We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort
Nearby Hotels
Murraypark Hotel(Crieff)(Great Value!)
$102
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comrie Hotel(Comrie)
$105
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$198
$192
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gleneagles(Auchterarder)
$433
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$139
$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Achray House Hotel(St. Fillans)
$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cromlix(Kinbuck)
$527
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$153
$137
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$119
$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (4,187)
Filter reviews
4,187 results
Traveler rating
1,969
1,192
568
311
147
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,969
1,192
568
311
147
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmeikle restaurantvictorian spawinter gardenkids clubself cateringchild caresoft playfamily hotelquad bikingexecutive roomoutdoor activitiesfamily breakbunk bedscrazy golfthe main hotelbouncy castleparty night
Filter
Updating list...
2,509 - 2,514 of 4,187 reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Just back, the rooms are clean, well stocked with comfy beds. There is an abundance of staff who are all lovely and helpful plus they actually smile!
Despite the weather we had a great time. Best beef stew ever. All food was excellent. Only criticism, the lifts are shabby and it's easy to get lost but I nitpick! Will go back in better weather hopefully.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank catherine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

We all felt great after reading your stellar review, katethegreat10! Thank you. The Executive Chef was really chuffed to read how much you enjoyed his Beef Stew. We've spruce up the lifts following your feedback and we're delighted to hear that you're already planning a return stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

As a regular visitor to Crieff Hydro over the last 3-4 years, here is a review of our latest visit.

We arrived at our usual time of 12.30pm to give the kids a packed lunch before sending them into The Big Country Kids Club. We booked in and were told our self catering lodge wasn't ready. No real problem, kids were occupied, my wife and I headed to the Brasserie for lunch. Having critised The Brasserie in previous reviews I am pleased to say that it has got its mojo back. The menu has changed, variety of food has increased, Staff interact with guests and a good meal was had. Only downside.... prices have gone up again!! £7 plus for 250ml of House red wine!
After lunch we returned to reception about 15.00 to be told our lodge was still not ready. We were promised it would be ready by check in time of 16.00. We wandered down to our lodge at 15.30 to find it hadn't yet been started. Not good as we had Tesco booked with the food for our stay. Headed back up to reception who allowed us access to the uncleaned lodge to put the frozen food in the freezer. Was informed by reception that lodge would now be ready about 17.00. Asked to speak to duty manager, who arrived soon after. A financial solution along with refreshments were offered and dually accepted. Lodge was finally ready just after 17.00.
Day two, Kids into Big Country for two sessions, lunch for two up at the Clubhouse by the Adventure / Outdoor Centre. A change of staff since our last visit, however food still good value and drinks cheaper.
Day three, Kids into Big Country for two sessions, then an evening meal for two at Piccolo Italian Style Restaurant at The Brasserie. What a revelation. This was the best meal I have had at Crieff Hydro in all my visits. There is an open plan kitchen with two hard working chefs, three serving staff who were enjoying their jobs. The pizzas are to die for.
Final day, kids again to kids club and a second lunch at the Brasserie. Delicious food and good attentive staff, followed by a Hot stone Massage at the Spa.

To sum up, Big Country, Piccolo Restaurant, The Brasserie and The Hot Stone Massage are the bees knees! A big thank you to all staff in the above for a good holiday experience. We look forward to our next visit in October.

Room Tip: If travelling with kids, Book The Big Country Kids Club before you arrive to make sure your kids get in. Restaurant Booking for evening meals a good idea to avoid disappointment.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ewan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

It's always appreciated when a regular guest takes time to post such a constructive review, 04edc. We'll celebrate the successful parts of your stay then address the areas where you've indicated there's room for improvement. Hope you'll notice the positive changes when you return in October.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We had a lovely break at Creiff Hydro hotel. We stayed in the main hotel. Great facilites for young kids and although there is alot for older more active kids, its all additional in price and starts to bump up the bill. For younger kids, the Big Country is the best asset. Included in the price and my two really enjoyed it. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The food was lovely. The childrens high tea menu needs to be a bit more child friendly. Delighted that in the Dinner bed and breakfast package the kids get a packed lunch too! and with a healthy snack extras in the bag, not filled with sweets and chisps thank goodness! Although, if you want brown bread yo have to order it, in the morning. The swimming pool is lovely and warm with family changing rooms.
We had rain for a whole visit but still managed to be stuck for activities for the kids.

Room Tip: Phone to book the room. We got it cheaper than on the web and the web is misleading with its discriptors of family rooms..one minute it has a seperate room for the kids and the next it doesn't.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

We were 'cock-a-hoop' with your top-score review, Margaret N - especially the BIG Country team. Thank you! It's lovely to hear that your family break was so enjoyable. Here's hoping that the sun will shine on your next visit, so you can all make the most of our 60 outdoor activities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

We went to Crieff Hydro with my mum & dad, brother & wife for 3 night weekend package which included dinner, bed & breakfast for 2 nights, bed & breakfast the third and a lunch. All meals were lovely although the kids menu is limited. The amenities within the hotel were fantastic, especially the pool. My children, age 3 and 1, had a great time. The kids club was really good and my eldest enjoyed the park outside.

My only complaint was our room (5&7) was above the function suite which had a wedding on the Saturday night and we cod clearly hear the music right through until midnight which made settling the children difficult as well as getting sleep myself before that time.

On the whole, our trip to Crieff Hydro was fantastic and I plan to go back in the future.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank StageReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We stayed for two nights last year with our one year old son. Lots of activities to do and my husband particularly enjoyed the Segway racing. Loved the pool too and there was lots of things to wander around and do. As we hasn't ore booked, I couldn't get into the spa so I would recommend booking activities in advance next time. Food was generally of a high standard. As we booked late we were in the room above the ceilidh so it was very loud so something to think about if you have young children who are light sleepers. (Thankfully my son is a good sleeper) My only complaint was that the room was tired looking and definitely in need of a refurb.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Superpixi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews