your weekend was enjoyable overall and that you're already planning a return stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,926)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,063 - 2,069 of 3,926 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2014

This was our first holiday away as a family and it was perfect! So much to do for my 9 month old son, and my 352 month old husband too! Relaxed but filled with exciting activities as well. Our luxury cottage was a wonderful home from home, although quite far from the hotel, made for some nice
walks .. Even in the pouring rain!

My only slight disappointment was that the blind in our bedroom was paper thin which made it difficult for my son to sleep at night and woke him up early but didn't affect our brilliant holiday!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gillian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Your lovely review gave us a good giggle, Gillian R. - thanks! It's brilliant that your first family holiday went so well. Here's hoping that it won't be too long until we can welcome you back to your 'home from home', when we'll keep our fingers crossed for better weather.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

3 bedroom lodge- excellent accommodation. It felt very traditional, although I'm not sure riding a Segway comes into that category. Lots to do and more than enough to keep us occupied for the 4 days. We will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maurice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Your review was short, but sweet, Maurice M and every word was music to our ears! Aside from Segways we've got over 60 activities for you to try, so it's great to hear that you'll be back before long for another break.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Such friendly, positive and informed staff who go out of their way to ensure all is well for customers. A clean, spacious and warm environment where I spent a most enjoyable long weekend. Attractive building in a beautiful Scottish location. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Although the single rooms are small, they are comfortable and well designed. Beware that some of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JD915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

There was a warm glow of satisfaction amongst the staff after we read your stellar review, JD915. Thanks! We love working at the Hydro and are pleased it shows. Here's hoping we can tempt you up from London for a longer Highland adventure someday soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Our family has just come home from a fabulous holiday in Netherleigh House, part of Crieff Hydro. We were celebrating my Mum's 70th birthday and couldn't have been happier with where we stayed. It is a stunning 6 bedroom house with garden and decking. We made use of the outdoor and leisure activities, but didn't dine in the restaurants. Tip for self-caterers.....you can do an online Tesco shop and have it delivered on arrival! We will definitely come back, highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank upforalaugh77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

With a moniker like 'upforalaugh77' we're guessing that you're a generally happy person. So we're all thrilled that you were delighted with your recent stay in our newest Lodge, 'Netherleigh', especially as this was your Mum's special Birthday celebration. Great to hear that you'll all be returning someday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

My friends and I checked into this hotel after completing the Edinburgh moonwalk and were looking for a fun, relaxing stay which is exactly what we experienced! The victorian spa is beautifully decorated and the definition of tranquility and the beauty area was absolutely fabulous. The treatment I received was a massage called relax, restore, revive. The girl who did my treatment was absolutely lovely and the constant professional. The room was big and spacious with a lovely modern bathroom, the bed was very comfy and I had a brilliant nights sleep. The staff for the most part were very friendly - especially the reception and the leisure staff. However I found the restaurant staff to be very rude. I ate in the brasserie at night at half 9 as they didn't close til 10. It was not my intention to dine this late but certain circumstances prevented me from coming earlier. However the staff did not hide their dismay at all at having to take in a table half an hour before closing time - constantly checking their watches and handing over menus in dismay. The food itself I cannot fault as it was delicious. The breakfast buffet in the morning is really well laid out and has everything you could ask for. It had a big vegetarian selection ready which I was happy to see as in most hotels you have to ask for vegetarian options to be specially prepared. However the servers here seemed to forget about us as it took a round half an hour for our coffee and toast to come even though we had reminded them twice and other tables around us had came in after us and received theirs first. Overall a lovely hotel great for relaxing but slightly let down by staff attitude.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blisbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Firstly, congratulations on completing the Edinburgh Moonwalk, blisbeth. We're delighted that the relaxation part of your visit was successful in easing your aching limbs. It's just a shame that some team members let the side down and we'll address this straightaway. Sorry. Hope this won't deter you from returning sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Family Room (1 double and 1 single bed) room number 145

It was small and warm, no air conditioning. The heating rail in the bathroom seemed extremely hot. (not safe for a 2yr old) it took 24 hours and 3 different members of staff to work out how to turn it off. we asked for a fan at reception and one was delivered to our room in within 15 minutes. bathroom was quite small (almost enough room to swing a cat!)

Children's facilities - staff at Big Country were very friendly and welcoming. There is a small soft play room next to the Big Country nursery. where you supervise your own children. It is open from around 9.30am - 6pm. it allows up to 15 children. I found it very claustrophobic with around 7 children + parents. You get up to 2, 3 hour child care sessions (included in the stay) every day. The facilities were great, it is just unfortunate that our 2yr 2month old girl didn't settle. It was a very safe and secure area.

Dining - There were a few different options for dinner. Both nights we ate in the Brasserie restaurant. The first night we asked to move table as there were a lot of ants crawling around the window we were seated next to. They moved us immediately and apologised. The Food was very tasty and very good portions sizes. In fact I would say the blonde beer battered haddock was too big! Our daughter ate from the mini munchers menu. We booked the dinner, bed and breakfast package. Each adult had £21.50 towards dinner and each child up to the age of 16 had £4.60 (the cheapest children's main course was £4.95) There was also the Meikle Restaurant, a bit more formal. It didn't open until 6.30pm, this didn't suit us, but looked lovely.
Breakfast was served in the Meikle Restaurant, from 7.30am - 10.00am. It was a self serve cooked/continental breakfast. All very tasty!

Pool - we used the pool mid morning, it was nice and quiet. The kids splash time was around 4.30pm. it looked fun but too busy. The Leisure complex provided towels and had plenty areas around the pool for non swimmers/spectators.

Outdoors - We walked up the footpath to the club house (but never made it to any of the facilities after being called back to collect our daughter from the big country). The tree top assault course looked good fun! The path would have been quite difficult to push a buggy up. It had been very wet, so the ground was very squidgy. There was a good play park at the front of the main reception up beside the tennis courts. We enjoyed the 18 hole putting green out side the 'HUB'
The grounds were very well maintained, our daughter enjoyed looking at the ducks and horses.

I would recommend the hotel to people with young families, but I would also advise couples or groups of adults hoping for a quiet break, that there are a lot of kids about. The staff were all friendly, there were some language barriers at times, but nothing that wasn't sorted. There was free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. (not in our room - no 145) The TV signal was also not very good. We had a very poor view out our room - it was the roof of the reception area!

Over all I would rate our stay 3.5/4 out of 5

I hope this review is of use. I don't normally review hotels etc... but that was our first proper break with our 2 year old and I thought it is good for people in a similar situation to know how we felt about it.

Room Tip: not room 145 - rooms on 2nd and 3rd floors would have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Informative, honest reviews like yours are like 'pennies from Heaven' to us, Louise C. It allows us to bask in praise for the parts that went well, before turning our attention to the areas where we weren't so clever. Thanks for being so candid and hope we'll see you again, when we'll allocate a 'room with a view'.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crieff
0.3 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
13.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
0.2 mi away
Murraypark Hotel
Murraypark Hotel
#1 of 3 in Crieff
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
CLC Duchally Country Estate
CLC Duchally Country Estate
#2 of 3 in Auchterarder
785 reviews
15.5 mi away
Dunkeld House Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dunkeld
2,324 reviews
22.7 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort

Address: Ferntower Road, Crieff PH7 3LQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Crieff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Crieff
Price Range: $104 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arguably the most comprehensive family resort in Scotland, 4 star Crieff Hydro is centrally located in its own 900 acre estate with an unrivaled range of leisure pursuits for all ages. Choose from over 40 on-site leisure activities and take advantage of inclusive daily childcare for 2-12 year olds in the 700m2 kids club. Extensively redeveloped from top to bottom, Crieff Hydro is only an hours drive from both Glasgow and Edinburgh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crieff Hydro Hotel Crieff
Crieff Hydro Resort
Crieff Hotel Hydro
Crieff Hydro Scotland
Crieff Hydro Hotel And Resort Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing