We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch B&B”
Review of Galvelbeg House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Galvelbeg House
Ranked #1 of 27 Crieff B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I stayed here with a bunch of Biker mates in August. We took 3 rooms between us and all were superbly clean and well appointed.We were given a warm welcome. Parking is safe, it's walkable distance from town (5 mins), plenty of advice on offer as to good places to visit etc, and the breakfast was great ranging from a traditional full English to scrambled eggs with smoked salmon and everything else in between. Not just tea and biccies in the rooms but some home baking and a few choccies thrown in as well. Good value to start with but those extra little touches push this up to the very top of the tree for a B&B.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Buzzseddon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel F, Owner at Galvelbeg House, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Paul,
So pleased that you and your Biker mates enjoyed your stay with us, however I feel that I must point out a huge mistake in your review!! Due to our location we serve a full "Perthshire" breakfast which makes the best out of all the wonderful local produce available here in Perthshire, Scotland. I'm sure an English breakfast is good, but doesn't quite match up to a "Perthshire Breakfast"...
Thanks for the comments about the extra little touches it makes it worthwhile knowing that people really enjoy them.

Nigel & Stella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (348)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

238 - 244 of 348 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed one night in this lovely home. We found this place based on excellent reviews and took the chance as it was a last minute decision. best decision made....It was cosy, clean and comfortable. The hosts made us feel at home, wish we could stay longer. Would definitely recommend this house.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Grace C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel F, Owner at Galvelbeg House, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Grace,
Thank you for your review, it's great to hear that people have made the choice to visit us by reading our other reviews.
Many thanks for your recommendation.

Nigel & Stella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I travel a a lot due to my work. I booked on line, and within half an hour received an email to ask about my ETA. I responded and later arrived at Galvelbeg. Parking is plentyful. First thing to catch my eye was how beautiful the location is. I was greeted straight away and shown to my room. En-suite, clean, nice decore, T.V., tea/coffee, comfy bed, what more can I say? Oh yes homemade biscuits in the room! delicious. choise of what you want for breakfast, cooked or not. And you MUST try the homemade granola. Superb. When I'm back in Scotland, working or not Iwill most defineatley stay here again even if I had to take a detour

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank EamonWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel F, Owner at Galvelbeg House, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Eamon,
Many thanks for your review both on here and at booking.com, we must have impressed you!! It is really nice to hear that we also meet the needs of business travellers as well as our normal tourist guests.
Glad that you enjoyed both your home-made granola and the home-baking in the room, it keeps Stella out of mischief making it!!
Look forward to seeing you again.

Nigel & Stella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

I stayed in the Galvelbeg House by sheer luck. I arrived to Crieff with my girlfriend in the evening and we were looking for a B&B for one night. I really regret I couldn't stay there for longer as it was so great. The hosts are extremely nice and helpful, the rooms are nicely decorated and very comfortable and breakfast was great. The B&B has everything a good B&B should have and much more - home-made cookies in the rooms, heated towel rails in the bathroom, photo gallery in the dinning room, honey from a local beehive for breakfast and delicious food. When we asked for a recommended restaurant the owners gave us a book with menus of all the restaurants in the city :) You can really feel that Nigel and Stella put passion into running this B&B.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnnyKlaudyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel F, Owner at Galvelbeg House, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Many thanks for your wonderful review, it is just so nice when people take the time to say such lovely things about the B&B and us.
We do really enjoy running a B&B, hard work most of the time, however we get to meet such interesting people from all over the world, all passing through our lives for a day or two and we hope they leave with good memories.
We have this plan that when we retire we are going to print off our guest list and then head off around the world, visiting all our guests.... So beware a knock on the door in a few years time!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

I had to cancel at last minute due to unavoidable circumstances and the response was so refreshing and the owners could not have been more understanding and accomodating. As they were able to let the room at short notice i recieved a refund which was unexpected and they didn't have to. Lovely folk to deal with and would not hesitate to recommend to anyone who is planning a stay in Crieff.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kath232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel F, Owner at Galvelbeg House, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Many thanks for your review, we don't get many from guests who haven't actually stayed with us!! It was a shame that you had to cancel, especially as you missed your friends wedding, however sometimes these things happen. We always try and re-let rooms for any cancellations and will refund deposits where we can. In your case we were very fortunate in that we had a couple from Belgium who were staying with us and they decided to extend their stay in Crieff when they found out about the extra availability!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at Galvelbeg House, and loved it. The room we stayed in was not fully en suite, the Shower was in the bedroom along with a wash hand basin, but our room had the use of an opposite toilet and wash hand basin to itself, which we had a key for so no-one else from other rooms, which I assumed were all en suite, used it. Breakfast was great, most of the ingredients for the cooked breakfast were all local, a great thing to shout about. The room was very clean, well maintained, and the home baking on the tea tray was fantastic, I have to admit we forgot about it the first night, and on our return the next day it had been replaced with beautiful fruit cake. Stunning views from our room. Nigel was a fantastic host, upstaged only by the beautiful resident dogs!! We did not hear one bark from them, and they are not free to roam the house, just a welcoming presence in a beautiful house. Thank you for a fantastic stay, and we hope to be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KirstyLouB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel F, Owner at Galvelbeg House, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Thank you for your great review of your stay with us in Room 3. It is our only room which isn't fully en-suite with the toilet across the landing, however some guests seem to prefer this room as it has the advantage of being at the back of the house with the lovely views. Also not to be forgotten is that it is slightly cheaper than the other double rooms!!
Thanks for your comments about our Perthshire Breakfast, it is so good to be able to use local produce where we can. Not just supporting the local economy, but because it tastes so good as well!
I am always getting upstaged by our dogs... we are lucky in that they are so well behaved and certainly seem to get more mentions on Trip Advisor than I do!!
Look forward to welcoming you back

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed in Crieff on our way back from a week in Oban.
We found Nigel a very friendly and welcoming host with a good knowledge of the local area which was useful to us. He also recommended a very good restaurant for us to have a special anniversary meal !
The room was very nice and well equipped along with tea tray with home made cookies from
Stella. The breakfast was of a high standard too.
All in all a perfect place to stay on our way back to England which completed a great holiday!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Lyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel F, Owner at Galvelbeg House, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

It was nice to see you on your way back home from Oban and thank you for your lovely review. Glad you enjoyed your home-baking and our Perthshire Breakfast. The restaurant (Yann's) is great for a special occasion, but also really nice for a normal meal. They have just started doing a special "Early-Bird" menu between 5 & 7pm, which is working out well for those who don't want to eat too late.
Hope to see you again on your next holiday in Scotland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Crieff hotels
0.1 mi away
Yann's at Glenearn House
0.4 mi away
Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort
0.7 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Fendoch Guest House
Fendoch Guest House
#15 of 27 in Crieff
14 reviews
3.7 mi away
Westacre Lodge
Westacre Lodge
#4 of 27 in Crieff
36 reviews
0.2 mi away
Murraypark Hotel
Murraypark Hotel
#1 of 3 in Crieff
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galvelbeg House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galvelbeg House

Address: Galvelbeg House Perth Road, Crieff PH7 3EQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Crieff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Crieff
Price Range: $91 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aileen and Nick warmly welcome you to Galvelbeg House, a high quality family run guesthouse offering Bed and Breakfast or self catering accommodation in Crieff, Scotland. It is situated on the east side of Crieff on the main Perth Road. The house enjoys uninterrupted views of the Ochil Hills and Strathearn Valley. The town centre is only a few minutes walk away and has an interesting selection of shops, cafes, pubs and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Galvelbeg House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galvelbeg House Crieff, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing