We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for families not so for couples”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Crieff
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent for families not so for couples”
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here last year with my fiancée for her 30th birthday. We hated it as we wanted a night away without our kids for a special occasion, unfortunately it was full of kids and German tourists. As a couple it was not value for money as the whole hotel is geared around families.

However, we tried it this time WITH our kids and I can honestly say it was EXCELLENT! We stayed in a studio. It was clean and lovely. The kids loved how their couch turned into their bed. Also I cannot stress how fantastic the Big Country kids club is as we have 2 boys aged 5 and 3 and they loved it there. The staff there are great with the kids and deserve great credit (which I don't think they get) which allowed us to have a meal peacefully. The only thing which annoyed me was the price of drinks changed depending on what bar you were drinking for the same drink and also there were no treatments available to book for my fiancée. If someone from the hotel reads this, I think you should introduce a walk in clinic with a few appointments you can only book on that day. It's all good saying on the website to book in advance but we didn't know what we were going to be doing until we were there. Although a bit expensive for us we thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZanderMcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrieffHydro, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Your review means a lot to us ZanderMcn - thank you. We'll enjoy your praise but 'tweak' the areas mentioned so next time round we get top marks! Here's hoping we can welcome you back to the Hydro very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,825
    1,076
    471
    264
    108
See reviews for
1,748
1,024
39
167
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (873)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Spent a week at the Hydro with my wife and two kids. The activities at the hotel are very good and varied and the kids club is also excellent. However, the hotel is let down severely by its restaurants.

The main restaurant, the Miekle has more or less the same menu each night with new "signature dishes" each night. The quality of the food though is not great and I had the signature dish on one of the nights, the Tandoori Chicken with rice and pancake which was almost laughable when it arrived. From looking at the chicken it had been cooked with the tandoori paste only added near the end of the process, there was certainly little prospect that the chicken had been marinated in the tandoori paste for any length of time. I would have expected a better attempt at tandoori chicken in a motorway service station. The general quality of the cooking in the Meikle was not great.

The second restaurant is the Brasserie, again the quality of the food is below what I would expect from the hotel. Bland food, lacking imagination or any real talent being shown in the cooking.

The restaurants just seem to need some element of leadership at both the front of house and also in the kitchen. Poor for a hotel the quality of Crieff Hydro.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank sfsuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrieffHydro, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thanks for your detailed review sfsuk. We're delighted that parts of your stay were great, but embarrassed about the disappointing quality of food in our restaurants. We'll take action now and promise you'll see improvements on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenrothes, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Crieff in Nov 2011. Ww could not fault our stay at all. The staff were very helpful and accomodating especially with our then 1yr old. Food was amazing and was great to try out new things. Lots of fun activited to do aswell as pampering time for mummy and granny too. Our room was gorgeous. Perfect for our wee family.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FieJ666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrieffHydro, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
What a great review FieJ666! We're so happy that the Hydro proved the perfect venue for your family break, with something for everyone - no matter their age. We hope to welcome you all back for many years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Lovely outlook and buildings let down by very basic interior.
Advertised as 5 star accommodation but fell well short of that standard - who governs these these awards??
Cheap furnishings were very uncomfortable and the return to your temporary home after an afternoon out was spoiled as the comfort and ambience was completely lacking
A deal for 4 nights at the standard cost for 3 did not alleviate the pain !!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrieffHydro, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Oh dear, your review really hurt John K. We’re a bit stunned to have given you such a poor impression of the Hydro and we couldn’t be sorrier. We just hope that you’ll give us another chance someday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Kids in the Big Country, we're relaxing. Just had breakfast, a big vat of fresh filter Coffee, Bacon/Egg/Croissant & Fresh Orange. Friendly waiting staff all round, this maids service, waiting staff, the ever friendly reception staff. Staff faces recognised, obviously there is not a high turnaround of staff, meaning there is reason for them to stay, because they like it too.

Hired a DVD last night, The Hangover, kids hired "Percy and the Lightening Thief", great stuff.

Had food up the golf clubhouse last night, a hearty Lemon Chicken and fries, lovely.

Kids had a great selection of food, not the usual kids junk seen in other hotel chains, but good wholesome food.

I'm using the free internet, free for the complete stay.

Returning again? I think so, its the holidays, the kids love it here and we do too, who needs to go abroad?

Room Tip: Book activities in advance, its busy because its brilliant!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edinburgh1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrieffHydro, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thanks for your smashing review gremlinuk, which made us all feel really proud to work at the Hydro. It's great to have you as a fan and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunlop, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This was our second very disappointing visit to Crieff Hydro. We attended a similar event two years ago and the standard was poor the first time so we had expected that the problems experienced on our first visit might have been sorted out two years latter.
This event marked the end of many young peoples time at school with their parents and some of the staff at school. The event took place in one of Crieff Hydro's function rooms. The first problem encountered was an insufficient number of staff and therefore very slow service of food.
The staff that were trying to operate the bar had minimal training and the staff member on the till could not operate it. There was insufficient stock of wine and no water on the tables.
The profit margin on both food & wine must have been enormous as the starter and pudding were tiny. The chicken stuffed with haggis weighed heavily in my stomach for the rest of the night.
Coffee cups were set on the table before we arrived and milk, sugar and mints were delivered to our table but no coffee!
The only good part of the evening was the company and the Reels Band, not provided by the hotel. Thankfully we don't have to attend again. I would encourage all future parents to insist that the Leavers' Ball is held on Campus.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JR5677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrieffHydro, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for your review JR5677. We were of course disappointed to read your comments but a little surprised too as the other feedback we have had has been more positive. We’ll certainly look into each of the issues you mentioned and we hope you’ll give us another chance to impress someday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmacolm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We have been staying in Crieff Hydro for many years and have watched the hotel expand and grow. Every time we return there is another bit added on to the main building. This time I found that the grounds were put to much better use and my nephews very much enjoyed the lazer quest. My own daughters have grown up with the hotel and enjoyed the Spa and swimming facilities this year. It is an expensive hotel and although the rooms have been upgraded they remained quite small and over heated. The main problem was the food. As a family of 15 we had dinner in the Brasserie on two evenings and the food was very poor on the first evening and only slightly improved on the second. Feedback to the chef, please do not serve beef burgers to children with melted brie and on top. This combination was declared to be 'disgusting' by my usually adventurous 19 year old younger daughter. We will of course return as we always enjoy a Crieff experience and enjoy seeing what will happen next to the hotel. Hopefully the food will have improved!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo9294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrieffHydro, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
We're delighted to read your positive comments Jo9294 and only sorry our food let the side down on this occasion. We promise a return to form next visit and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crieff
0.3 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Murraypark Hotel
Murraypark Hotel
#2 of 3 in Crieff
526 reviews
13.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
CLC Duchally Country Estate
CLC Duchally Country Estate
#2 of 3 in Auchterarder
750 reviews
22.7 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,753 reviews
16.4 mi away
Moness Resort
Moness Resort
#1 of 4 in Aberfeldy
3,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort

Property: Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort
Address: Ferntower Road, Crieff PH7 3LQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Crieff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Crieff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arguably the most comprehensive family resort in Scotland, 4 star Crieff Hydro is centrally located in its own 900 acre estate with an unrivaled range of leisure pursuits for all ages. Choose from over 40 on-site leisure activities and take advantage of inclusive daily childcare for 2-12 year olds in the 700m2 kids club. Extensively redeveloped from top to bottom, Crieff Hydro is only an hours drive from both Glasgow and Edinburgh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crieff Hydro Hotel Crieff
Crieff Hydro Resort
Crieff Hotel Hydro
Crieff Hydro Scotland
Crieff Hydro Hotel And Resort Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing