We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So glad it was a rainy day!! the best £6.00 we have spent!”

Library of Innerpeffray
Ranked #5 of 21 things to do in Crieff
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Scotland's oldest lending library sits in a tranquil rural location beside the River Earn. Founded in 1680 by David Drummond 3rd Lord Madertie, with a school, at Innerpeffray near Crieff in rural Perthshire.Today thinking people from across the world come to enjoy the peaceful surroundings, to explore the social heritage captured in its Borrower's Register, and turn the pages to be inspired by books dating from four centuries.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“So glad it was a rainy day!! the best £6.00 we have spent!”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

I had this library on a list of things to see if the weather was bad on a weekend break...and it was! What a wonderful treasure of a place tucked away in beautiful countryside with a huge range of lovely and interesting books dating back to the 1500's!...What a truly amazing place!
Almost better than the books themselves was the warm and friendly reception we got from the two gentlemen guides who were obviously passionate about the library and gave us a full tour and left us with the impression they had read every one of the books from cover to cover! To see such a lovely place and be met with such a genuine and enthusiastic welcome is so rare these days. Well worth a visit, if you like books, history or both you won't be disappointed!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tootsdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeeperofBooks, Manager at Library of Innerpeffray, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Who'd have thought we were wishing for rain! But we're glad it did and brought you to the Library. Really appreciate you writing a review about your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    12
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perthshire Scotland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Facinating old world Library”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Beautiful building housing many rare books with a full time caretaker/librarian set in a lovely countryside setting well worth a visit if you are in the area.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank wby54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeeperofBooks, Manager at Library of Innerpeffray, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Thank you for visiting, and thank you too for sharing your thoughts on TripAdvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A Hidden Treasure”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

What can I say, I visited the library today and was greeted by the curator and discovered a world of first edition Scottish literature. Books of significant historical significance would take pages to highlight on this review.

It's not every place of historical interest that will allow you to handle their collection of rare books from the 14th and 15th century's

I will certainly be making regular visit's back the oldest lending library in Scotland and the UK.

One thing I have to point out is that both the curator and the volunteer could not be more helpful and pleasant.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeeperofBooks, Manager at Library of Innerpeffray, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
We can't wait to welcome you back. Thank you for such a postive review, and all your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“You won't regret your visit here.”
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Allow plenty of time when you visit Scotland's oldest Public Lending Library. It's just fascinating, and you can handle so many of the books. Lara gives an excellent background talk and can answer any questions you have.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wilma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeeperofBooks, Manager at Library of Innerpeffray, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“The power of book learning - what a fantastic place!”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Normally I review hotels and restaurants as I am rarely moved to comment on an 'attraction' or 'thing to do' but the Library at Innerpeffray is seriously worth talking about. It is the oldest lending library in Scotland and I can almost hear you say - so what? But the description, while accurate, can't convey what a pure delight this place is.
First the location - very literally in the middle of nowhere but worth the trouble of finding - the Library is next door to a fantastic chapel (also worth a good look around) close to a river. Both these facts help to explain the location - the Drummond family is of course involved (the chapel & school) and there is a ford nearby (though I'm not sure I would risk the crossing). The Library is well signposted and there is a parking area close by.
The magic really starts as you walk in the door - we were greeted by the Library Manager, or more correctly and lyrically, the Keeper of the Books - Lara. After handing over our fee (£6 each) we were given an enthusiastic and knowledgeable potted history of the Library and a look at the priceless books downstairs. Slowly it becomes clear that this is a special place - everyone who borrowed a book form the beginning to the 1960's is recorded in a ledger (which Eliana was carefully transcribing) and that, in itself, is a wonderful perspective on real history.
We were guided upstairs where we met two gentlemen volunteers (whose names escape me - sorry!). In conjunction with Lara we were introduced to the collection - and here is the kicker - allowed to handle the books. The slightest mention of an interest caused a relevant book to be produced - in our case we lingered over ancient atlases featuring our birthplaces and home. We read from various books and marvelled at the variety and antiquity of them all - just off the main room is a reading room with more 'modern' books - including some fiction! The gentleman there took great delight in pulling books from the shelf - in some cases to inform (they have a copy of Birds of the West Indies by one James Bond whose name Ian Fleming took for his spy hero, in other cases to amuse (his favourite book title, and now mine, was "Yankee Girls in Zulu-Land").
What was intended as a quick tour round a local attraction before a morning coffee became a delightful morning's entertainment before lunch. I really can't recommend this place enough. We are planning to go back when next in the area - this time armed with questions, queries and things we want to look up and we know we are assured of a friendly welcome and a fascinating journey through history just as all the previous borrowers must have had.
As many have said before - a true gem

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank panda54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeeperofBooks, Manager at Library of Innerpeffray, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you so much for making an exception and reviewing your visit to Innerpeffray: and we're delighted you got so much out of the visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Library of Innerpeffray also viewed

Crieff, Perth and Kinross
Crieff, Perth and Kinross
 
Crieff, Perth and Kinross
Crieff, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to Library of Innerpeffray? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing