We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel is special”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Crieff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Attended a wedding here recently and stayed overnight.Reception could not have been better early entry to our room was made possible , much appreciated. The whole ambience of the hotel was just great, you can tell immediately, staff were friendly, furnishings good, bedroom very relaxing and food of a high standard. Definitely a place to recommend and certainly we will return.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fallsofholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrieffHydro, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

As soon as we spotted your review title and top score rating we knew that we were in for great feedback, fallsofholm and you didn't disappoint! We were all so chuffed to read your lovely comments and can't wait to welcome you back to the Hydro.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,001)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,431 - 2,437 of 4,001 reviews

Reviewed December 13, 2013

We booked a 3 bedroom lodge to celebrate a special birthday. We arrived about 5 pm so it was quite dark - found the lodge which was located at the top of the hill. As we were staying from Friday till Monday we had booked the Brassiere for Friday night - courtesy bus picked us up and we had a lovely meal in the restaurant (driver also dropped us off at the end of the night - he was very nice). The lodge itself is beautiful - first class facilities - and the view from the lodge was fantastic. There is a number of trail walks/activities to keep you entertained. We would most certainly go back - perhaps in the Summer.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrieffHydro, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Thanks for posting such a great review Jessie H and for your top score rating too! It's lovely that you were able to enjoy the privacy of the Lodge, together with the hotel facilities during your special Birthday stay. We all look forward to seeing you again next summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

3 friends and I booked in for a wee spa break and had a lovely time. We started in the morning at the adventure glen. Took us a while to get there after parking at the hotel- their is road access to it but we weren't told when we booked. (Which might would have been helpful!)
In the afternoon we went to the victorian spa which we were surprised we needed to pay for- we felt that it should have been included in the cost of the room. However it was nice and relaxing and child free which is a bonus! Also got a nice wee goody bag.

By evening we decided to head to the brasserie for dinner- it was great! Lovelly cocktails and loads of dishes to choose from. We all over ate, it was proper hearty food.

Our bedrooms were basic and were probably in the cheaper wing of the hotel- the decor was dated and there was no hair dryer. But I get the feeling you get what you pay for there so it was okay!

Come breakfast we were not sure where to go (again this could have been explained at check in) and we could hardly eat but everything did look lovelly!

I would definitely go back!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rebeccaE86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrieffHydro, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

It was kind of you to give us such a great review rebeccaE86, considering that we could have been better in providing directions - thanks for the 'heads up'. Great to hear that the rest of your stay was enjoyable 'though and hope we'll have the chance to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

This hotel is perfect in my opinion, Ive visited several times and have never been dissappointed! We go here for my Husbands annual Christmas Event and they certainly put on a show. From the food to the accommodation to the staff its always a lovely experience. Great value, great location and we will return again and again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mags1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrieffHydro, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Your terrific review simply added to the magic and sparkle that's all around the Hydro at the moment, mags1888. We're all working so hard to make sure that our guests have a wonderful Christmas and your lovely comments make everything so worthwhile. Great to hear you'll be back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

First family holiday as a foursome 9mnth old and 3 year old had a blast as did we. Staff cold not do more to help. Room, food and atmosphere just lovely. John and Polly the pony was a highlight for my wee girl. We have already booked to come back in June!
One and only complaint was the bathroom fan in our room.....room 1 wow it makes a noise, decided it was easier to use the loo in the dark than wake the troops.
A massive thank you to all the staff for making us smile lots over the past four days.
You folks cater so well for children I wonder if you have though of a buggy storage area or buggy rental? I would happily pay for the use of a sturdy buggy to use during a stay one less thing to fit in the car.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Calamityjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrieffHydro, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

It's brilliant to hear that there was nothing calamitous about your recent break Calamityjack! We really appreciate your lovely comments and your 'heads up' on the bathroom fan. Your buggy ideas are great too - thanks. Can't wait to welcome you and your family back again in June.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Self catering is a good value option, free childcare included is great for families, plenty to do for all the family or those without kids, whether you want an economy or luxury it has it all..........

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrieffHydro, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Your review was short, but sweet, Alan B and every word was music to our ears. It's great to hear that your break went so well and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

we have just returned from a family weekend at crieff hydro, staying in one of the chalets near the hotel. the chalet was warm and cosy for a weekend break and are all in the process of being updated, although the one we stayed in had not been refurbished but did offer excellent value for money and was more than adequate.
on previous trips, we have stayed in culcrieff village, a group of 5 star lodges about half a mile behind the hotel. these lodges are fantastic, truly 5 staff, a little bit of luxury with the ability to use all of the hotels facilities.
the key selling point for us travelling with 4 young children is the children's facilties. big country kids club with its 6 hours a day of free child care was enjoyed by all, especially the parents who could go for evening dinner in peace!! there is also the swimming, play park, pony trekking, woodland walks and general relaxing ambiance of the whole estate, we have already booked to return and would rate crieff hydro 10 out of 10 without a second thought!

Room Tip: culcrieff village is a luxury that has to be sampled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jomcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrieffHydro, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

To be awarded 5 stars and 10/10 meant the world to us all, jomcn - thank you! It certainly sounds as 'though the Hydro ticks all the boxes for your perfect family break and we look forward to welcoming you all back for many more years to come.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crieff
0.3 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Murraypark Hotel
Murraypark Hotel
#1 of 3 in Crieff
577 reviews
13.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9 mi away
CLC Duchally Country Estate
CLC Duchally Country Estate
#2 of 3 in Auchterarder
797 reviews
15.5 mi away
Dunkeld House Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunkeld
2,390 reviews
7.5 mi away
Gleneagles
Gleneagles
#1 of 3 in Auchterarder
3,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort

Address: Ferntower Road, Crieff PH7 3LQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Crieff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Crieff
Price Range: $103 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arguably the most comprehensive family resort in Scotland, 4 star Crieff Hydro is centrally located in its own 900 acre estate with an unrivaled range of leisure pursuits for all ages. Choose from over 40 on-site leisure activities and take advantage of inclusive daily childcare for 2-12 year olds in the 700m2 kids club. Extensively redeveloped from top to bottom, Crieff Hydro is only an hours drive from both Glasgow and Edinburgh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crieff Hydro Hotel Crieff
Crieff Hydro Resort
Crieff Hotel Hydro
Crieff Hydro Scotland
Crieff Hydro Hotel And Resort Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing