We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sooo relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Crieff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed for a quick few nights with a 4 year old. Place is fantastic , food , cinema amazing in both restaurants only little downfall is we seen a pair of shoes under kids bed oviously previous visitors . Cleaners need to check a bit more carefully.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amylynndon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrieffHydro, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

We all loved your short but sweet review Amylynndon. Thanks! We also appreciate your 'heads up' on the shoes and will redouble our efforts when checking rooms in light of your feedback. It will be sooo nice to welcome you back for another relaxing break someday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,893)
There are newer reviews for Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,788 - 2,794 of 3,894 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed at the hotel in February this year for a 2 night stay. We have been to the hotel many times over the years and have stayed in most parts of the hotel, including the rooms situated outwith the main hotel.

This visit saw us allocated a room on the 2nd floor, which was large and had lovely views. The room was modern, spacious and well equipped decorated in neutral tones with a tartan twist. I must admit, I do miss some of the old character of the hotel, in that the rooms lack individuality and are done in a similar palette. The reception area, though beautiful, is very modern in relation to the interior design within the hotel.

Over the years, we have seen how much money has been injected into the resort and they money is well spent in keeping standards high. We don't have children, but the big leisure centre looks great and there is always child friendly entertainment on.

This visit was just for chilling, so we ate a nice dinner in the brasserie and had drinks in the bar.

Staff were friendly and polite at all times.

Wonderful relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz12Glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrieffHydro, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

We were all 'cock-a-hoop' to read how much you enjoyed your most recent visit Liz12Glasgow. It was also interesting to have your thoughts on our ongoing refurbishment. Hope we'll have the pleasure of welcoming you back for many more years to come.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

A two night half term break was excellent value as Crieff sometimes offer a package if you book months in advance - we paid just £138 each for two nights including dinner priced at about £23 - that would put B&B at about £46 - a bargain. Add to that the fact that you get the use of the swimming pool and sauna / jacuzzi etc and it really is excellent. Obviously at hafl term there are lots of children around bit if you prefer peace and quiet, you can pay an extra £10 for the Victorian pool and sauna / steam room - well worth it. I think it is good that the hotel allows children in the dining room rather than forcing parents to eat alone. The booking system for dinner means that you are served promptly - small portions but quality food. The only slight oddity was that they added bottles of wine to the bill both nights incorrectly. A perfect break.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pvb36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrieffHydro, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Many thanks for your sterling review pvb36. We all love a bargain and were delighted to read that your relaxing break proved just the ticket! Please keep watching our website for more brilliant deals. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed 2 nights DBB, will NOT return.

This was our 1st trip away with our baby, 6months old.

The website boasts all rooms have a double bed a full sized single bed...A LIE! Despite having to state your child's age at the time of booking we were put in a room with an annex with 2 sets of dorm like BUNK BEDS!
I had brought our own travel cot and glad I did, however main bit of room was small so had to dismantle cot each morning.
Website boasts of refurbishing rooms...our room was shabby, stale smelling, threadbare stained carpet, terrible bed, battered furniture, dusty wardrobe and a notice about NOROVIRUS!!!
Meals were alright, we did have a lovely waiter Joe which made all the difference, food nothing to rave about, breakfast ok but had to queue.
Website boasts it has families in mind....EVERYWHERE you go there are STAIRS!! Stairs and a buggy do not go...stairs to our room, to the restaurant IN THE RESTAURANT!!! ????

We will not return because the price paid does, in NO WAY, reflect the experience. It angers me that the website is allowed to offer so much when the hotel delivers SO little. An alright 3 star at best but with 5 star prices. Our next break away will be to a 'proper' luxury hotel with a spa you aren't charged extra for!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SuziGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrieffHydro, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Oh my goodness SuziGlasgow, you must have been really disappointed to write such an angry review. Sorry. It's not clear if you gave us the chance to address these matters during your stay, as we'll always bend over backwards to resolve any issues that our brought to our attention. We'd still appreciate the opportunity to talk to you if you'd care to get in touch.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

10 of us and 3 children spent 3 nights in 2 adjoining chalets in this excellent location. The activities are too numerous to mention. We went on an off road segway tour which was great fun. Amazing facilities for families and choices of restaurants. Child care incl in costs. Truly memorable weekend.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waller7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrieffHydro, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Your fantastic review gave us all a warm and fuzzy glow waller7. It's no mean feat to please 13 people and we're so chuffed that the Hydro came up trumps for you all. It will be great to welcome you back someday for more family fun and games.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I spent two nights recently at Crieff Hydro, had the most relaxing time, would recommend the 'spa day' two treatments and lunch, plus use of gym and victorian spa, for £60, what a treat, had the best facial ever from Geraldine.
Staff very courteous and helpfull, food was good, with an excellent selection and something for everyone.

Room Tip: Phone on spec and see what offers available, always worth asking, 'whats the best they can do...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Randwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrieffHydro, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Many thanks for your top marks review Randwick. It's always nice to hear when our guests enjoy our facilities and Geraldine was particularly pleased to receive your praise. Hope you'll return for more pampering before long.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My husband and I booked an overnight stay with this hotel at the last minute and it was fab! We had a fantastic stay, the room was large and very comfortable with an ensuite shower and bath, heated towel rail and toiletries. I used the spa which cost £7 for the twilight (after 5.30) and it was great although I think this should be incorporated into the cost. We ate in the brasserie and the food was delicious. The staff were all very pleasant and attentive. There are a lot of things going on in the hotel and if you had children with you they would certainly not be bored. All in all we had a lovely time and we will certainly return at some time.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnneS1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrieffHydro, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Reading your review was a lovely way to start the weekend AnneS1958. Thanks! It's great to hear that the Hydro proved the ideal venue for your leisure break and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crieff
0.3 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
13.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
0.2 mi away
Murraypark Hotel
Murraypark Hotel
#1 of 3 in Crieff
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
CLC Duchally Country Estate
CLC Duchally Country Estate
#2 of 3 in Auchterarder
777 reviews
15.5 mi away
Dunkeld House Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunkeld
2,303 reviews
22.7 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort

Address: Ferntower Road, Crieff PH7 3LQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Crieff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Crieff
Price Range: $110 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arguably the most comprehensive family resort in Scotland, 4 star Crieff Hydro is centrally located in its own 900 acre estate with an unrivaled range of leisure pursuits for all ages. Choose from over 40 on-site leisure activities and take advantage of inclusive daily childcare for 2-12 year olds in the 700m2 kids club. Extensively redeveloped from top to bottom, Crieff Hydro is only an hours drive from both Glasgow and Edinburgh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crieff Hydro Hotel Crieff
Crieff Hydro Resort
Crieff Hotel Hydro
Crieff Hydro Scotland
Crieff Hydro Hotel And Resort Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing