We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed every minute”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Crieff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Our family of 9 stayed in the lodges and the accommodation was excellent. Plenty of room for everyone and the bathrooms ensuite were great. The 5 and 3 year old loved the Big Country Club. They had a ball. Our 1 year old enjoyed the swimming and the Mummy's enjoyed the spa treatments. The boys enjoyed the 4x4 off road experience. There is so much to do there and would recommend it to everyone. The staff were very helpful and pleasant. We had dinner in the Brasserie and it was lovely. We will be back.

Room Tip: We stayed in Lodge 806 which was a mile's walk to the hotel but the views on the way down were g...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MICHAEL M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrieffHydro, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

We’re delighted that the Hydro proved such a good choice for your January break MICHAEL M and offered something for everyone to enjoy. We’re all basking in your praise - especially the staff members in each of the areas you mentioned - and hope that you’ll return soon for more family fun.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,898)
There are newer reviews for Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,873 - 2,879 of 3,898 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

This trip was for my birthday surprise treat Checked in about 9ish and you could tell reception and check in had had enough. No offer to help with luggage. With a 15 month old child needed to get him into bed. Could not believe that a four star hotel was so tired looking. All cushion on bed frayed on corners. Put baby to sleep in his cot only a sheet provided. Had to keep him fully dressed to keep him warm. No blanket provided for him.
The headboard shelf was dusty I wiped my hand across and it was full of dust!!
For a family room there was no way that a child could sit on the toilet seat without being helped on, I am 5ft 6 and my feet dangled when sitting to spend a penny.
When going to bed ourselves it was the worst bed I have every slept in but with a wee child not much we could do till the morning.
Breakfast after no sleep after sleeping in a broken bed!!! Had to wait 20 mins it was so dis-organised and it was worse than butlins!!!!
Went to reception to complain about the bed who ( I did tell them that it was the worst bed that I had ever slept in) didn't apologise but did send someone to have a look. Head house keeper agreed with me and could clearly see that the bed was sloping did say sorry about that we will change it. Nothing from the hotel. You would get 100% better service from premier inn!!!!!!

Carpets through stair way thread bearing. Absolutely shocking. I felt very sorry for my partner who had paid for this shambles !!!!!!

As for the leisure centre so busy could not get in and this was NOT school term!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank mingmong13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrieffHydro, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Oh my goodness mingmong13, we were disappointed too after reading your poor review. So sorry. This just isn’t the Hydro way at all and we’d really appreciate the chance to restore your faith in some way, if you’d care to get in touch.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a lodge/cottage for 4 nights in November. The lodge itself was luxury nothing to complain about and had all the facilities you need for a self catering break, ours slept 6 and there was plenty of space for everyone! So peaceful and great for outdoor activities and long walks. We tried the main a la carte restaurant in the evening and again was worth the visit and wasn't too overpriced. We paid for a full day pass at the adult only spa which had a swimming pool saunas and steam rooms, it was £10 for the day. The walk into Crieff took around 20 mins if you wanted to visit shops, cafes ect.
I would highly recommend a stay here and were are hoping to return in the summer!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mnfirstchoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrieffHydro, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

We're all cock-a-hoop with your brilliant review mnfirstchoice, thank you! It's wonderful that you're already planning to return to the Hydro this summer and we look forward to welcoming you back for fun in the sun.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We went to Crieff Hydro last weekend as it was 2 of our 3 children's birthdays and we had an amazing time. Chose this resort over Centre Parcs as they had put prices up and we fancied something different. We were pleasantly surprised as the website does not give a true reflection of what it is like at Crieff Hydro. There are families who come here year after year as a family tradition with the youngest and the oldest members enjoying their time equally. We stayed in the cheapest of self catering chalets as it is so soon after Christmas. The chalet was lovely and clean with more than enough facilities. So cosy up on the hill. We had to push 2 beds together however that was no big deal. The hotel itself is fabulous and not at all run down in any areas. After reading previous reviews I had expected the swimming pool changing rooms to be a bit tatty - not at all, the grey slate floor tiles were spotless - we went at 3pm ish everyday and they were very clean indeed. The pools were great for kids and the baby pool was like a warm bath. The inflatable slide made my daughter's birthday and the whole affair was organised and not at all chaotic. The lifeguards were on the ball and we felt very safe with our 3 kids. There is a sauna and steam room to escape the kids for 10 mins. The Victorian spa is over 18's only so if you want to visit this hotel without kids that is the place for you. I was very impressed with how the adults and kids activities are split and in different places. The area for kids and teenagers is nowhere near the adult restaurant. The bistro downstairs was very nice and 'children' were not a problem in fact when we were there there was only 2 kids to be seen. The kids club was the best I have ever seen in my life and security was very good with cards given as an extra precaution when collecting your child and the girls working there were so good with our kids. I could go on writing this review for a while !!! Just a few final points - the staff were very well mannered, the dj was excellent and so thoughtful - he made a real effort to get to know us and make the kids feel welcome. Pedro did fantastic cartoon portraits of our kids that are going in frames for the wall at home. We did pod rides which were a lot of fun. Cant wait to return to Crieff Hydro and we have a long list of outdoor activities we will try when the kids get older. There was so much we wanted to do and didnt have time for. Please ignore the bad reviews and go as Crieff Hydro is a place for a special break.

Room Tip: The three star chalets that are 2 storey are great if you are going self catering - the hill to the...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catcatcatca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrieffHydro, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

So sorry that I missed your review at the time Catcatcatca, as it 'landed' below ones that I'd already responded to. It was brilliant to read all you fantastic feedback and even at this late stage, it gave us all something to smile about. Thanks and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

Just back from another fantastic stay at the hydro. Lots to do, great food and staff who make a difference.

I do wish people would stop complaining on this site about kids at the hotel. As the hotels slogan is 'Scotland's leading family resort' what do you expect?? Try SAGA and stop moaning. Kids love the place.

If you are thinking about a visit here then get it booked. You won't be disappointed.

Be back very soon!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zacg2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrieffHydro, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Wow – what a fantastic review zacg2010, which has resulted in lots of back slapping here at the Hydro! Thank you so much for bestowing our virtues with such passion. Hope to see you again before long.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

crieff hydro is my Favorite hotel ever the facility is great and guess what they now have FREE
WI-FI throughout the hotel they have a spa 2 swimming pools a cinema a kids club games rooms restraints and more under 1 roof i have gone loads of times (every year) i love it i would recomend it to anyone

Room Tip: they are all great but some have A/C units close to rooms so ask when booking if A/C units can be...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank connorwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrieffHydro, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

How wonderful that the Hydro’s your favourite hotel connorwright! Thanks for your great review. We’re delighted that you've had lots of lovely times here and hope to welcome you back for many years to come.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Here a year later at a conference. Efficient welcome at the desk, and later in my stay helpfulness shown by desk staff with booking a train to Glasgow. Very good room on first floor opposite lift. (Is this a sign of getting older that this features as a plus in a review of this nature?). Good service in Miekle Restaurant and nice food. There's lots to do here, but for me the walk to town and up the Knock are always pleasant. The views from the hotel are beautiful, and the Drawing Room with the pipe organ is a grand room. Who couldn't find something to enjoy in the Crieff Hydro?

Room Tip: 401 - near lift
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SouthWalesTeapot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrieffHydro, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Many thanks for your lovely review SouthWales Teapot. We're delighted that your recent stay went so well and hope to welcome you back soon - for work or play!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crieff
0.3 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
13.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
0.2 mi away
Murraypark Hotel
Murraypark Hotel
#1 of 3 in Crieff
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
CLC Duchally Country Estate
CLC Duchally Country Estate
#2 of 3 in Auchterarder
777 reviews
15.5 mi away
Dunkeld House Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunkeld
2,303 reviews
22.7 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort

Address: Ferntower Road, Crieff PH7 3LQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Crieff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Crieff
Price Range: $108 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arguably the most comprehensive family resort in Scotland, 4 star Crieff Hydro is centrally located in its own 900 acre estate with an unrivaled range of leisure pursuits for all ages. Choose from over 40 on-site leisure activities and take advantage of inclusive daily childcare for 2-12 year olds in the 700m2 kids club. Extensively redeveloped from top to bottom, Crieff Hydro is only an hours drive from both Glasgow and Edinburgh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crieff Hydro Hotel Crieff
Crieff Hydro Resort
Crieff Hotel Hydro
Crieff Hydro Scotland
Crieff Hydro Hotel And Resort Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing