We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very helpful staff and room was lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Crieff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 4, 2011

My partner and I booked a 2 night stay from Sunday to Tuesday. We got a really good deal and only booked a couple of days before going. The staff on reception at check-in were very helpful, especially the manageress on duty (I think her name was Fiona?) We ate in the Brasserie on both nights and breakfast was in the Meikle restaurant. We also used the Winter Garden for an afternoon tea. The hotel was busy and the pool was well used by families. We decided to pay £10 to use the Victorian Spa which meant we had almost exclusive use of a pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. The staff in the leisure centre were also very helpful and nothing was too much bother for them. On checking out we were given a card with a couple of offers and I've just booked to return again in July with my brother, sister and parents (partly to celebrate my mother's 81st birthday and their 59th wedding anniversary). I had no hesitation in recommending the hotel to them and know they'll be as impressed as we were.

Room Tip: Reception staff will do all they can to help
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DTMagwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,004)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,584 - 3,590 of 4,004 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2011

Having tried to book a weekend stay via a groupon deal three weeks in advance i was dissapointed to learn that only 4 dates were available. All mid week. I explained that I have been coming to the hotel since I was a child and so have other members of my family. I have also spent a lot of money with the hotel through business. As a gesture of goodwill I asked the accomodation sales manager for some flexibility in the dates and was refused point blank. For a hotel that trades on repeat business I felt that this was very short sighted of them. I for one will not be back.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SGP37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2011

Although the building and the surroundings are great, we found the service and food appalling... Whether it was at lunch at the Brasserie, at the bar for snacks or the room service we always had a negative experience. The food at lunch was very poor, no snacks were sold at the bars and the staff were not prepared to tell us where to go to find some and the room service was inexistent since when we phoned to try and get some food after the disappointing experience at the bar the gentleman on the phone told us that he was on his own so we should try and call reception instead...

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moaiben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2011

Stayed for two nights in the basic family room (one double, one single and sturdy cot bed). The room was very clean and had plenty of wardrobe space. There is a tv with dvd player, which was useful for us as we had brought dvd.s.

We had booked the kids (8 & 10) into the Big Country, which we had booked before we arrived (would strongly recommed you book before you arrive, as places can be limited).

The staff are fantastic, very attentive, always with a smile and helpful and obviously well trained. We enjoyed dinner both nights in the Meikle and enjoyed the local strawberry wine. The service there was grreat. We also enjoyed the Brasserie, where my son really apprecieted the Heinz tomato soup (thank you).

There are loads of activities to do and the kids enjoyed the horse riding for the first time and now 8 year old is hooked as the riding instructor said he was the best rider that Millie ever had!!! We went to the swimming pool, which the kids enjoyed, it has a big slide, was very busy, but the two male lifeguards were very vigilant.

Unfortunatley the mini quad bikes were not available and the kids were very dissapointed, also the cinema room was not available.

Very much enjoyed our stay and would definatley come back and maybe try for an interconnecting room next time.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2011

stayed for 5 nights, loved every busy minute. Food was fantastic every day, breakfast offered everything you could want and all freshly prepared. Good selection for the kids at their buffet - although would have like more options of fresh food - good that their drinks included. Bar prices excellent for this standard of hotel. We tried a few activities on site and love the rifle shooting and the pods for the kids. Pool and victorian spa great. Cannot fault anything (well apart from bathroom being bit cold but it is an old old building ...) about our stay and def will return. Kids club is well organised and I was confident leaving my kids with them. Soft play also good to kids. We only at in the Brasserie with the kids so cannot comment on the other restaurant. Service from all staff was professional, friendly and always helpful. Nice to go to a hotel where kids are so involved and accepted for being kids! Would recommend booking activities on arrival as some of the one's we had booked were on offer via the hotel daily programme guide which is available at reception. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grapefruitGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

Stayed for 2 nights as I was attending a conference in the hotel. Couldn't have been looked after better by the staff who were all very polite and attentive to guests.
Food was out of this world.....and plenty of it!

This is the 4th time I've stayed at the hotel as a conference delegate and it just keeps getting better.

Many thanks to all the management and staff.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AyrJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2011

Just back from a night at this hotel to celebrate joint birthday/hen night. Very enjoyable stay, staff friendly and attentive. Rooms were not ready when we arrived but we left the bags with Jimmy the porter while we nipped to the bar for a refreshment. So glad he didnt eat our crisps!!!!

Once into the rooms they were clean, spacious and modern. Slight mix up with the beds in one room where we asked for 3 singles but ended up with a double and single. Decided not to make a deal of it and share, afterall it was only for 1 night. Bathrooms are great - newly fitted, bright and THE best shower ever. Take care as the basin taps turn on/off in opposite directions of every other tap I have ever used so be prepared to get soaked until you get used to it.

Dinner and breakfast were in the Meikle restaurant - food was hot, plenty of choice and service was fast - what more do you want.

We paid the extra £10 pp to use the Victorian Spa - OMG it's fab, so relaxing in the pool, plenty of loungers to use as well. Towels are supplied. Also you get tea, coffee, juice & fruit poolside for you to enjoy

Lots of families there at the same time as us but theres hardly any noise so you get a good sleep.

All in all we had a fab night away - loved the fact we could use the spa on the day of departure felt we were not rushed into leaving. Defo coming back again later in the year

Few points I feel I have to mention: Housekeeping trying to get into the room on the day we were leaving from 9.30am, checkout not until 11am, had to send her away twice as we were not packed up at that point. Also nothing in rooms to say whats on in the hotel at night - we stumbled upon the disco in the main function room & for a while thought we had gate crashed a wedding reception. If we have known it was open to all guests then we would have been there earlier!

We paid £54 each for the night, which included £10 for the spa and £26 for dinner on the 1st night so for £18 b&b we thought this was great value for money.

we mentioned the bed mix up at checkout and the girl on reception couldnt have be nicer - now we have a 15% discount on our next stay which is appreciated.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Myotherhomeinspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crieff
0.3 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Murraypark Hotel
Murraypark Hotel
#1 of 3 in Crieff
577 reviews
13.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9 mi away
CLC Duchally Country Estate
CLC Duchally Country Estate
#2 of 3 in Auchterarder
798 reviews
15.5 mi away
Dunkeld House Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunkeld
2,392 reviews
7.5 mi away
Gleneagles
Gleneagles
#1 of 3 in Auchterarder
3,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort

Address: Ferntower Road, Crieff PH7 3LQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Crieff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Crieff
Price Range: $103 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arguably the most comprehensive family resort in Scotland, 4 star Crieff Hydro is centrally located in its own 900 acre estate with an unrivaled range of leisure pursuits for all ages. Choose from over 40 on-site leisure activities and take advantage of inclusive daily childcare for 2-12 year olds in the 700m2 kids club. Extensively redeveloped from top to bottom, Crieff Hydro is only an hours drive from both Glasgow and Edinburgh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crieff Hydro Hotel Crieff
Crieff Hydro Resort
Crieff Hotel Hydro
Crieff Hydro Scotland
Crieff Hydro Hotel And Resort Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing