We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great and not so Great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Crieff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Just returned from a four night stay at Crieff Hydro Self catering Lodge. Our third stay this year so they must be doing something right.
The Excellent Bits:
Leigh Garden Appartment that is one of only a couple of self catering lodges on the same level as the hotel, All the others are on the side of a steep hill above the Hotel, or at Culcrieff, Approx 1 mile away beside the Golf and Activity Centre. As we have young children we book this appartment a year in advance so it is just like going to our own holiday home. Excellent layout with 3 double ensuite rooms and lovely views over the surrounding hills. Just wish the beds could be a bit more comfortable as neither my wife or I get a good nights sleep on them. We were unable to use the washing machine as it had been gummed up with soap powder. Also a few lights in the kitchen area were not working.
Big Country Kids Club. This is the main reason we keep coming back to Crieff. The staff are brilliant and the kids really enjoy themselves. A big thank you to Eileen, Michelle and the rest of the staff. We have total confidence in their ability to look after and entertain our Kids. 2 3 hourly sessions are included daily in the cost of the accommodation.
The Clubhouse beside the Activity Centre has been transformed under the management of Donna Quinn. Having been up to the clubhouse on previous visits we were aware that the kitchens had been refurbished but the welcome received was something else. A cheery smiley local lass gives you the kind of welcome that is sadly missing in some of the other parts of the hotel. There is a more varied lunch menu than what is available at the Brasserie Restaraunt and it comes at a lower price. If the weather is good it is advisable to book just to avoid disappointment. Food was excellent and delivered promptly to our table despite it being a busy day with most tables occupied.
The front desk staff as always were very efficient and polite. If you have any problems they are always willing to help..
Now we come to the not so great bit.
The Brasserie Restaraunt.
There have been changes since our last visit in the summer. The complimentary bread that came before the meal has been stopped, however, the portions seem to have increased a bit in size. The burgers are delicious and the fish and chips is the size of a whale. The down side is that the menu is quite limited and has not been changed in the three years we have been visiting Crieff Hydro. The other downside is that there is very little interaction between the serving staff and the customers, This is maybe because the majority of staff speak English as a second language and are not maybe as comfortable communicating in it. We have noticed that the number of native English speakers does seem to be reducing with each visit. It lacks the atmosphere that the Clubhouse offers due mostly to having a local talkative staff member who wants to interact with guests.
We will be back in April 2013 and we will be interested to see if the atmosphere has changed for the better in The Brasserie. If not I see us eating more at The Clubhouse.

Room Tip: If you have young kids and want to use the kids club most days try and avoid Culcrieff Lodges as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ewan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrieffHydro, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Receiving such a comprehensive review from a regular guest is like ‘pennies from Heaven’ to us 04edc – thanks. We’re all delighted that you and your family feel so at home here and Eileen, Michelle and Donna were each thrilled to receive a special mention. We’ll now turn our attention to the Brasserie Restaurant and are confident that you’ll see improvements when you return next April.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,925)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,074 - 3,080 of 3,926 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2012

Arrived to a warm welcome and great atmosphere. We were directed to our excellent family room which was clean and well serviced throughout our stay. Our three year old was spoilt for choice with outdoor activities, soft play, etc but we ended up in the pool! We had a great family dinner in the meikle restaurant finishing just in time for the kids disco.
Next day, more pool, trampoline, pony riding, massage, hairdressers, children's high tea and room service due to a very tired but happy child. We ate in the meikle, brasserie and winter gardens and food throughout was great(and we are fussy). Customer service was fantastic, staff were gratuitously pleasant, and helpful when required. We didn't want to leave and will certainly be back.
I was also struck by how happy the staff team were working with each other. They also create a great environment for guests.
. We spent surprisingly little money over and above the cost of our trip. More expensive than our usual trips but worth every penny.
Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lottiejam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrieffHydro, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Wow Lottiejam, what a fantastic review – thank you! We were exhausted after reading how much you packed into your stay, but delighted that we all helped to make it so enjoyable. With over 60 activities, there’s plenty more for you to discover and we hope to welcome you all back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We had heard lots of good things but were very disappointed and checked out early after one night. The major problem was the food which was extremely poor. The lobby looks great but decor elsewhere is tired and grotty. Kids pool was hellish - absolutely heaving and water cloudy (eurgh!). Changing rooms dirty. The staff were lovely but that didn't make up for the shortcomings.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarahparks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrieffHydro, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Oh my goodness Sarahparks, we were disappointed too after reading your poor review. So sorry. This just isn’t the Hydro way at all and we’d really appreciate the chance to restore your faith in some way, if you’d care to get in touch.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We unfortunately visited this Hotel at the School Holidays. It was supposed to be at the end of September but due to other Birthday committments we had to reshedule. Check in was ok but no offer of help with luggage nor were we given the "cocktail voucher" what was depicted on the confirmation booking. We cancelled our Sunday night reservation because we had a late lunch but transferred it over to the Monday night. On cancelling we asked if we would be able to get a snack later that night and were advised we could. We ventured downstairs at around 9pm and went to the Bar where we were advised the food finished at 6pm and were directed to the Brassier. The Brassier told us they only served meals and "what did we want to eat" ?? As I was not directly looking at a menu I could not answer this question. I was then directed to the WinterGarden and advised that we could purchase food there and bring it upstairs (as there was a noisy childrens event upstairs) Another trek downstairs to be told by a very abrupt member of staff they only had sandwiches and gestured to the chiller cabinet. We asked for a room service menu and were looked at like we had two heads and were then directed to the Reception? By this time it was all getting far too complicated so we purchased sandwiches and a drink and retreated to the bedroom to eat our snacks - this is NOT 4* service. Monday was spent at the Victorian Spa which was nice (£10 pp charge) for a day pass. We both had treatments in the Beauty Salon which were nice but pricey. We stayed at the 5* Balmoral @ Edinburgh the week before and their treatments were cheaper and longer. The Hotel is too big for us and very impersonal. I realise the hotel has to make money hence all the "Family Deals" etc but we probably wouldnt return and would definately NOT return in the school holiday time. Lovely location and settings but a bit remote for us if you dont want to participate in the activities. Room was nice and clean - bed too hard for us but lovely "White Room" toiletries so top marks for that! This Hotel is definately a "Family Hotel" so if you want a nice quiet break check the school holiday dates before you book. Im afraid I would rather pay the wee bit extra and go up a star for the personal touch.
Frequent Travellers Scotland

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gail H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrieffHydro, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

We just couldn’t be sorrier to hear that you were given the runaround Gail H. Clearly not our finest hour and - in all honesty – not at all representative of our normal high standards. We’d love the chance to discuss this with you on a more personal basis, if you’d be kind enough to get in touch.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Unfortunately while this had great facilities and was clearly geared up for the family holiday we were there as a couple so didn't completely feel at home was just a bit to big and lacked the personal touch but we had a good anonymous time.

The grounds were lovely even in the rain and we had a great large room with an on suite. In the complex there is a gym, activity zone and tennis courts etc, the whole package.

There is a choice of a couple of restaurants in the hotel, one very expensive but OK if a little haphazard with the service. The other more of a grill, but not much cheaper. We had a look round Crieff which was OK but no sign of a decent restaurant so your choices to eat are limited.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrieffHydro, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Thanks for your review Paul T. It’s true that Crieff Hydro is really popular with families, but we think there’s lots for couples to enjoy too. We’d be delighted to discuss our range of activities and dining options ahead of any future visit, Hope we’ll have the chance to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Booked one nights stay through Groupon and thought it was excellent value for money. £89 for 2 people on b&b basis with bottle of wine on arrival and use of Victorian spa included (normally costs £10 each). Room was lovely and clean with beautiful views. Dined in the Meikle restaurant at night which was pretty good....didnt particularly enjoy my main course but that was maybe just down to personal taste. Booked our evening meal at time of booking room and again was special deal at £20 pp and I certainly couldn't fault it for value for money. The Victorian spa was wonderfully relaxing (no kids allowed). Wasn't sure what to expect with booking it through Groupon, thought we might be treated as slightly "2nd class" but it couldn't have been further from the truth.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrieffHydro, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

We’re all thrilled that you enjoyed your break Terihawick. It might sound a bit clichéd, but we genuinely think that every Hydro guest is special and we're really pleased this came across so well during your stay. Here’s hoping you’ll return for a longer stay soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed at the hotel in Septmeber. One arriving the room was great, well sized for family of 5. The facilities for kids were excellent and soft play and theatre areas kept them entertained for a good couple of hours. If you have small children the toddler pool is perfect. Lots of toys to play with and it was nice and warm. Concierge very helpful and reception staff prompt and friendly.

Breakfast was fantastic and staff were very attentive. Lots of choice for both hot and cold food. Unfortunately I cant say the same for the meal we had at night. The only reason that I am giving the hotel an average rating is for this reason. The kids buffet was great but service was not. I had to ask for our drinks order 15 minutes after my initial order, I also had to ask for adults to be served... after the kids had eaten (which if you are a parent you know means frustrated kids). Orders were being sent to wrong tables and the food we received was bland.

When you are paying £250.00 for a night and eating at the hotel you obviously expect and look forward to your meal. I didnt feel the staff were the problem, they were more than polite, just a bit of coordination needed. If you can avoid the brasserie and eat in one of the other restaurants I would. First time in long time I have not left a tip.

We raised issues at checkout but were told they would pass on comments but did not feel sincere. Also feed back in customer feedback form sent to me but no reply as yet and that was returned on 25/9/12.

That being said, there is lots to do and the fact that you can use facilities from 9 am on the morning of your stay until 5 pm the day you leave is a huge bonus. I am undecided as to go again only on basis that if something were to go wrong I would be aprehensive of service I would receive.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judithq1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrieffHydro, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review Judith. Apologies for our delay in responding to your online survey, but our Managing Director has now emailed you personally, in the hope that we can restore your faith in us, particularly as so many other aspects of your stay were enjoyable. Hope we’ll have the chance to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crieff
0.3 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
13.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
0.2 mi away
Murraypark Hotel
Murraypark Hotel
#1 of 3 in Crieff
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
CLC Duchally Country Estate
CLC Duchally Country Estate
#2 of 3 in Auchterarder
785 reviews
15.5 mi away
Dunkeld House Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dunkeld
2,324 reviews
22.7 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort

Address: Ferntower Road, Crieff PH7 3LQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Crieff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Crieff
Price Range: $104 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arguably the most comprehensive family resort in Scotland, 4 star Crieff Hydro is centrally located in its own 900 acre estate with an unrivaled range of leisure pursuits for all ages. Choose from over 40 on-site leisure activities and take advantage of inclusive daily childcare for 2-12 year olds in the 700m2 kids club. Extensively redeveloped from top to bottom, Crieff Hydro is only an hours drive from both Glasgow and Edinburgh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crieff Hydro Hotel Crieff
Crieff Hydro Resort
Crieff Hotel Hydro
Crieff Hydro Scotland
Crieff Hydro Hotel And Resort Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing